Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 16, 2008 / 16 Elul 5768

On Theocracy and Double Standards

By David Limbaugh


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In the next few weeks, we're going to hear a lot of hot air from Joe Biden as he tries to recapture the spotlight from Sarah Palin. One thing I doubt we'll hear from him is that rare sensible gem he uttered a few years ago about Democrats and people of faith. But he would do well to remember his fleeting words.


Biden said: "We have too many elites in our party who look down their nose on people of faith. … That's the big problem with my party."


You can say that again, Joe. But next time, you ought to try listening to your own words instead of just talking to hear your head rattle.


If Biden was sincere, why won't he take issue with liberals in the media and elsewhere who routinely demonstrate their contempt for Christians?


Whether it's Whoopi Goldberg hyperventilating about the separation of church and state, Charlie Gibson distorting Sarah Palin's views on the intersection of faith and governance, or Obama himself disparaging small-town Christians for their unashamed reliance on the Bible, liberals just don't get it. For them to occasionally pretend they do just adds insult to injury.


On "The View," Goldberg asked John McCain, "So if you believe in the separation of church and state, did it not give you a moment of pause that Sarah Palin … (does) not have the same beliefs as you do about these things?"


I think we can safely infer that Goldberg was suggesting that Palin does not believe in the separation of church and state. Why? Presumably because Palin has said that she would seek G-d's guidance in governing. Horrors!


After all, said Goldberg, America includes not only Christians and Jews but also Muslims, Zoroastrians and Wiccans. She asked of McCain: "Are you to govern this nation as G-d would have you do it, or do you govern this nation for the greater good of the people in it?"


Let liberals keep revealing their profound ignorance concerning the Constitution's prohibition of the establishment of religion and guarantee of religious liberty. Let them continue broadcasting their belief that it is improper for public officials to humbly seek G-d's guidance in discharging their duties. Let them showcase their convoluted view that a Christian public official can't constitutionally govern unless he erects a Chinese firewall between his faith and his governance. Let them persist in displaying their misapprehension that Christian politicians, by virtue of their faith, are theocrats and cannot serve without discriminating against non-Christians.


ABC's Charlie Gibson approached it from a different angle, trying to paint Palin as a theocrat who believes we are fighting a "holy war" in Iraq. Despite Gibson's smug assertion that he was reciting Palin's "exact words," he specifically omitted key words and completely twisted her meaning. He misrepresented Palin's exhortation that we pray for our troops and pray that they are doing G-d's work as an affirmative statement that they are doing G-d's work.


Not that it would have been terrible for Palin to have rejected liberal moral equivalency arguments between Americans and terrorists and implied we have the moral high ground over homicide-bombing fanatics. But she didn't say that. Palin has made clear she doesn't believe she has a pipeline into G-d's will or that she can speak for him — only that she would strive humbly to do his will and that she would continue to commune with him, in prayer and through reading the Bible. Again, horrors!


I hope liberals keep showing their open contempt for sincerely practicing Christians. I hope they continue to operate under the assumption they can scare Americans about Palin's Bible-believing faith. But in the meantime, they might want to refresh their memories about American presidents and prayer.


Almost all of our presidents have relied heavily on prayer. But to be fair, let's just look at modern Democratic ones.


In the middle of the Cuban missile crisis, President John F. Kennedy prayed at St. Matthew's Cathedral. President Lyndon Johnson repeatedly called for national days of prayer and reportedly prayed a dozen times a day.


Jimmy Carter said: "There's no doubt that during my time as president, I prayed more intensely and more fervently for G-d's guidance than at any other time in my life. … The problems were so complex that I sought counsel." Bible-toting Bill Clinton said, "I assure you that no president makes decisions like (an agreement with Haiti) without deep thought and prayer."


Do you ever remember anyone accusing these Democrats of having alarming theocratic impulses?


Better yet, have you heard anyone in the liberal media criticizing Obama for his statement that he prays "to Jesus every night"? Or Joe Biden for urging people to pray that the levees in New Orleans hold?


I wonder why not.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Archives

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo. Comment by clicking here.


DAVID'S LATEST:

Bankrupt: The Intellectual and Moral Bankruptcy of the Democratic Party BANKRUPT! That’s what the Democrats are when it comes to new ideas, or to defending America, or to doing anything more than protecting their own narrow political interests. Exaggeration? Hardly. Bestselling author David Limbaugh quotes Democrats to devastating effect as a party that has reduced its mind and heart to the level of intellectual and moral bankruptcy. In this startling new book, Limbaugh shows just how far the Democratic Party has fallen, and why there is little prospect of redemption.

Sales help fund JWR.

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles