Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 26, 2008 / 26 Elul 5768

Rock, paper, scissors; Eagles and Beatles

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Rock, Paper, Scissors was a silly little guessing game we played as kids. Rock crushes scissors, scissors cuts paper, paper covers rock.

Recently our time is taken up with a lot of things in the air, the economy, debates, candidates in their big jets hovering between the White House and Mississippi, and Sarah Palin's beehive.

My diversion?

Who was (is) the best Rock and Roll Band of all time?

In the movie "Animal House," when the frat boys couldn't get out of a self created mess, they took a road trip.

Like McCain, I'm taking a break from the campaign to decide an issue that has plagued music lovers forever...or at least for the last 40 years.

Before you face the music know the score.

To save you the time of going through the hundreds of rocky ensembles, I've taken the liberty of narrowing the choice to my two favs, The Beatles and the Eagles.

I can see hands wringing and hear snide cackles resonate. "What the heck does that Weinbaum guy know about music?" "What about the Rolling Stones, Jefferson Airplane, the Doors, and this band and that group!? What would the King say?"

I admit it. I'm just an average fan...but I have a column. To be fair, if you dare to disagree with my choice, you may write in your pick with some supporting evidence. If I get enough responses, I'll make a column out of it. How's THAT for democracy?

Wifey Joni scored two reasonably priced tickets to last Saturday's Eagle's concert in St. Louis. They were grand seats right by the stage, 2nd row, slightly elevated. Previously I had seen the Eagles five years ago in that same arena.

As Glen Frey welcomed us to the Assisted Living Tour, the Eagles (named for their respect of the Byrds) began to play a strategic mix of standards and new stuff.

And DID they play and DID they sing! These late, middle-aged wonders were tight. Instrumentals mixed perfectly with voice. We experienced a crescendo of amazing beat and lyric. As Joni and I danced and sang in the aisles with the rest of the crowd, we noticed youth alongside baby boomer, trying to keep pace.

What a party!

During intermission, the guy sitting next to me went and snared Glen Frey's guitar pick. It was as if he had found the Holy Grail. This old guy actually swooned. I almost had to call the medics.

Some rockers are bred; Joe Walsh is sauteed

Now in my best Howard Cosell, "Let's go to the tale of the tape (CD, LP, Tours, etc.)

  • Years together: Beatles 13 years. Eagles 23 years. Advantage Eagles.

  • Diversity of music: Beatles adapted R & R, Gospel, Elvis, and Indian. Eagles went from country lite to Rock and roll with much in between. Advantage Beatles.

  • Tours: Beatles pioneered modern tours. Eagles perfected it: Advantage Eagles

  • Controversy: Lennon claiming Beatles were more popular than Jesus. Fights with Paul, Yoko, Linda leading to break up and lawsuits. Standing up Imelda Marcos and barely escaping Philippines with their lives minus purse. Eagle's Felder suit, losing members Felder, Meisner, and Leadon. band breaking up for 14 years,: Advantage Beatles.

  • Persistence: Eagles...They came back from adversity and are still playing and creating.

  • Instrumentals: Eagles horns down.

  • Personalities: Ringo vs. Joe Walsh, Glenn vs. John, Don Henly Vs. Paul, Schmidt vs. Harrison. Got to go with Eagles.

You can probably see where this is going. Mind you that I've been in awe of the Beatles for the last four decades. I still sing "Yellow Submarine" with my now grown children, and I karaoke "Sun King." Joni's and my wedding song was "When I'm 64."

But now I'm humming "Desperado" and singing "Hotel California" along with the newer and just as addicting Eagles tunes.

While I'm not abandoning the Fab Four, I have to conclude that based on the evidence, rocks crush scissors and Eagles eat Beatles.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles