Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 23, 2006 / 22 Kislev, 5767

When truth is transpicuous

By Jonathan V. Last


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Dear Diary:

I'm worried about Brit-Brit. I know I shouldn't care — splitting with her was totally the right thing to do. I did not want Nick Lachey's la-lame la-life. Getting sympathy dates and deodorant commercials. No thanks. I've got my art. I've got the sexy back. And I don't care what everyone says about Cameron — in the right light she's totally cute. At least she keeps her pants on in public.


But Brit-Brit is out of control. And I'm worried it's my fault.


First off, I never dreamed she'd rebound with Vanilla Ice. Or that she'd pop out a couple of kids. And start wearing mom jeans. It was all so sad. And then, on top of everything, to have Xtina going around telling reporters, "It's a shame Britney doesn't go to any shows or awards anymore, because they are so much fun, even if you're not nominated for things." Whatever. It's called magniloquence, blondie. Give it a try.


Anyway, I thought there was sort of a quiet dignity to the way Brit-Brit was leading her life. Suffering is hard. That's what Cameron always says. I know she doesn't think Brit-Brit was really suffering since she was born with a perfect nose. But getting dumped by me, raising kids by yourself, and getting fat? If that's not suffering, then Lance isn't still crushing on Clay.


At first, I wasn't real surprised when Brit-Brit started hanging out with Paris. I mean, if you were depressed and trapped by a family and everything, wouldn't you want to break out? People can say what they want about Paris, but she can hold her party. She's not like some girls (cough Blindsay cough Blohan) who look strung out after a month or two of clubbing. Paris has been doing this scene since she was 15, and, except for that weird eye, she looks totally normal. But then Brit-Brit started, you know, flashing her bits. And the pole-dancing lessons. She can be so transpicuous. Clearly — I mean, clearly — she's trying to send me a message. She wants to get back on the J-train. Take another dip in the lake. (See what I did there? That's called a semaphore. And that's why I'm now and David Bowie is yesterday.)


Of course, Cameron thinks the whole situation doesn't have anything to do with me. She always says there's nothing as tragic as having been famous once upon a time. (I don't think she thought that up herself. She's always reading books and stuff.) She thinks Brit-Brit's acting out is just some cry for help, like when that Baywatch lady accidentally let someone steal the DVD of her doing it with that old guy.

Donate to JWR


Cameron says that we share 99 percent of our DNA with monkeys and that all animals have an urge for survival, but what separates us from the monkeys is our urge to be famous. She says it's part of Darwin's Theory of Revolution and that everyone would know that if the stupid Republicans would just let us teach kids about Darwin in school.


I remember this one time, Cameron and I were watching TV and there was a commercial for this Red Bull rip-off called Cheetah. And this runner dude named Ben Johnson came on and he was like, "Go ahead and Cheetah!" And I was all, "What's that?" And Cameron said he used to be famous because he got caught doing 'roids in the Olympics but then she got embarrassed because she realized that I was 7 when it happened and she's way older than me and I like to tease her that she's my "old lady." Cameron really doesn't like that.


Anyway, Cameron said that the Ben Johnson dude was just like Brit-Brit. They both need to do stuff to keep being famous because if they weren't famous then they wouldn't be anything at all. Seriously, check this: If they weren't famous, they might not even exist! Like in The Matrix!


But I'm really sad for Brit-Brit, because even Ben Johnson didn't have to show his... you know. And now she's carrying on like one of those losers from The Real World. That's what Cameron says, anyway. She can be really mean sometimes.


Maybe I'll give Brit-Brit a call. Nothing big. Just a shout-out to let her know I'm still paying attention. That'll make her feel better. But let's keep this between us. No need to tell Ms. Smarty McDarwin. I totally love her and everything, but people from her generation don't always understand.


Bye, bye, bye,
Justin T

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Jonathan V. Last is a columnist for the Philadelphia Inquirer. Comment by clicking here.


Previously:

12/05/06 A realistic plan: Split the country in two
11/08/06 We could easily pull out of Korea and let China have regional hegemony. But would it be the right thing?
10/24/06 The decline of revolution
10/18/06 Why the free market is king
08/07/06 Democracy, of itself, not solution to all problems
08/01/06 We get the movies we deserve
07/27/06 How long will U.S. empire last?


© 2006, The Philadelphia Inquirer. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles