Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 21, 2007 / 3 Adar, 5767

Hillary's Once in a Lifetime

By Kathleen Parker

Kathleen Parker
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | For once in my lifetime / I feel like a giant / I soar like an eagle / As tho' I had wings / For this is my moment / My destiny calls me / And tho' it may be just once in my lifetime / I'm gonna do great things

"Once in a Lifetime," by Anthony Newley / Leslie Bricusse


COLUMBIA, S.C. — There she is, Miss A-mer-i-ca. There she — oh, no, sorry. It's just Hillary.


But standing there center stage, surrounded by queens (the kind who wear tiaras), she looked like Miss Queen of the Universe greeting her court.


For this was her moment, her once in a lifetime. Hillary was in Columbia Monday on the first stop of her first South Carolina tour since declaring her candidacy for president. The smallish auditorium at Allen University, one of two side-by-side, historically black colleges here, was filled to overflowing.


The line waiting to get inside stretched down the block, while inside a drum corps and the Allen University Chorale entertained those lucky enough to grab seats.


After an hour of pre-game warmup, I wanted to shave my head. Finally, Hillary swept in and moved down a line of huggers toward a raised platform centered in the room.


Her positioning meant that she had to keep turning in order to hug back. Around and around and around she turned, 360 degrees, over and over, her arms outstretched in perpetual greeting, like a jewel-box ballerina whose battery has run low.


This wasn't Hillary's first visit to South Carolina, she told the crowd. She had been here a lonnnnng time ago, back when she was a lawyer for the Children's Defense Fund, working for the poor, the underprivileged and the downtrodden.


She left it at that. No one in the crowd seemed to notice or care that the New York senator has been to South Carolina lots of times, hanging out where the poor and underprivileged seldom gather except as maids, gardeners and servers.


She and husband Bill have been high-profile regulars at the elite group hug known as Renaissance Weekend — at Hilton Head (and recently Charleston) — since waaaaaaaay back when Bill was a governor and Hillary was a lawyer-wife.


Hillary is nothing if not selective. She strategically invoked several long-agos and way-back-whens throughout her speech, determined, it seemed, to remind people that she is the elder statesman in this bunch — unlike that puppy, Barack Obama, who wowed crowds here last week.


At one point, she borrowed from her Brownie/Girl Scout days. At another, she recalled the days of Sputnik — the unmanned space mission launched in 1957 by the Soviet Union.


Obama may be all that, but he wasn't around for Sputnik. Hillary remembered that teachers came to classrooms and told children: ``The president wants you to learn math, and we believed it. What are we asking our children to do?''


In another time-travel moment, she hearkened back to those wacky missile crisis days when baby boomers played "dive and hide." We avoided that crisis, how? By talking to our enemies. Unlike you-know-who.


Hey, didja know they have farms in New York, y'all? Well, yessiree-Bob, Clinton told the crowd by way of introducing her ag bona fides. And, yes, she did say "y'all," which you don't hear much in Chappaqua.


And South Carolina has soybeans! The straight-A student had done her homework. She knew all about the state she was visiting and managed to weave soybeans into her agenda for more jobs and alternative energy sources.


Hillary also knew some of the most arcane factoids possibly ever delivered on a campaign trail.


Talking about her education agenda, she dropped this nugget: The average college graduate makes $1 million more than the average high school graduate. We get the point. Go to college and you'll make more money than a high school grad. Check.


Trickier was this one: Last year there were more bankruptcies in the U.S. than college graduates. Hmmmm. What could this mean? If you go to college, you will or won't go bankrupt? I'm not sure, since most of my bankrupt friends have Ph.D.s in economics.


Never mind. The crowd didn't care. They loved Hillary and she loved them. Flanked by Miss Benedict College and Miss Allen University, she was missing only the crown that has long been her due.


Her special moment, her once in a lifetime.


Her destiny.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Kathleen Parker can be reached by clicking here.


Kathleen Parker Archives

© 2006, WPWG

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles