Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Oct. 6, 2005 / 3 Tishrei, 5765

Disappointed, but still hopeful

By David Limbaugh


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm initially disappointed in President Bush's Harriet Miers Supreme Court nomination, but not quite ready to run out in front of the beer truck. Part of the problem with the commentating profession is that it sometimes pressures you to step out before all the facts are known. With that caveat in mind — and a few more to come — here goes.

I was counting on the president to nominate a well-known originalist scholar. Since he can pick whomever he chooses, why not select not only a strict constructionist, but someone well known to be among the very cream of the judicial crop?

More than a handful of potential nominees fill that bill, including Michael Luttig, Michael McConnell, Janice Rogers Brown, Priscilla Owen, Edith Jones and others. Few court watchers I know of considered Miers to be in that elite group.

To be sure, the fact that court-watching Bush supporters didn't anticipate the Miers nomination is no reason to oppose her. The question is not whether we all know Miers to be an ideal originalist appointment, but whether, in fact, she is .

Since President Bush knows her so well and professes to believe so strongly in originalism, shouldn't we trust that he wouldn't have appointed her unless she were a highly qualified originalist? But here's the rub. Many conservatives are uncomfortable accepting the wisdom of this appointment on blind faith.

Some may counter that this is hardly blind faith: The president has consistently appointed strong conservatives to the bench. For the most part I would agree, but the Miers appointment, on its face, at least appears compromised, and that's troubling. (While Roberts was a stealth appointment concerning his originalism, there was nothing stealth about his legal credentials.)

On the surface, she is a very close friend of the president's. Friendship should certainly not disqualify a person, but the president has a duty to appoint the most qualified people to the highest court. While personal loyalty is admirable, the Constitution should never be subordinated to it.

I also hope the president isn't merely trying to avoid controversy. Is he so beleaguered that he has chosen to follow the path of least resistance — to appease the Left? If so, I strongly believe he is grossly misreading history and, more importantly, his conservative base.

To the extent that the president's popularity has waned, it is mostly because he has disappointed his base. He should never worry about avoiding the Left's hand grenades, whose pins are always pulled.

Of all things I thought he had learned in spades, it was that his father's overtures to the Left not only were unappreciated and rebuffed — they also deeply wounded his presidency and opened the door to eight years of Clinton.

Which brings me to the clincher. Part of me says, "Calm down, the issue — as I said above — isn't whether we conservatives know Miers is going to be a stellar, originalist jurist, but whether, in fact, she will be. It's the integrity of the Constitution that's paramount, not whether conservatives are mollified. So if Mr. Bush knows she is going to be excellent, that's all that matters in the end."

On the other hand, I believe he had the power to accomplish both things: to appoint someone he knew to be a highly qualified originalist, and someone his conservative base knew to be as well — but he didn't do it — again.

While the Constitution and the Court are monumentally important, they aren't the only institutions in play here. The future of the presidency and conservatism itself are currently in the crosshairs as well. We are well into President Bush's second term, and sometimes he seems to be letting the liberal tail wag the dog.

By acting apologetic about conservatism in this and other recent actions, e.g., post-Katrina, he's sending the wrong signal at the wrong time. If the Republican Party's standard-bearer acts tentative about conservative solutions and fighting for them, how can we expect the base to be fired up, especially as we go into 2008 without a natural successor to replace him — given that Vice President Cheney won't be running?

I truly wish President Bush had seized this opportune moment to reenergize his base and his presidency by appointing a person on his list whose Scalian credentials are common knowledge.

But I would also be remiss if I didn't close with a confession. As I'm submitting this column, I'm hearing very good things about Ms. Miers from people who know her and whom I trust, like she's a strong, pro-life evangelical Christian, a conservative's conservative, an originalist and a very capable lawyer. If so, I will enthusiastically support her — and the Left will go to war against her. We should welcome that fight.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo., is the author of, most recently, "Persecution: How Liberals Are Waging War Against Christianity". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles