Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov. 7, 2008 / 9 Mar-Cheshvan 5769

A celebaration of the greatest country in the world

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Congratulations to Barack Hussein Obama, his wife and first lady, Michelle, his running mate, Joe Biden, wife Jill and all their families. You are MY truly and fairly elected leaders for the next four years. I wish you the wisdom to lead us wisely in a tough world and the sense to reach out and get help from the best minds this country has to offer, liberal or conservative.


"We're all drinking from the same water fountain now."
      —   Ex New York City Mayor and African American, David Dinkins


Obama's and my ideas about governance are polar opposites. However, I can savor the most important of this election's accomplishments from a different perspective; the symbolism of what this means to Black Americans. As much as I dislike the politics of race, I can't help but cheer the pride of what most Black Americans believe is a vindication of themselves in America as Americans.


If many Black Americans felt like outsiders all their lives because of this countries' use and abuse of their ancestors as slaves, and their subsequent struggle against discrimination, they now have an insider, a man of dark skin, an African father and white mother, in the White House.


Also, at a time when our country is at war with many people of Arabic names, to elect someone with a moniker like Barack Hussein Obama is amazing. Look at the similarities: Saddam Hussein, Osama bin Ladin, Barack Hussein Obama. I don't think Afghanistan or Iran will be electing anyone with the name Bush, Cheney, Clinton, McCain or Weinbaum any time soon, do you?


"A man can't ride you unless your back is bent."       —  Martin Luther King


Soon the symbolism will wear off. The graciousness of election night acceptance and concession speeches will fade. President Obama will be held to the results of his administration, as he executes his new job, the leader of the free world.


With that new found sense of pride, any black that didn't already believe it, can see that in the USA you can be anything you want if you're persistent, talented, and yes, lucky. With that understanding goes responsibility for ones' own efforts, unless a law is violated. Failure and success for blacks will be based on what the rest of America deals with in their lives from election day forward.


Having enemies is overrated


Take a moment, reach over your Democratic neighbor's fence, buy him a drink, get him his newspaper, and give him a high five and/or a hug…for one day. Let him know that our differences stop at one thing, the election of a new president, our renewal of the republic for which we stand.


Yes I know. It wasn't reciprocal when Bush was elected twice. We can go back to battle at the proper time and place. For now, let's set the bar high for our inevitable comeback.


This moment should be used to relish our country's democracy and the ability it's had to peacefully elect 221 years of governments without a revolution, except for the Civil War. That wars' purpose was to prevent the South from ripping itself apart from the Union in order to keep the right to possess other humans as property. One could say this election was the final chapter of the most costly war in American History. It was no accident that Obama referred to Republican Abraham Lincoln in his victory speech.


Never point a finger when you can lend a hand


Conservatives, first and foremost retract the claws from John McCain and Sarah Palin.


Next week, wipe off your tears, sit down with your contemporaries and analyze your performance. Be honest with yourselves.


Then vote your strategy amongst yourselves, get everybody on board, and EXECUTE YOUR PLAN.


After celebrating America's renewal today, I intend to return to analyzing what I think is in the best interest of our shared destinies as I welcome and respond to critical comments to the best of my abilities.


As Yakov Smirnoff declared, "WHAT A COUNTRY!"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles