Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 23, 2006 / 27 Sivan, 5766

American and European leftists: A symbiotic relationship?

By David Limbaugh


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | At a press conference in Vienna on Wednesday, a questioner asked President Bush, "Most Europeans consider the United States the biggest threat to global stability. Do you have any regrets about that?" Could that man with a British accent actually have been a DNC plant?


Of course, I don't believe DNC Chairman Howard Dean really put him up to the question. I don't think Dean was there. He was back in the United States collaborating with his party leaders to write lyrics for the very same songbook.


For years, Democrats have charged that President Bush has employed an arrogant approach to foreign policy and alienated our European allies. They denounced him for refusing to endorse the Kyoto climate change treaty and the International Criminal Court. They shuddered with horror when he designated Iraq, Iran and North Korea as an "axis of evil." They said he acted unilaterally on Iraq. They said he hasn't been deferential enough toward the United Nations. They said his cowboy approach to the war on terror was creating more terrorists than it was capturing or killing.


Former President Clinton snuggled up to the America-bashers at a global conference in Montreal last December, telling them Bush was "flat wrong" that signing on to the Kyoto treaty would damage the U.S. economy. An appreciative attendee, Kenya's Emily Ojoo Massawa, chair of the African group of nations at the conference, said, "It's such a pity the United States is still very much unwilling to join the international community, to have a multilateral effort to deal with climate change." Obviously, the Democrats' talking points memo on Bush's "unilateralism" made its way to Kenya.


Howard Dean, during his 15 minutes of presidential contender fame in 2003, slammed President Bush for his "go-it-alone approach to every problem," his "radical unilateralism" and his "brash boastfulness." Bush, said Dean, has "created a new rallying cry for terrorist recruits." As if auditioning for a role as questioner in the 2006 press conference in Vienna, Dean said, "We find ourselves, too often, isolated and resented." The Bush administration, said Dean, "seem[s] to believe that nothing can be gained from working with nations that have stood by our side as allies for generations."


Demonstrating his softness on American sovereignty, Dean added that he "would not have hesitated" to attack Iraq "had the United Nations given us permission and asked us to be a part of a multilateral force." (Not that we're keeping track, of course, but this same Howard Dean had urged President Clinton to enter the war in Bosnia in 1995, saying, "the efforts of the United Nations and NATO in Bosnia are a complete failure. We must take unilateral action.") But I digress.

Donate to JWR

Early in 2002, former President Clinton's Secretary of State Madeleine Albright said President Bush's "axis of evil" designation was a "big mistake" and was alienating our allies. Albright said Bush's conduct of foreign policy was causing many in the international community to believe the United States had "lost [its] mind." Sound familiar?


Albright criticized the "axis of evil" designation as a simplistic, "cookie-cutter approach. Those three countries, specifically, are quite different from each other." But as events are shaping up, President Bush's grouping of the three rogue nations doesn't look quite so incongruous anymore. I'm sure you've read by now that Saddam Hussein really did have WMD.


Moreover, now that we've deposed Saddam Hussein, Iran and North Korea are looking more alike every day, especially in their belligerence toward the United States. I wonder if liberals would mind if we redesignated North Korea and Iraq as twin monsters? They are each run by terrorists and sympathetic to other terrorists who might do their bidding against America. They are each hellbent on developing WMD, including nuclear weapons and delivery systems. They have each demanded talks with the United States alone.


But these monsters may be offended if we call them monsters. So let's not agitate them. Let's not make the monsters mad. Let's quit making the whole world mad. We must do something to reverse our falling poll numbers in Europe. And we must negotiate with each of the monsters alone, excluding European countries from the talks. (Sorry, I know that last line sounds off-script from those who have been insisting on multilateralism and the inclusion of Europe. But that is, indeed, what many Democrats have been demanding.)


Perhaps the reason these monsters want to negotiate with just America is simply to divide (us from Europe) and conquer (discredit us). By peeling us off from Europe, they can blame any breakdowns in the respective negotiations on the evil United States.


That strategy makes perfect sense from the monsters' perspective. But why in the world would Democrats advocate such a self-destructive approach for America? Don't ask me. Try the guy with the British accent. He would probably have better insight on the matter.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo., is the author of, most recently, "Persecution: How Liberals Are Waging War Against Christianity". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles