Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Celebrating vegetables, Italian-style ( 4 tantalizing recipes!)

By Rick Nelson



JewishWorldReview.com | As the daughter of an American father and an Italian mother, Domenica Marchetti enjoyed a charmed childhood.

Her family lived in the United States during the school year, but spent summers in Italy, where Marchetti picked up an appreciation for Italian food through, as she says, "osmosis."

"But as I got older, I began to appreciate how my culinary heritage is such an incredible gift," she said.

That gratitude shows in her work. With her just-released "The Glorious Vegetables of Italy" (Chronicle, $30).

(Buy it at a 34% discount by clicking here or order in KINDLE edition at a 55% discount by clicking here)

Marchetti enthusiastically explores a fundamental element — in her opinion, the fundamental element — of her favorite cuisine.

It's her fifth Italian cookbook (a sixth, on biscotti, is heading to a 2015 release date), and in a recent phone interview, Marchetti discussed the omnipresent Italian garden, the joys that come from squishing a ripe tomato into a slice of bread and why her recipes always start with a story.

Q: So it's not pasta or pizza, it's vegetables that we should be concentrating on when we think about Italian cuisine?

A: We've really come a long way in our appreciation and understanding of Italian cooking in this country. The majority of Americans have this perception that Italian food is heavy, carb-ey, starchy.

But it's a very vegetable-driven cuisine, because the peninsula is essentially one big garden. Everything grows well there. And wherever you go, you'll eat what was picked that day. If you're at a restaurant, it's all from right around you, it's as local as you can get.

Q: Pardon my lousy Italian. Can you translate andiamo in giardino?

A: (Laughs). It's 'Let's go into the garden,' and that phrase confounded me when I was a kid. I never understood what people meant, because there's no word for 'yard' in Italian, and this is specifically the word 'garden.'

It makes so much more sense to me now. Because wherever Italians live, whether it's a house, or it's an apartment, there is always something edible growing. You know, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, herbs. It finally dawned on me after all these years: If there is a workable plot of land — even if it's pots on a balcony — it's a garden.

Q: A way of life we should all live, right?

A: The food revolution in this country has brought us such a long way toward that. Look at the farmers market revolution. Just here in the (Washington) D.C. area, there are three or four markets every week that are just a few minutes from my house.

That's another reason that I wanted to write this book. When I was growing up, it was hard to find things like fennel or rapini. But now we have all of this fresh produce at our fingertips. We can even take advantage of the vegetables that aren't native to Italy — I'm thinking of the broccolini recipe that I have in the book — that take so well to Italian flavors.

Q: Is there a vegetable that you couldn't live without?

A: Tomatoes, of course, which aren't even really Italian, and they're not vegetables (laughs). I have to say that it would probably be leafy greens. You know, rapini, kale. Oh, and zucchini. I love zucchini.

Q: I want to test-drive that chocolate-zucchini cake right now. What are its origins?

A: I've always ended my books on a sweet note. The dessert recipes aren't always authentically or literally Italian, but at least they are in spirit.

When I was growing up in the '70s and early '80s, zucchini bread was popular, and I always loved it. We used to put chocolate chips in it. This is a very plain, simple cake, but chocolate and zucchini goes well together, and the zucchini makes the cake so moist. I think of it as a tribute to simple Italian desserts and 1970s America.

Q: What's the story behind that beautiful green minestrone soup?

A: It was a leftover from my first book, "The Glorious Soups and Stews of Italy," which had a recipe for a farmers market minestrone. I put a cook's note at the end of it and it said something like, "Have fun and make a green minestrone, or an orange minestrone."

So I've been toying around with that for a while, and I took some time to develop this green recipe. But since the entire rainbow is represented when it comes to the colors of vegetables, there are plenty of choices.

Q: Your book focuses on vegetables, but it's not strictly vegetarian. Was that intentional?

A: I'm not a vegetarian, but I have found myself tending toward eating less meat. Factory meat bothers me. I'm buying it at the farmers market, where the beef is grass-fed, and I know where it's coming from. I'm also paying more, but I'd rather eat less meat and better meat.

But I've always loved vegetables, and I'm always looking for ways to make vegetables the star of the show, so that you don't even miss the meat. I'm not in any way espousing or advancing a doctrine. To each his own. I'm definitely a carnivore.

Q: Right now, when I'm at the farmers market, my eyes immediately go to the tomatoes. What do you like to do with them?

A: With slicing tomatoes, I just like to eat them plain, with salt. Or put them with mozzarella into a caprese. Or you can slow-roast them, the Romas or the cherry tomatoes.

Or you can make a pane pomodoro. It's easy. You take a slice of good bread, and you squish half a tomato on top of it — like squeezing a lemon — squeezing out the pulp and spreading it around. Then you drizzle a little olive oil and sprinkle on some salt. It's barely a recipe, but it's the best snack.

Q: Each one of your recipes starts with a short story. Is that your cookbook modus operandi?

A: It's something I've done from my very first book. I like to tell stories. I like to know where recipes come from, and I feel that it's important to the reader to know why I chose the recipe, and why I wanted to share it.

Q: Most of the book's recipes are fairly uncomplicated. Is that the way you prefer to cook?

A: I like projects. I like making pasta, or making dishes that take a number of steps, it's a labor of love. But on weekdays, I tend to cook really simply. And working with good, fresh ingredients means you don't have to manipulate them. Vegetables shine when the dish isn't too contrived. Let them speak for themselves.

We were recently staying at an agriturismo (a farmhouse vacation property), and for a light lunch one day, the cook brought out a small plate of tender green beans. She picked them, she boiled them and then she drizzled them with olive oil and vinegar. I will never forget how good it was. And it was just green beans. It was all about the integrity of the ingredients.



CAPRICCI WITH SLOW-ROASTED CHERRY TOMATOES AND CREAM

SERVES 4


NOTE: "Capricci is one of the many whimsical pasta shapes now on the market," writes Domenica Marchetti in "The Glorious Vegetables of Italy." "It isn't always easy to find, and I've seen a couple of different variations. They are either tight coils or tight ruffles, and in either case are excellent at trapping sauce. If you are unable to find them, substitute another short, coiled pasta shape, such as fusilli or gemelli."

  • 1 1/2 lb. cherry tomatoes, halved

  • 2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil

  • Fine sea salt

  • Freshly ground black pepper

  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter

  • 1 shallot

  • 2 to 3 fresh thyme sprigs

  • 3/4 cup heavy cream

  • 1 tbsp. coarsely chopped basil

  • 1 lb. dried capricci (see Note)

  • 1 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, divided




WE FEED YOUR SOUL, INTELLECT --- AND STOMACH

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Directions:

Preheat oven to 275 degrees. Arrange cherry tomatoes cut-side up on a large rimmed baking sheet. Drizzle olive oil over tomatoes and sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon salt and a grinding of pepper. Roast tomatoes until they are somewhat puckered and shriveled but still juicy, about 90 minutes.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil over high heat and salt generously. In a large, deep sauté pan over medium-low heat, melt butter. When butter has just begun to foam, stir in shallot. Cook, stirring frequently, until shallot is softened but not browned, about 7 minutes. Scrape in tomatoes and any juices that have collected on the baking sheet. Add thyme sprigs and pour in cream. Heat gently to a simmer over low to medium-low heat. Right before dressing the pasta, turn off heat and stir in basil.

Meanwhile, add pasta to boiling water and cook according to manufacturer's instructions until al dente. Drain pasta in a colander, reserving about 1 cup of pasta water. Return pasta to pot and spoon two-thirds of sauce over it. Add 1/2 cup of Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Toss gently to combine. Add 1 tablespoon of reserved pasta water, if necessary, to loosen sauce, and toss again.

Spoon dressed pasta into a warm serving bowl or individual bowls. Sprinkle with remaining Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese on top and serve immediately, with remaining sauce passed at the table.

Nutrition information per serving:

Calories 880 Fat 37 g; Sodium 865 mg; Saturated fat 18 g

Carbohydrates: 106 g; Calcium 410 mg

Protein 31 g; Cholesterol 84 mg; Dietary fiber 8 g Diabetic exchanges per serving: 7 bread/starch, 11/2 medium-fat meat, 6 fat.

CHOCOLATE ZUCCHINI CAKE

SERVES 8

Note: From "The Glorious Vegetables of Italy."

  • 2 medium zucchini (about 1 1/2 c.), shredded on the large holes of a box grater

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

  • 1/2 cup boiling water

  • 2 eggs

  • 1 1/4 cup sugar

  • 2/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for the pan

  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract

  • 2 tbsp. dark rum, optional

  • 1/2 cup flour, plus more for dusting the pan

  • 1/2 cup almond flour or almond meal

  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda

  • 1/4 tsp. fine sea salt

  • Powdered sugar for dusting


Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly coat the bottom and sides of an 8-inch round baking pan with olive oil. Sprinkle a little flour into the pan and coat the interior, tapping out any excess.

Place the shredded zucchini in a medium bowl lined with paper towels to absorb some of the liquid. Set aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together cocoa powder and boiling water until smooth. Set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs and sugar until pale, thick and frothy. Slowly whisk in olive oil until well blended. Stir in cocoa mixture, vanilla extract, almond extract and liqueur, if using.

In a separate medium bowl, whisk together flour, almond flour, baking soda and salt. Pour flour mixture into egg mixture, whisking all the while to avoid lumps. Using a silicon spatula, stir in shredded zucchini. Scrape batter into prepared baking pan.

Bake until a cake tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, about 55 to 65 minutes. Transfer pan to a rack to cool for 20 to 30 minutes. Remove the cake from the pan and set on the rack to cool to room temperature.

Transfer cooled cake to a decorative platter. Dust the cake lightly with powdered sugar right before serving.

Nutrition information per serving:

Calories 390 Fat 23 g; Sodium 135 mg; Saturated fat 4 g

Carbohydrates 45 g; Calcium 39 mg

Protein 5 g; Cholesterol 47 mg; Dietary fiber 3 g Diabetic exchanges per serving: 2 bread/starch, 1 other carb, 41/2 fat. .

MINESTRONE VERDE

SERVES 6 to 8

Note: From "The Glorious Vegetables of Italy."

  • 3 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for garnish

  • 2 medium leeks, white and light green parts, thoroughly washed, halved lengthwise, and sliced thinly, crosswise (about 2 c.)

  • 2 small zucchini, quartered lengthwise and then cut crosswise into small wedge-shaped pieces

  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

  • Freshly ground black pepper

  • 6 to 7 cup vegetable broth

  • 2 cups tubettini, ditalini or other small soup pasta

  • 2 cups fresh or frozen peas, thawed if frozen

  • 4 handfuls (about 4 oz.) fresh baby spinach leaves

  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese, optional

  • 3 to 4 tbsp. fresh basil pesto, see recipe


Directions:

Put olive oil, pancetta (if using) and leeks in a large Dutch oven or other heavy-bottomed pot and place over medium heat. Cook, stirring frequently, until olive oil and pancetta begin to sizzle, then lower heat to medium-low and cook for 7 to 8 minutes, until leeks are softened and pancetta is just beginning to turn crisp.

Stir in zucchini and season with salt and a generous grinding of pepper. Cook, stirring frequently, for about 15 minutes, or until zucchini is tender but still holds its shape. Pour in 6 cups of broth and raise the heat to medium-high. Bring broth to a boil and slowly pour in pasta, taking care not to let the broth boil over. Reduce heat to medium-low to maintain a gentle simmer and cook the pasta for 1 to 2 minutes. Stir in peas and spinach and cook until pasta is al dente or even a little bit more tender; cooking time will depend on the shape and brand of pasta you use. Add more broth to thin the soup, if you like.

Remove from the heat and stir in cheese, if using. Ladle the soup into shallow bowls, top with a dollop of pesto — no more than 1/2 tablespoon — and drizzle a little olive oil over each serving.

Nutrition information per serving:

Calories 290 Fat 11 g; Sodium 865 mg; Saturated fat 2 g

Carbohydrates 40 g; Calcium 72 mg

Protein 9 g; Cholesterol 3 mg; Dietary fiber 5 g

Diabetic exchanges per serving: 2 vegetable, 2 bread/starch, 2 fat.

FRESH BASIL PESTO

MAKES: About 1 cup.

Note: From "The Glorious Vegetables of Italy."

  • 2 cups firmly packed fresh basil leaves

  • 1 garlic clove, cut into pieces

  • 2 tbsp. pine nuts or blanched slivered almonds

  • 1/2 tsp. coarse sea salt

  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil

  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano or Pecorino cheese, or a mix of the two


Directions:

Put basil, garlic, pine nuts and salt in the work bowl of a food processor and pulse until roughly chopped. With the motor running, dribble in olive oil through the feed tube until mixture forms a loose paste. Using a spatula, scrape pesto into a small bowl and stir in cheese. If not using immediately, transfer pesto to a small container with a tight-fitting lid and press a piece of plastic wrap onto the surface on the pesto to prevent discoloration. Cover the container with the lid and store pesto in the refrigerator for up to 1 day.

To freeze pesto, omit cheese and freeze in a plastic container for up to 6 months. To use, let pesto thaw to room temperature and stir in cheese.

Nutrition information per serving of 1 tablespoon:

Calories 82 Fat 8 g; Sodium 112 mg; Saturated fat 2 g

Carbohydrates 0 g; Calcium 52 mg

Protein 2 g; Cholesterol 2 mg; Dietary fiber 0 g

Diabetic exchanges per serving: 11/2 fat.


Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

© 2013, Star Tribune Distributed by MCT Information Services

Quantcast