Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 28, 2007 / 19 Teves 5768

If you stop making hay it could be the last straw

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Just before my father Mel died 14 years ago, he told me in his weak, cancer stricken voice, "I could have done so much more with my life." I disagreed with him vehemently and together we reviewed his accomplishments. The most important was the great childhood he gave my brother and I and the loyal husband he was to our mother Millie, for almost fifty years.


He did plenty, from sports to business to coaching.


My father grew up with an older brother in the back of a candy store on the west side of Chicago. He was raised by his mother Rose, a young widow. He didn't go to college. I'm pretty sure he didn't even finish high school; however he was a voracious reader, artist, comedian, and a writer. In business, he was an imaginative and provocative promoter.


He was right, though. He could have done more.


He could have explored his other talents or stayed more active in business…or both.


Dad's statement had a profound effect on me. Soon after my father's death, I began writing one-liners that were published in the media. Later I penned columns that have been printed in newspapers and internet sites. I also ventured into the hotel business, while maintaining my other businesses.


Not everything worked, but because of Dad's regrets, I was determined to keep my mind open to opportunity.

THE SECRET TO A RICH LIFE IS TO HAVE MORE BEGINNINGS THAN ENDINGS.
As I have breached upper middle age, I've noticed some of my friends staying with the old grind, determined to do so until the day they die.


Last week I was a pall bearer to a dear friend and contemporary who, as they say, died with his boots on. He toiled until he was too sick to work and died one week after his last day on the job. That was his choice and I believe he was happy with it. He originally felt under par after his third expedition on a golf course in a week. As I always say, better stricken swinging a wedge than pruning a hedge.


What you do in the second half of life shouldn't necessarily be a financial decision. If you can't live on SS or other sources, you may have to continue earning. If you do work, however, do something you always wanted to do or stay with what you always loved. The clearest way to misery is to do something that you hate!


Also, include your spouse. Get into what she does and encourage her to involve herself in your passions.

BETTER LOSES THAN REGRETS
The classic example of a productive life is George Burns. He started performing at age seven as Nate Birnbaum and continued until very close to his death at 100.


Too bad, because he was booked at Caesar's in Vegas on his 100th.


After a busy and successful career and the death of his partner and the love of his life, Gracie, Burns kept plugging away. His biggest hits came AFTER he was 79.


He once said, "The happiest people I know are still performing. The saddest are the ones are retired."


For me, it's been staying in the business I love, while turning over more and more to my children. That has allowed me to explore whatever other talent G-d may have bestowed upon me. I still spend plenty of time with wife, kids and grandchildren, while golfing when time allows. But the key is I want them to see someone that looks at the possibilities of life and doesn't hide from them, just because the tooth has grown longer.


After all, the example you set in life is the most important inheritance you can leave your children.


So go ahead. What do you have to lose except regrets on your deathbed?


If you make it to 100, you might just get booked at Caesar's.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles