Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 11, 2005 / 9 Mar-Cheshvan, 5766

Who's harming America's image?

By David Limbaugh


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Democrat honchos, while forever complaining that President Bush has hurt America's image in the world, have themselves been engaged in a systematic campaign to slander President Bush, particularly over foreign policy, consequently undermining America's image in the world.

Indeed, if you wanted to discredit America in the eyes of other nations, how would you go about doing it? Would you:

Constantly wring your hands over our alleged torture of terrorist detainees, likening certain mildly tough and infrequently implemented interrogation techniques to the worst kinds of torture practiced in history?

Falsely accuse high administration officials of virtually authorizing certain renegade military personnel of employing clearly unapproved interrogation methods?

Unconscionably accuse the Bush administration of lying about Saddam Hussein's weapons of mass destruction to deceive the public into support for the war? (Sorry for repeating this one, but its egregiousness requires that it be on every list, no matter how often.)

Ludicrously accuse the Bush administration of attacking Iraq for the purpose of exploiting Middle Eastern oil?

Lambaste the administration for "unilaterally" attacking Iraq, though, in fact, many other nations were on board and we earnestly tried to recruit others, including those whose intelligence agencies agreed that Saddam had WMD stockpiles — not to mention that some of them had been bought off by Saddam?

Downplay any good news coming out of Iraq, especially concerning the Iraqi people's steady march toward constitutional autonomy?

Also downplay just how brutal Saddam's regime was and sometimes even imply Iraq is worse off now than under Saddam?

Portray the terrorist anarchists sabotaging the Iraqis' drive for freedom as insurgents, freedom fighters or revolutionaries: those with different, yet morally equivalent ideas on Iraq's governance?

Promote the convenient canard that our preemptively motivated military action against Iraq has caused otherwise peacefully inclined Islamic radicals to hate us? (France, anyone?)

Speciously argue the Wilson/Plame debacle besmirches the entire administration even though the very Scooter Libby indictment you cite as validation for your charge is a precise refutation of it?

Cite that same Libby indictment, which is bereft of evidence implicating anyone in the administration of violating any crimes pertaining to national security, as a compelling reason for President Bush to "clean house"?

Depict the United States as the singular demon on the world stage for refusing to sign on to the Kyoto Protocol even though its essential premises are highly suspect and it could wreck our economy and severely compromise our sovereignty?

Suggest, directly or directly, that the United States is responsible for "widespread" feelings of ill will around the globe against it?

With respect to this last point I refer you to a recent episode of "Hannity and Colmes" involving anti-American protests in Argentina accompanying the president's recent visit there for the Summit of the Americas. Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez egged on the protestors by denouncing President Bush as "Mr. Danger," and the United States as "the evil empire."

Guest Susan Estrich, anticipating that guest Ann Coulter might partially blame American liberals for the protest, said, "I don't know a single soul who's protesting down there. I don't think that we (liberals) are responsible for them. You can't blame us for what's going on down there."

Then, amazingly, Estrich turned right around and said, "I do think that one of the issues they're protesting about is the War in Iraq, and I do think the president is vulnerable, obviously, because Karl Rove is still under investigation. He's refusing to comment about that. He's refusing to say anything about the fact that Scooter Libby is pleading in court now And, you know the more we hear the more it becomes clear that we were lied to about the basis for this war, and at some point there's going to have to be some reckoning here, and I think we would be in a stronger position if the president would be more forthcoming on that."

In other words, Susan, perhaps the violent protests in Argentina against us are our "reckoning" for President Bush's "lies" to get us into war and refusal to be forthcoming?

If this weren't such a familiar routine it would be jaw-dropping. Liberals have become so used to defaming President Bush, it apparently doesn't occur to them that they are doing much more to harm America's image than President Bush.

How can we possibly expect other nations — even our allies (who one would reasonably assume not to be as loyal as our own opposition party) — to hold us in high esteem while that opposition party daily proclaims that our president is an uncompassionate, dishonest, Machiavellian, imperialist, racist, oil-thieving, unilateralist, sadistic, torturing cowboy hell-bent on alienating peaceful Muslims the world over?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo., is the author of, most recently, "Persecution: How Liberals Are Waging War Against Christianity". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles