Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

The World’s First Murder: A Closer Look at Cain and Abel — The Case of the Laughing Rabbi

By Rabbi David Fohrman


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article

To sophisticated moderns, the Bible can sometimes seem like a collection of fairy tales. No longer.

Combining a careful reading of the text with ancient rabbinic analysis, the author takes us behind the scenes in Scripture, revealing a startling tapestry of meaning in stories that many have written-off as fiction.

As before, he has designed the series to be interactive. You are encouraged to pose questions and offer comments. Try to stump the rabbi — he'll respond!

The eleventh in a series

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Why did G-d create the world?

 

It's not just an idle, philosophical question. From a religious standpoint, this innocent, child-like query packs a big theological wallop. For if G-d is a perfect Being, a being who has no needs, then why would He bother creating a universe? What could a universe possibly give to a Being who doesn't need anything at all?

 

In the beginning of the 18th century, a Jewish thinker by the name of Rabbi Moshe Chayim Luzzatto proposed what has become a classic answer to this dilemma. His answer is deceptively simple. Luzzatto says that G-d created the world in order to be capable of love.  

 

The words seem like a cliché, sort of like the "G-d is Love" bumper sticker you might see plastered to the back of someone's rusting VW Beatle; but rest assured that Luzzatto lived long before the beatniks, and he meant what he said seriously. His argument goes as follows:

 

One of the axioms that most religions, Judaism included, accepts about G-d is that He is good. But those are just words. What does it actually mean to be good? One of the things it means, Luzzatto says, is that one acts to benefit others. If there is no world, though, then there are no others that G-d can benefit; He exists alone in numinous solitude. G-d acted to create a world so that there would be other beings existing besides Himself, beings upon whom He could bestow goodness.

 

In short, G-d created the world because goodness demanded it.

 

The Laughing Rabbi

 

Now, for many years, I didn't have the foggiest idea of what Luzzatto was talking about. I had problems with it. Let's leave aside the question of suffering for a moment - why, in a world created out of love, there is so much hurt and pain. Let's assume that there are answers out there, somewhere, to that. I was troubled by an even more fundamental difficulty. How did Luzzatto solve anything? If G-d is not supposed to have any needs, then he shouldn't have a "need" to do good, to bestow kindness. If G-d has that need, it puts us right back to where we started from: How could a perfect Being have needs; how could He be missing something?

 

I vividly remember making this point once to the dean of the yeshiva where I studied. The dean's name was Rabbi Yaakov Weinberg, may he rest in peace, and I was sitting in a couch his office, arguing my case as forcefully as I could. I gave an example to illustrate my point. Let's say a woman saves her child from death by throwing herself in front of an oncoming car to shield him. She walks away with injuries, but none as profound as the hurt she would feel had she allowed her child to die. So in the final analysis, she acted out of need, didn't she? I was arguing, really, that there was no such thing as pure altruism, as acting solely for the benefit of others. Every altruistic act expresses a need within the person doing it, and therefore, it is the doer, not just the receiver, who benefits from it.

 

When I finished making my points, I awaited Rabbi Weinberg's response. As best as I can remember the conversation, he didn't answer me. Instead, he just sat across from me, and then he started laughing. When my attempts to get him to elaborate failed, he finally spoke. "One day", he said, "I would understand," and then, with a good natured nod, he beckoned me to the door. Our meeting was over.

 

Solving the Case of the Laughing Rabbi

 

It has taken me a while to understand the meaning of Rabbi Weinberg's laughter. But I think I finally see what he was getting at. He was alluding to the point I left you to ponder last week.

 

We talked last week about the word teshukah, and suggested that the sages of the Midrash see it as denoting a desire not based upon need. The idea, of course, seems like an oxymoron: All desires seem to come from my not having something I want. But looks are deceiving. There really are radically different desires out there in the world, desires that do not come from a sense of lack whatsoever. Where do they come from, and what makes them tick?

 

Ironically enough, they come from the very opposite of "need". They come from a sense of fullness. To give an analogy, they express not the desire of the half empty glass to be full, but the desire of a full glass to overflow.

 

Desires based on fullness are every bit as real as those based on need. In fact, one might argue, they are felt even more intensely than those based on need. Consider the following statement made by the rabbis of the Talmud:

 

 More than the calf wants to suckle, the mother wants to nurse (Babylonian Talmud, Pesachim 112a).

 

Both the calf and the mother have desires. The calf is missing something; it needs nutrition from its mother. The mother, on the other hand, "needs" nothing. Nevertheless, it is her desire that is the stronger one. Desires based upon fullness dwarf in passion and intensity mere need-based desires.

 

The Nature of Love; The Essence of Teaching

 

To get a better handle on the notion of a "fullness-based" desire, let's talk about an example or two.    

 

What do we mean when we talk about "love"? Different people mean different things. Some people, when they say "I love her", mean, "she fulfills my needs rather nicely". She laughs at my jokes, cooks great meals, and makes me feel comfortable. But love is not just about being fed and feeling understood. On a higher plane, love is not just about what I need, but what I can give. Love means not just that I'm happy you serve my needs, but that I appreciate who you are in and of yourself, independent of what I get from you. When I love in that kind of way my love comes not from lack but from fullness. My affection for you doesn't come solely from your ability to fill the holes in my personality, but from the desire of a mature human being to give what he can to someone he admires and values.

 

The impulse to teach is another example of this kind of desire. The sages of the Talmud have nasty things to say about people who study their whole lives but never teach others. Why? I'll give you a theory. In Hebrew, the verb "to teach" (l'lamed) is identical to the verb "to study" (lilmod), except that the latter, "to study", is the intensive form of the verb - what's known as its piel conjugation(1). When you stop to think about it, this says something profound about what it means to teach. Teaching is nothing but "studying intensively". When one is so passionate about something he is studying that he can't help but overflow and share what he has discovered with others - well, that's teaching.

 

Since teaching is just a further point on a continuum that begins with studying, it follows that when one studies and studies, but never teaches, something is broken inside. Study that never has the potential to flower into teaching is somehow, not the real thing.  

 

Male and Female Desire

 

There are four primal teshukahs in the world, say the sages. There are four beings full of life-force, seeking to overflow and share that gift of life with others. One of those beings is G-d. It should come as no surprise that a perfect Being would experience, rather intensely, the desire we call teshukah. The Almighty loves not because He is needy but because He is full. He wants to share that fullness with others. And to that end, He created a world.

 

Another being possessed with life-force is rain. The land is parched without rain, the land needs rain - but it is rain that experiences teshukah for land. Rain wants to give land what it can. Rain becomes meaningful because of its ability to nourish and to share itself with land. Without land, rain is frustrated, restless. The desire of rain to give life to land is intense.

 

Another great teshukah in the world, say the sages, is the desire of the feminine for the masculine. What is the nature of this desire?

 

To be sure, both men and women desire one another - but they do so for different reasons. Let's talk about men. In traditional Jewish marriage, a man gives a ring to a woman, not the other way around. The reason for this is that a verse in Deuteronomy (22:13) describes the man as the active partner, the one who "takes" a woman as his wife. Now, this might strike some as sexist, but I don't think the ancient sages saw it this way. Fiifteen centuries or so ago, the Sages of the Talmud wondered about that verse in Deuteronomy; why, they asked, does the Torah state "when a man shall take a woman…", why is he, not she, cast as the active partner in marriage and courtship?

 

Here is their answer:

 

It is comparable to a person who lost something. Who goes searching after who? I would say: The person who lost something searches after that which they lost (Babylonian Talmud, Kiddushin, 3b).

 

Donate to JWR


The sages are alluding to something in this cryptic statement. Remember, the verse in Deuteronomy talks about a man "taking" a woman. Keep that word in your head as you flip through the first couple chapters of Genesis. If you search for the very first occurrences of the word "take" in the Bible, you will come across the following verse:

 

And [the Lord] took one of Adam's ribs, closed up his skin, and built [the rib] he had taken from man, into woman… (Genesis, 2:20-21).\

 

When a man "takes" a woman in marriage, what he is really doing is taking back his lost rib. A person who experiences a loss is the one who searches for that which he lost. The masculine desires the feminine because a man understands, on some basic level, that he is missing his lost feminine side, and he is seeking to reunite with her.

 

The feminine desires the masculine for other reasons. The feminine does not have, imprinted on her soul, the sense that she is missing something without a man. Woman was created as a whole being, and she does not experience that same, masculine, sense of lack within herself. Instead, the feminine desires the masculine out of teshukah. The feminine - like rain and like G-d - embodies a mysterious life force, and she seeks to give that gift to the masculine.

 


The Talmud takes for granted that, generally speaking, women want to get married more than men do. This assumption should not surprise us. Desires based upon fullness are always more intense than desires based merely upon lack.

 

"Its Desire Is Unto You…"

 

We are now, I think, in a position to understand what G-d was saying to Cain in the moments before he murdered Abel. He was talking to Cain about his Evil Inclination, and he was telling him something both startling and profound. There is a fourth primal teshukah in the world. It is the teshukah, Cain, that your Evil Inclination has for you. 

 

What G-d was telling Cain forces us to redefine our very notion of the Evil Inclination. When we think of the Evil Inclination, we tend to think of something, well, evil. We imagine some sort of devil bent on getting us to stray, or we imagine a dark part of our soul trying to corrupt us. But that's not how G-d portrays it here. Is it possible that the Evil Inclination, like the Almighty Himself, like rain, like femininity, has a powerful life force to share? That it is a neutral, even benevolent force? It seems paradoxical. Why, then, would we call it "evil"? But not all paradoxes are false.

 

For those of you who were with me for our last series of articles, Serpents of Desire: Good and Evil in the Garden of Eden, this approach to the "Evil Inclination" will not seem entirely foreign to you. When we return next week, in what perhaps will be the final installment in this series (I emphasize the word "perhaps"), we will examine more carefully this notion of the Evil Inclination, and the relationship that Cain is being asked to build with it. In so doing, I think we will finally understand why the story of Cain is so intimately related to the Tree of Knowledge, and why the unique challenges facing Cain are nothing more than the misbegotten step-children of its fruits.


(1) Piel verbs are the same as their regular counterparts, just more intense versions of them. For example: Shavar means “to break”; shiber, the piel form, means “to smash”.


Comment by clicking here.

Yes, send a note. We're waiting to hear from you!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

The rabbi’s earlier series of articles, “Serpents of Desire: Good and Evil in the Garden of Eden”, is now available as an e-book from jewishexplorations.com. Soon, the rabbi will be starting an exciting new series of online classes, complete with lectures, slide-shows, and discussion. Check back at jewishexplorations.com in the weeks ahead to pre-register.


Previously:

Can desire be divorced from need?
Cain and the kitten
The keys to the heavenly cookie jar
Thomas Edison and the glassblower
What kind of 'with'?
Living the dream of Eve
Blood on the ground
Echoes of Eden
The enigmatic genius of Cain
A Closer Look at Cain and Abel
Sure, the Bible is holy, but does it really mean anything?


© 2005, Rabbi David Fohrman