Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 9, 2006 / 11 Iyar, 5766

Fatherly lessons from President Ahmadinejad

By David Limbaugh


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | What is most noteworthy about Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad's rambling letter to President Bush is that certain people actually want to treat it as a good faith effort to open up a dialogue between our two nations and believe President Bush should jump at the opportunity.


The Associated Press presents it in that light and points to Ahmadinejad's desire "to build on a shared faith in G-d," even though the letter is a scathing indictment of the American government, which Ahmadinejad says is the object of an "ever-increasing global hatred."


Those trifles aside, the AP observes, wistfully, that "Ahmadinejad strikes the tone of a man who is troubled by a friend's actions and decides to sit down and give him a little advice." Yes, the benevolent dictator "delivered U.S. President George W. Bush a history lesson, philosophy lecture and religious sermon laced with references to Jesus Christ."


Liberal talk show hosts Bill Press and Thom Hartmann also regarded the letter as "thoughtful" and containing "good ideas." Likewise, television hosts Matt Lauer and Charlie Gibson were impressed that Ahmadinejad initiated direct communications with our government for the first time in 27 years. Why would the administration reject this "overture"?


Sen. Dianne Feinstein also saw it as an "overture" that we shouldn't ignore. We must show a willingness "to talk and to negotiate," she said. "I think bluster and arrogance does not befit the United States."


We could easily surmise that Ahmadinejad's letter was designed solely to unite the Arab street against the United States. But given the liberals' reaction, we might be forced to conclude the despot was wooing the left side of the American street as well.


Leave it to the American left to play right into the hands of yet another of America's sworn enemies by treating this raving zealot who denies the Holocaust occurred and has called for Israel to be wiped off the map as a respectable statesman.


Is it any coincidence this letter was fired off at a time when the United States and, to a lesser extent, other nations are pressuring Iran to cease and desist its nuclear program?


The AP and fawning liberals can swoon over Ahmadinejad's gracious history lesson to President Bush, but the main history lesson Ahmadinejad has learned is the incalculable value in turning America against itself in the war on terror. If he can present himself as a leader earnestly seeking diplomatic solutions with the United States and paint the United States as the recalcitrant, "arrogant" empire who refuses to reason, he is miles ahead.


The Bush administration has correctly dismissed his disjointed missive as propaganda and is wisely refusing to take the bait. You can't take this man's diatribe seriously — as a sincere "overture" to begin discussions.


If you still need a reminder of how dangerous it would be to have Democrats in charge of our national security, you should compare Secretary Rice's reaction to the letter to that of former Clinton administration Secretary of State, now author and weightlifter, Madeleine Albright.


Albright said the United States should counter Iran's nuclear threat with direct talks instead of "saber rattling." She assured us the issues Ahmadinejad raised in his letter are "not irrelevant." Does she mean we should seriously discuss with him Israel's right to exist or better yet — beg his forgiveness for attacking Iraq under false pretenses?


More importantly, be advised that what Albright means by "direct talks" is that the United States ought to communicate one on one with Iran, rather than involving other nations.


In the first place, the United States isn't saber rattling. I've yet to hear President Bush say that we were going to invade Iran if it didn't discontinue its nuclear program. Secondly, to suggest that this madman has legitimate grievances that can be resolved through a little schmoozing is shockingly naive.


If I didn't know better — and I don't — I might think Albright and other leading liberal lights were setting a trap for President Bush. While they've savaged him for years for his reckless "unilateralism" and alienating our allies, they're now proposing we engage in unilateralism and alienate our allies.


Of course, we didn't approach Iraq unilaterally, but worked tirelessly to build a larger international coalition. If we were to assume the role of sole negotiator with Iran, we would be letting the U.N. and other nations off the hook and setting ourselves up to take the blame when diplomatic efforts fail. Liberals would blame Bush for failed diplomacy and any ensuing military action — by the United States or other nations.


Liberals are showing their true colors again for all to see. No amount of provocation is ever enough for them. We just need a little more sensitivity training. We just need to open our eyes, hearts and minds to the "very good ideas" of this "thoughtful" Iranian "teacher."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

David Limbaugh, a columnist and attorney practicing in Cape Girardeau, Mo., is the author of, most recently, "Persecution: How Liberals Are Waging War Against Christianity". (Click HERE to purchase. Sales help fund JWR.) Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2005, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles