Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 3, 2007 / 23 Kislev 5768

Hear about the Liberal Who Stopped Whining About the 2000 Election?

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Neither have I.


But after the power shift in congress last year, there may be some hope. Dems have tasted power and control and are now eating their own. The liberal controlled congress has the lowest ratings in history, twice as low as Bush…and in record time. Sure they don't have the super majority needed to override vetoes and the 60 votes needed to pass Senate approval, but when they ran they promised to end the war. In cased you're from Branson, the war is still on.


On the other hand, a closely defeated 2000 presidential candidate, Al Gore, has triumphantly made it back to the White House. Bill's ex-VP was invited by President Bush, along with a gaggle of other Nobel Prize winners and then cordoned off for a 40-minute private audience.


Bush has a knack of embracing those who are particularly nasty toward him. Take the one-way love fest between him and Senator Teddy Kennedy, or his cordiality toward Nancy Pelosi.


Why isn't this civility reciprocated?


I trace it back to that fateful 2000 election, as aggravated by Bill Clinton's impeachment.


What snapped in the minds and hearts of our lefty friends when this election was finally conceded by Gore?


Contrarians drink to remember


For the sake of a little self examination, let's declare opposite day at the Y2K polls.


How would I feel if Gore had won the same way; a 5-4 Supreme Court decision blocking further recounts when Gores' lead was in the hundreds? What if Bush won the popular vote? Also, what if my suspicions of cheatin' were exasperated by Florida Governor Seymour Gore, Al's brother? Then we have to pretend that the Democrat Florida Secretary of State, Anita Vote, was in charge of stopping all recounts. Yeah, I'd be ticked too...for a little while.


But then consider that my candidate would have been VP for eight years under a controversial, yet popular president.


After my initial misgivings I'd ask how my guy could be so incompetent that the election came down to those few hundred votes. I'd reflect back on the three debates he lost.


How can you ID a politician in a snowball fight? He's the one throwing curveballs.


Then, I THINK, I'd get over it. The one thing certain in American politics is that there are cheaters on all sides. The election frauds have gone on since the country was founded. I'm not going out on a limb when I predict the thievery will go on.


Author Andrew Gumbel explains the US history of close and controversial elections in his book, Steal This Vote. He points out that John Quincy Adams lifted the election from Andrew Jackson in 1824; Rutherford Hayes cheated his way to the 1876 election at the expense of Samuel Tilden. In 1960 John F. Kennedy, using father Joe's connections with the Mob, bought off West Virginia to pilfer the nomination from Hubert Humphrey. Then through the miracles of the Daley led Illinois Democratic Party, hundreds of thousands were resurrected from the dead to vote the donkey ticket. Yep, we didn't have Richard Nixon to kick around for another eight years.


Being from Chicago, I can identify with the Kennedy election.


My ancestors are restored to life every four years, but only to vote. Without having consulted their favorite and possibly only conservative son, they voted for the latest "Daley" for mayor and whatever other democratic flak was running for office, including the presidency. They never even stopped by for cake and coffee! Oy Vey!!


Now that should really tick me off! But hey, I've found that the best cure for an old grudge is a bad memory; almost as appalling as the Clintons' forgetting their positions on the Iraqi war.


The moral to this story is when you have your opponent struggling for election air put a garden hose down his throat.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles