Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 17, 2013/ 7 Iyar, 5773

The day after Boston: What does it mean that we've already moved on?

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker


JewishWorldReview.com | You know the feeling. You wake up filled with dread but, still groggy, you can't put your finger on the reason.

Possibilities flitter across the landscape of near-consciousness: An exam? A deadline? A speech? What day is it?

Oh my G0D, Boston.

For longer than usual, you linger, head on pillow, breathing, thinking, I have my legs. Oh my G0D.

Coffee.

"Boston will survive," someone is saying on TV. The papers lead as expected. Drudge, Lucianne, Beast, HuffPo, Twitter. Two brothers each lost a leg. Horror.

Breathe.

And then, the worst thing happens. You get a grip. You speak to the neighbor. The workers arrive to fix the garden wall. The dog needs walking.

Life, as a matter of fact, goes on. But guilt nags. Isn't it too soon to move along? You feel bad for not suffering more on behalf of those who are suffering so acutely and so unimaginably. That man in the wheelchair — the runner with only a jagged bone where his leg used to be — will haunt happy moments forever.

Here we go.

From this point forward, everything that follows is now familiar: The soundtrack, the speculation, the newsy reminders that we don't know anything yet but we'll keep talking anyway, and what would we have newscasters do, really? Don't we want to know as soon as there is something to know?

Everyone professes their love for Boston. We love the Red Sox and Patriots' Day, Copley Square and Quincy Market. Those wonderful accents. Those tough citizens. All those smart people, their coffee shops and lobster rolls. Our Athens, somebody says.

How dare they? Those others, whoever they are.

Someone's at the door. Breaking: Mediaite has put together a "worst media reactions" list that makes us glad we don't tweet. Commentators, feeling they must say something, said much that they shouldn't have. The day "I" went to Fenway Park. It's those right-wing gun nuts. Clearly a Muslim. Round 'em up. Blame the gays. Where's Bush?

President Obama, cool cat that he is, does and says nothing to damage his reputation. He's on it. Justice will be done. Make no mistake.

More security, more intel, that's what's needed. Sure. More cameras, more spot checks, longer lines. The gift of terror isn't fear; it's loss of freedom. We are unafraid. Be very afraid.

"We want you to be vigilant," says a stern official. "We do have a threat …but we want you to go about your business." Okay.

But who did it? The Taliban in Pakistan says, "Not us." Would the real terrorist please stand up?

Black helicopter alert: Did someone really ask Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick (D) whether the bombings were a "false flag" so government could take away our guns?

"No," deadpans Patrick. "Next question?"

A radio jock says, "Something's very fishy." A badly burned Saudi student is a "person of interest." Ban marathons, quips a poster (posts a quipster?) on National Review Online. Too many high-capacity runners. No race needs more than seven runners.

The jokes begin, not because anyone thinks anything is funny. Dark humor helps us breathe when reality is too terrible. Is it too soon to say unpleasant things about Roger Ebert? Margaret Thatcher wouldn't mind.

"We have to be right all the time," says Tom Ridge, former head of homeland security. Only police states get things "right" all the time. How do you screen 26,000 backpacks? You don't.

Tagg Romney is talking. Huh? Oh, his office is near the bomb site. Got it. A doctor says many people lost their legs. So many acts of heroism. One doc ran the marathon then went to work.

Parents of children from Newtown, Conn., were among spectators watching the race, the last mile of which was dedicated to the 20 children and six adults who were killed by another maniac.

And now a word from our sponsors.

The psychic brutality of such events, whether an elementary school shooting or a bombing at the finish line of a marathon on a glorious spring day, is singularly too much. Cumulatively, they have a killing effect on the human soul. We can say all the right things and hug our children more tightly. We can make pronouncements and promises. But the deep, mortal wound of man's inhumanity to man continues to be unfathomable.

The challenge isn't only to prevent the next act of terror. It is to avoid becoming accustomed to the horror.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2013, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast