Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 23, 2012/ 1 Iyar, 5772

Dog bites campaign

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I think it is fair to say that the shark has been permanently displaced by the dog. When scriptwriters have run out of mustard, the show hasn’t “jumped the shark,” as we’ve been saying since the Fonz literally jumped a shark while water-skiing. These days, the political show has eaten the dog.

Yes, it has come to this.

It’s the most pivotal presidential race in human history (staying true to our apocalyptic tendencies), and we’re debating which candidate cares most about dogs. I did my best in a previous column to illustrate the silliness of the Obama campaign’s focus on a 30-year-old Romney-dog travel episode, but, alas, I misjudged our capacity for the absurd.

As I was hitting “send” on that column, the Romney campaign was touting an anecdote from Barack Obama’s memoir in which he mentions having once consumed dog meat. (Confession: I only scanned the memoir and failed to seek out “dog eating” in the index.)

Rarely do I return so soon to a topic, but the zeitgeist is a persistent nag, and the volume of my mail suggests that this story has become more than a political metaphor. Not to overstate, but it has become a measure of our national sanity. Things are not looking good, my friends.

Republicans were so gleeful to have found a worse dog story about Obama that they have lashed out with Cujo-esque rabidity. Sure, Romney may have carted his dog Seamus in a crate strapped to the roof of his car, but Obama ATE DOG!

“So there, Ms. Parker. Why didn’t you mention THAT in your little column, you [female canine]!”

Even a close friend, who usually can be relied upon to tackle complex issues with calm, intellectual reserve, e-mailed: “I guess it’s better to eat your dog!”

Are we really arguing about whether eating a dog is worse than putting one in a kennel?

On television, Obama surrogates are defending the president’s dog-eating days. He was a child living in Indonesia, where dogs sometimes get eaten. It’s not as though he looked Rufus in the eye and said, “Yum, Ma, I’m in the mood for a little roast pooch.”

The thought of eating man’s best friend is, of course, repulsive to us — as it is, no doubt, to Obama. As these things go, the dog theme has taken on barking-mad dimensions. A pro-Romney poster features a puppy with the caption: “Romney 2012: I’d rather go for a ride with Mitt than be eaten by Obama.” Campaign buttons show a dog like Bo and the caption: “Donate or Barack Will Eat Me.”

I don’t know whether to page Sigmund Freud or Anthony Bourdain, but I think I can say without fear of contradiction that Obama doesn’t secretly harbor culinary designs on Bo.

One does wonder, however, what the rest of the world must think of us? Is this what happens to old democracies? Are we too silly to be taken seriously anymore? A rock star is revered for ranting about guns; Secret Service agents on presidential detail allegedly hire and then try to cheat prostitutes; and presidential candidates run on their canine histories.

If we look ridiculous to the rest of the world, and surely we do, why don’t we look ridiculous to ourselves? Now there is a question worth pondering.

We seem to have come unhinged, as well as inured to offense. The silly and the immoral blend into a stand-up routine. When a punch line becomes a campaign slogan, the ridiculous becomes sublime.

As to how we’ve gone to the dogs, the answer is familiar. Humans like spectacle, and Americans in particular prefer humor to malaise. For the latter, we can be grateful.

On the whole, however, this Bo-vs.-Seamus debate is a luxury of full stomachs. That we tend to anthropomorphize animals is an understatement given that Americans spend about $50 billion a year on their family pets. Thus, eating a dog is viewed as tantamount to cannibalization. Installing a dog in a crate for 12 hours atop a speeding car may as well be child abuse.

And, let’s face it, we’re weary of the big problems. Just as one can sustain outrage (or any emotion) only so long, one can entertain the prospects of a melting planet, massive unemployment or dysfunctional government for just so many months. The endless presidential campaign hasn’t only taken a toll on the candidates, it has exhausted a nation. Dog-tired of chatter, spin and politics, we’re all too happy to avert our gaze from the inconceivable to the insignificant.

As narratives go, we have eaten the dog.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

<

© 2011, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles