Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 5, 2008 / 4 Menachem-Av 5768

Adam Weinbaum: The leader of the pack

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My introduction to Adam, a scrappy little puppy, white, fluffy coated, pug-nosed Shih Tzu, was sudden, thrust upon me be my then wife. We had agreed not to get pets without consulting each other. "But, he was sooooo cute, and Sarah (our not quite one-year old) just loves him," she said. "And he only cost $600!" "What!?!" I exclaimed. She quickly retorted that it was an investment. We could breed him because he was pure and had papers.


A week later, she had poor ole' Adam fixed…so much for my Shih Tzu Ranch Empire.


Maybe that's when I started to feel empathetic to the little guy…and him toward me. We bonded together, as only dog and man can. The roles completely reversed. I became his hero, and my wife turned on him, a foreboding sign in our marriage.


When my wife and I split, the only thing she left me without litigation was my new fast friend, Adam.


And fast he was.


Living on a golf course, Adam and I would venture out on the cart, me driving and he riding shotgun. The pup would dive off at first sight of squirrel, bird, rabbit, or other dogs.


He especially liked chasing a huge Irish setter.


One time the red dog decided he had enough. Adam and Red got into a fur flying, teeth gnashing, brawl. I threatened the red dog with my wedge. He backed off. It was a good thing because I was under clubbed.


The lead dog must face the cold wind first…


Turns out, Adam was an adventurous lad, determined to find out what the world was like.


He disappeared for a month. I missed my old friend and was worried he was eaten by a pesky poodle or a small hawk. The ad I put in the paper proved fruitful. Farmers about five miles away called and said they had a scruffy white dog outside their back door barking up a storm.


As I pulled up their driveway, I marveled at how far my little puppy had traveled. Adam was marched out, emaciated and dirty, a torn bandana around his neck. I told his saviors that he looked like a pirate. Then they revealed that he was seen by them and others leading a pack of wild dogs. I asked, "Are you sure he wasn't being chased for lunch or as an appetizer?" They replied, "Nope." He'd been spotted leading the same pack of dogs for a couple of weeks. One day it appears he'd had sowed enough of the wild tribe and began barking at their door leaving his vassals rudderless.


When Adam saw me, his head sank and he slowly walked back to my car as if to say, "BUSTED!!!"


Just when the world is in the palms of your hands, your nose begins to itch


Several years passed. They were happier years. Adam seemed content with his routine of chasing critters both on and off the golf course and snuggling with me at night.


Then he disappeared again.


I was co-hosting a local morning TV show, and flashed Adam's picture on camera. That day I got a call from people that lived in a subdivision about a half mile away.


This time Adam played it smart. He cased the 'hood and found just the situation he was looking for. He barked his way into the hearts and home of three little girls. He spent the next two weeks getting the spa treatment, baths at least once a day, hair trimmed, brushed and curled, doggie pedicures, and curls buffeted by ribbons all over his petite, once manly, torn pirate scarfed little body. The biggest cut of all was the girls renamed him…"Popcorn." They had given him a doggie makeover or as I referred to it later; they pimped my dog.


Okay, I was a little jealous.


Adam, AKA Popcorn, seemed so happy that I offered him to the girl's dad and mom. They said they were moving and couldn't take him. Relieved, I lead Adam to the car. He looked back at the spa in remorse. I opened the door and said, "Nice to have you back…Popcorn."


Now that I'm happily married, Adam is still my best friend. My wife Joni brought a white Westie named Bennie, to the marriage. About a month ago she purchased a black maltese/shitzu combo named Ralphie.


As Adam has aged, he no longer chases critters when riding in the cart. But he maintains his stature in our house like the calm old leader he is, almost churchillian in his presence. The other dogs show their respect with head nips and sniffs.


Adam, almost 90 in human years has lived an adventurous and at times risky life.


When the inevitable occurs my one prayer upon his unlikely reincarnation is this:


Don't come back as a pesky poodle.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles