Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 23, 2007 / 13 Kislev 5768

The swift boating of the English language

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | You're a swiftboater, I'm a swiftboater, everybody's a swiftboater. The all encompassing phrase for any political zapping; real, potential, or imagined, has been funneled into one label, swiftboating. No longer used much as a noun, this verb has become overused to the point of triteness and acceptance as appropriate English.


Language is the child of overused slang


Ain't that the low-down!?


For the record a review of who and what actual swift boaters stood for is in order.


They took umbrage when fellow swiftie, Senator Kerry, decided he was going to run for president as a gung ho war hero. Kerry based this premise on his four month tour in Vietnam as a junior Lieutenant. You remember his response as the presidential nominee at the 2004 Democratic Convention, "John Kerry, reporting for duty", while saluting the cheering throngs.


Quoting from their website www.swiftvets.com/, "Swift Vets and POWS for Truth has been formed to counter the false "war crimes" charges John Kerry repeatedly made against Vietnam veterans who served in our units and elsewhere and to accurately portray Kerry's brief tour in Vietnam."


They wrote "Unfit for Command" to truly depict that history. Many think it cost Senator Kerry the presidential election.


Of course the real reason Kerry lost was his incompetence at politically handling the accurate accusations of the Swifties.

Donate to JWR


Ex-Senator Democrat Bob Kerrey of Nebraska advised John Kerry to fess up to mistakes as a young and zealous man and apologize to the veterans he had so blithely libeled. If Kerry had fessed up, we'd be calling him Mr. President and dealing with his reelection. His honor wasn't beseeched as much as his dishonor was revealed.


That being said, after trying to for deferment as a student in Paris failed, he did enlist in the Navy and did serve in Vietnam. His failure to humble himself in light of his mistakes revealed a character flaw that most Americans found untenable in their elected leader.


As friend and interviewer, Don Imus asked after Senator Kerry asserted that the Book, "Unfit for Command", was a "pack of lies" if he had read the book. Kerry answered with a feeble "No."


The result? A new word has thrust itself into our vocabulary; swiftboating.


Bill Clinton is trying to protect his wife from being swiftboated. Obama is attempting to avoid swifboating by the Clinton political machine.


Congressman and veteran John Murtha swiftboated marines by accusing them of murder in Iraq, then refused to apologize when they were exonerated. Now that's some piled on swiftboating.


New York Times Columnist, Frank Rich, accused Karl Rove of swiftboating antiwar activist Cindy Sheehan. Wonder if he followed up the swiftboating delivered to Sheehan as a result of her banishment from meeting with the Democrats version of the Queen, Her Highness, Hillary Clinton?


I went to a silent auction, but a mime got all the good stuff


Man, I'm getting tired of this bastardation of the English language. How are we to expect our aliens, legal or otherwise, to learn English if we keep reinventing it?


For me, I'm going to hang with my bobos while the world contemplates the ginormous telenovela being portrayed in America today.


For all I care, the pols can all flex-cuff themselves while ingesting nocebos and sing themselves to sleep with their crunk.


I'll be snacking on my agnolotti while I google research for my next article about Yellowcake and its andropause effect on the male population.


Then I'm going to climb into my abaya and chill for the Thanksgiving Holiday.


Put that in your viewshed and avoid the smackdown!


(Thanks to Reader's Digest, Word Power test on new words in the dictionary, December '07 issue, for totally destroying the veracity of my computer's spell-check. Hey, while you're in there, look on page 158 top right, Dave Weinbaum.)

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles