Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 8, 2013/ 28 Nissan, 5773

'Lean' on, ladies

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker


JewishWorldReview.com | NEW YORK ---- The striking juxtaposition of the preternaturally perfect Angelina Jolie, waifish and wispy in a ghostly gown, and the scrappy Pakistani schoolgirl Malala, her face cruelly misshapen by the effects of a Taliban bullet to the head, captures the confluence of feminine power assembled here to “lean on” the world to save women and girls.

Not lean in, as you’ve heard incessantly the past few weeks, referring to Facebook executive Sheryl Sandberg’s book about empowering already empowered women. While Sandberg wants to help women crash through glass ceilings, Tina Brown, supernova of her own galaxy, wants the civilized world to lean on governments and corporations to scrape women and girls off the dirt floors of their man-made prisons.

Brown’s fourth annual “Women in the Worldsummit at Lincoln Center is testament to what one woman can do to change the world. Disclosure: I am a Tina Brown fan and sometimes write for her publications, Newsweek and the Daily Beast. But I became a fan the old-fashioned way: She has done something I admire. This summit and those assembled — courageous women and girls who struggle for basic human rights — would convert even the most committed cynic into a born-again feminist.

This confab isn’t about getting women into country clubs; it’s about letting girls go to school without risking a bullet to the head. It’s about letting women leave their homes to go to market. It’s about changing cultures that treat women like animals (or worse) and saving them from honor killings and abuse.

Yes, there are celebrities: First-namers such as Angelina, Meryl, Oprah. “Homeland’s” Claire Danes made an appearance. Barbara Walters, journalism’s eminence grise, led a no-nonsense panel on why Americans should care about women in Syria. And yes, where there are stars, there is a red carpet. But these particular stars lend their high profiles to a cause greater than themselves.

Why should Americans care, indeed?

At dinner, I sat next to a tiny woman I recognized from Jody Hassett Sanchez’s human trafficking documentary, “Sold.” Sunitha Krishnan is a former Hindu nun who rescues girls and women from the sex-slave trade in India with little help and dangerous recognition. Though she has been beaten for her work, she perseveres for such beneficiaries as the 8-year-old girl who was locked in a room with a snake until she submitted to prostitution.

Our conversation circled around why more Americans don’t care about honor killings, systematic rape and human trafficking of women, girls and even boys. Perhaps it is in part tragedy fatigue, I suggested. These stories are so overwhelmingly awful that emotional exhaustion sets in. Besides, we have our own challenges and, well, you can’t save everybody.

True, but when you save one woman, you save an entire family. Eventually, you save a village, and a society and finally a nation. More to our immediate interest, women’s security elsewhere corresponds directly to our own security.

Former secretary of state Hillary Clinton summed it up this way in remarks Friday at the summit: “It’s no coincidence that so many of the countries that threaten regional and global peace are the very places where women and girls are deprived of dignity and opportunity.”

Among the many inspirational speakers from around the world, two of the most captivating were young Pakistani women who became activists for girls’ education, creating schools of their own, when they were just teenagers themselves. Oscar-winning documentary filmmaker Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoyshowed clips of one of the young women, a mere slip of a girl at the time, facing down village men, explaining to them that they thwart girls’ education because they feel threatened by independent women.

For a woman or girl to even talk to such men is a revolutionary act, requiring bravery of an incomprehensible order.

Why should we care?

We should care because, finally, we may have no choice. But more important because, as Clinton stated way back in 1995 at the Women’s Conference in Beijing, we should care because women are human beings, too. Yet even now, she said Friday, “too many otherwise thoughtful people continue to see the fortunes of women and girls as somehow separate from society at large. They nod, they smile and then they relegate these issues once again to the sidelines.”

Fighting for women and girls isn’t “a nice thing to do. It isn’t some luxury that we get to when we have time on our hands,” said Clinton. “This is a core imperative for every human being and every society.”

Amen, sister. Lean on.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2013, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast