Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 3, 2006 / 3 Adar, 5766

Free to hate ... and dine alone

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It is easy to dislike David Irving and to wish him good riddance as the British writer/historian begins a three-year prison term in Austria for Holocaust denial.


The challenge in these ultra-sensitive times is to let him and others like him speak freely even as we cover our ears.


The latter option is the American way, a bit of grace we take for granted most days. In Austria, where it is illegal to deny the Holocaust, citizens also do not enjoy a First Amendment. Speak skeptically of certain histories there — or in other countries where speech and thought are controlled — and you may wind up in a prison cell.


Irving's sentence comes in the midst of another free speech spectacle — the publication in Denmark and other European countries of several cartoons of the Prophet Muhammad deemed blasphemous by some Muslims.


Or more accurately, cartoons that were marketed as blasphemous by a few imams who bolstered their case by throwing in some other drawings, allegedly of Muhammad, that had nothing to do with the Danish newspaper that allegedly launched the Muslim world into warp-spasm.


Because I've urged American editors to publish the cartoons — not to inflame or provoke, but to inform — I've received several challenges to defend Irving or confess to a double standard. If freedom of expression means that some inevitably will choose to be insulted, then we must allow equal-opportunity offenders to poison the public well.


What's good for Muslims must also be good for Jews, or something like that.


I couldn't agree more and don't think David Irving belongs in jail for telling lies or inflaming passions. I think he deserves to be ignored. As a matter of record, however, the Austrian embassy has not been ringing me up for advice, nor have any Austrian citizens tried to recruit me to help revise their country's laws.


Until they do, we might tend to our own fragile hold on free speech, especially these days as proposed "hate speech" laws and demands for politically correct expression threaten the higher calling of truth.


To be perfectly clear, Irving is a thoroughly unpleasant chap. I don't like one side of him, as they say in my neck of the woods. Among some of his more infamous statements are that Hitler was "the best friend" of the Jews and that "More people died in Senator Kennedy's car at Chappaquiddick than in gas chambers in Auschwitz." He also proposed forming a group called Auschwitz Survivors, Survivors of the Holocaust, and Other Liars, or ASSHOLs.


Charming.


It is possible that Austria — which produced Hitler and later elected a former Nazi officer, Kurt Waldheim, president — suffers a surfeit of guilt, hence the criminalization of Holocaust denial. But Austria's overcompensation to assuage guilt or to demonstrate virtue may as likely backfire. Repressing freedom of expression nearly always spawns more and darker degrees of what is denied.


The closest corollary in this country is our tolerance of skinheads or the Ku Klux Klan. We don't like them, don't want them in our towns, don't want them marching in our parades or protesting in our streets. But we let them, not because we want to, but because we must. Not only do our laws demand it, but common sense suggests that it's better to let evil display itself in broad daylight than to let it fester in the shadows.


A simple example: Adjacent to the entrance of the 2004 Democratic National Convention hall in Boston was a caged area designated for protesters. As I was making my way to the press entrance, I stopped to watch a group ranting into a microphone. Consummately unattractive, they wore T-shirts and carried posters reading: "G-d hates fags."


I stood next to a police officer as a few others gathered to watch. The sensation was like watching a reptile exhibit at the zoo. No one among those gathered booed or reacted in any way. By unspoken assent, the general attitude was palpably clear: What a bunch of pathetic losers.


And then we walked away, leaving those so filled with hate to stew in their own venom. We ignored them, in other words. But first we allowed them to reveal themselves as the bad actors they are. Likewise, Austria might have ignored David Irving, who has been revealed as a liar and a hatemonger.


Prison for him seems superfluous. More important, given that his lies were nothing more than opinion, the question now becomes: Who, for his unacceptable opinions, will be next for the penitentiary?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.

Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2005, Tribune Media Services

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles