Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 18, 2009 / 29 Elul 5769

Put a fork in Obamacare now!

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I dated a mathematician until she became too divisive

First an algebraic certainty: Health Redistribution (sounds a lot like wealth redistribution hmmmmmmmm) minus lack of funds minus enough doctors to handle 30 to 47 million more patients (depending on the number de jour of our Dear Leader) minus 45% of doctors threatening retirement if Obamacare is enacted minus a half trillion dollars in cuts to Medicare and Medicade plus six billion dollars in new taxes on insurance companies = Government-run HC(health care) = rationing = death panels = the last straw of an overstretched economy and patience of Americans. Credit for the formula goes to my cousin and Oxford Professor, Dr. Izzy Moreironic, PHD, MD and summa cum laude BSER .


Stick that formula in your iPods and BlackBerries Yahlie and Hahvad grads!



I refer to BOTH bills, House 3200 and the lonely Max Baucus Senate Bill. I have three problems with these plans:


  • It'll enact the most chilling unconstitutional government encroachment on our liberty, privacy and freedom in American history.

  • We couldn't afford the porkulus bill. These HC PODs (Pile of Debts) put our economy so far in arrears our children will be the new slum dogs, recruited to sell flowers on the streets of Beijing, Mecca and Mumbai.

  • Did I mention, it'll enact the most chilling unconstitutional government encroachment on our liberty, privacy and freedom in American history?


Forget for a moment that the UK and Canadian governments are running…I mean ruining their HC.


Forget for a moment that the incoming and outgoing presidents of the Canadian Medical Association have declared their state-run HC system on the verge of "imploding."


Forget for a moment that doctors from the UK recently reported that millions of seniors in England have had treatment withheld by the government and thousands have died prematurely. THEY labeled it "euthanasia".


Forget for a moment that Obamacare is about as clear as what the "Bush Doctrine" was to Sarah Palin and Charlie "ACORN is a mystery to me" Gibson.


Don't forget "co-ops" and "triggers" are sewer lines straight into the scum pond of government run HC.


After 159,789 HC speeches Obama has spewed, I'll dare anyone, including the President, to bestow us with the details of his plan. If it was so important to Barack, why didn't he write the legislation and send it to Congress? What the heck are all those czars doing anyway, rehearsing their fall TV reality show, Dancing with the Cossacks?


If the camel's nose gets under the tent, kiss your liberty goodbye


Baucus' plan will kill the insurance business as sure as the House Bill. It'll raise costs so high that government-run insurance will be the only option.


I don't care how old you are or what religion, race or disease you have, no one, not even the President of the United States, should be even in the vicinity of anyone who is going to judge whether you have the right to treatment.


Is that the most economical way?


Probably not.


But whose business is it except you, your doctor and your family? It certainly isn't impersonal bastards who the state has elevated to G-d-like decisions. And it definitely isn't the business of our Dear Leader or his population control kooks he's surrounded himself with: Zeke "No Country for Old People" Emanuel and John "I'll you an abortion you can't refuse" Holdren. These decisions are beyond all their pay grades. I'd rather not open the door to the fascistic medical practices of Germany and Italy in the 30's for this or future administrations. How about you?


In any final health bill we must make sure that the morons who funnel our money to ACORN, while replacing capitalism with socialism, can't have anything remotely like a government option or any of its stealthy funnels.


Malpractice insurance tort reform is like a talented drunk. Its potential is staggering.


My solution?


  • Provide for competition over state lines for insurance companies--a sure-fire premium saver.

  • Funnel the $200 to $400 billion savings from malpractice tort reform as successfully tested in California and Texas to pay the premiums for the 10 to 15 million legal citizens too poor to buy HC insurance but who desire it. Illegals seeking medical help should be treated and then deported-stat! (That will give the double whammy of more jobs for unemployed legals.)

  • Bridge the gap of insurance lost between jobs.

  • Pay the difference between pre-existing coverage and regular coverage.

  • Deal with uninsured HC deadbeats as a collection agency would with use of the IRS if person is unable or unwilling to pay. In fact, knowing the IRS is going to be on your ass for the rest of your life, you may choose to buy insurance, as John McClaughry advised in his recent National Review article.


Keep your hands OFF the rest of our health care system. IT'S THE BEST!


If we know something for sure it's that political leaders must be kept on a short leash.


As our founders knew, GOVERNMENT CANNOT BE TRUSTED!!!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2009, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles