Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 16, 2006 / 20 Sivan, 5766

Our Dad Who Art in Heaven

By Julia Gorin


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Amid intermittent calls to end Father's Day at some schools (since there are kids who have two mommies), I'd like to suggest that on Father's Day we honor the dad that everyone does have, whether they know it or not: the Divine


I know, I know. I can see the eyes rolling already, but all I'm asking is — even if you don't believe He exists, or if you have issues with Him, or if you've given up on Him (hey, we can't pick our relatives) — let's just agree to make Father's Day the one day out of the year that all people — regardless of religion — agree at least to skip a day of dissing Dad. If only out of respect for your siblings who still love Him — and I'm asking as a sibling (or didn't you ever wonder how it is that there's less than 1% difference among all our DNA?).


I remember when my biological sister and I first learned of our other Father at the ages of 6 and 4, we tried tossing greeting cards into the sky. But if you're someone who denies any relation to Him, that is, you're among my many atheist brothers and sisters, not to worry — you still get to go to His house when it's your time (you just feel kind of dumb when you get there). Because a parent's love is unconditional, and Dad'll forgive you even as He's yelling that He exists and you're yelling back, "We'll just have to agree to disagree on this one. I'm just tripping, Dad, it's the drugs, man; I've been here before." (Of course, once he finally convinces the kids, the usual child-parent cycle will kick in and our "thinking" siblings will rebel and insist on trying to make Heaven "a better place" and "make a difference.")


I suspect Dad gets a bigger kick out of atheists, though. Sure He loves His believers, but the Divine likes a challenge too. And don't forget, Dad's a practical joker; a gag is no fun if the subject already knows who's pulling the strings.


What's cool for the rebellious types is that this is one Father you really can blame for everything that goes wrong with your life, and accuse of not being there for you (though He has his own way of letting you know when you've done Him proud or not).

Donate to JWR

So since shopping for a man is hard enough as it is (and what do you get a man who has everything?), the least we can do is give Him a day where we don't say anything mean about Him.


Just think of all the jobs He has — and at His age. To name a few, He's a scientist, a construction worker, a mathematician, a cook, a therapist, and a designer (consider all the crazy-looking birds and fish — and the zebra). Dad gets great naches, by the way, from watching His offspring follow in his footsteps when we choose even one of His fields.


And does anyone ever stop to be impressed by what a genius He is? A considerate genius, no less. Just think how bad the inside of a nose must smell. And yet we smell everything but our noses.


So for those who aren't annoyed that He's still alive, out of respect, at least give Him a call. Either direct-dial at bedside or go to a medium, though I can't recommend those long-distance rates. You never know; a miracle could happen, which is just the Divine's way of saying, "Who's your daddy!"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Julia Gorin is a widely published op-ed writer and comedian who blogs at www.JuliaGorin.com. Comment on by clicking here.

Julia Gorin Archives

© 2005, Julia Gorin.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles