Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 19, 2006 / 26 Elul, 5766

Do Dems convert to Bushbots in booth?

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain"— The Wizard of Oz

Despite loony left conspirator enthusiasts, Ohio has finally been conceded by c-BS. Yep, Bush actually won that election, despite the debate Senator Kerry seems to be having with himself.


What never added up was the inconsistency of the exit polls. Early returns from Ohio foretold a Kerry massacre. Yet we still address GWB as Mr. President.


How could this be?


Here's the answer.


It depends on what the meaning of the word "vote" is
Democrat/liberal/supposed Bush haters lied to the pollsters. Once the curtain was drawn, in the privacy of the booth, they voted their true conscious, or maybe just their hidden capitalistic avarice. But when the exit questions came, they fibbed like the true Clintonites they are. Maybe they parsed responses as meaningless gestures as long as they gave lip service to the cause.


Examples are rife within my own family. My cousins from Chicago, Michael and Susan (not their real names) are both double PhDs. Susan runs a college and Michael is a famous psychiatrist, and tenured English Lit Professor. They're great people and I love them, but are so liberal; they think Howard Dean is right wing. They travel hundreds of miles in their tinny tangerine gas efficient Volvo to stay a day or two at my house every year on their way to vacation in New Mexico, just to demolish their conservative Cuz, me.


My odds are low facing these two Mensa Mafiosi. When I asked Susan just what it was that made her hate Bush, she said, "He's stupid." When I asked how she knew this, her response was, "Everyone knows this," with an upward roll of her eyeballs.


Mike and I go round and round on abortion. Finally, I attained a small victory when I convinced him of the obvious evil of late term abortion.


Then, after I subdued his Lib loquaciousness with an amazingly potent merlot, he fessed up. Seems, as a businessman/psychiatrist he liked Bush's tax cuts. No, he didn't admit voting for Dubya, but indicated that it was a possibility. Without benefit of merlot buzz, or friendly confines of a relative's home, do you think Dr. Mike would admit to voting Republican to a pimple faced innocent Democratic youth Bush hater?


Could Susan have followed suit after Mike talked to her of their impending financial windfall? To her, admitting to voting for the "brain-dead" Bush would be tantamount to opposing the NEA in public.

"Can't we all just get along?" — Rodney King
Then there's my Cousin, Ted, also a Chicagoan. He's of a mind that we can talk with al-Qeada, feel their pain, show sensitivity, and Walla; we can all hold hands around the campfire and sing Kumbaya.


Any chance he got, he blasted Bush…that is, until Hezbollah, started lobbing ball baring Katushas into Israeli civilian areas. The worm turned on this issue. Guess he saw the run and cut Democrats as pulling the plug on our only trustworthy ally in the Middle East.


He could have voted for Bush, had he sensed this in 2004. Admit it? Not in the name of Lenin, not even Putin! He now fills my e-mail with tough anti-terrorist, anti Islamofacist essays.


Teddy has turned.

You can't build a legacy sitting on the fence
When you're in the voting confines on November 7th, or in future elections, remember the Clintonese efforts to play hide and seek with history.


Anyone with an open mind, watching the hubris Clinton and his cronies raised over the Disney/ABC 9/11 presentation, had to wonder what he was so distressed about. After watching it, one can only speculate why he wanted to bring more attention to his administrations' irrefutable lameness. Terrorists attacked us time after time after time during his scandal ridden 8 years as president. His response ranged from nothing to ridiculous.


The house of mouse outted Clinton and the Democrats for the horrible position they left our country in.


Aussies are taking revenge on innocent stingrays for the one that attacked and killed Steve Irwin the crocodile man, killing at least 10 so far. No conspiracy or cooperation was alleged amongst the Ray Clan to murder Irwin.


Knowing Bubba's track record, if I were Mickey and Minnie, I'd apply for the Witness Protection Program…especially Minnie.


Moral of the story? Listen to advice; vote your conscious.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles