Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 26, 2010 / 15 Menachem-Av, 5770

The Facebook follies: Arguing the race war

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Here we are, a year and half after a man with a white mother and black father has governed as the leader of the free world—a man who was voted in with significant white support — arguing about race like we never have in my cognizant lifetime.

President Obama ran as a bridge to the black/white debate. What we've been reduced to are racist allegations on all sides. Most finger pointing was initiated from this administration, the NAACP, black Democratic Congressmen and the liberal media. Most have been proven false.

Then there is the Journo-list, a group of lib media bloggers who loosely conspired against the release of the Reverend Wright caustic sermons by diverting attention. Their ploy was to call any famous conservative a racist without a scintilla of evidence. They cited Newt and Fred Barnes as likely dupes.

With this, "when-was-the-last-time-you-beat-your-wife?"-type charge, how does one respond? (Last Thursday if you're Mel Gibson).

These are the types of things I argue on Facebook.

Before I get into the back and forth of the 140 + posts between me, a young "independent" black friend I'll call "Larry" and several liberal and conservative friends (yes, I do have liberal friends—surprise, surprise) it might help to clarify why I bother.

You can't make bread without going against the grain

In 2004, a friend advised me to go on Yahoo Financial Message Boards to check out what top management was saying under alias about the company I was involved in. I checked it out and started to wander around other companies, such as Pfizer, IBM, Microsoft, etc.

What I found was some of the most anti-American, anti-Semitic, anti-Christian, hate- filled bile I'd ever seen. I looked for bloggers disputing the latter but like Bush not replying to Democratic falsehoods about WMDs, I found none. So, I got myself an alias and started posting against these slanderers, some of whom I was convinced were Islamic terrorists.

They retaliated with MORE bile, accusing me of all sorts of things, not the least of which was being an agent of Mossad. I resorted to something I hadn't done much of, research. As I proofed one of my responses the thought entered my mind that it resembled a political op-ed.

If marijuana leads to heroin, do blogs lead to punditry?

Sooo, I sent some off.

Thanks to the Rolla Daily News and Binyamin L. Jolkovsky, owner of the immensely influential Jewish World Review, I've had a weekly column published starting about seven years ago. These op-eds generate between 20 and 160 comments each from all over the world and the columns are taken and posted on many other sites. One was used almost in its entirety in a speech President Obama gave in his first Foreign Correspondents banquet.

Having replaced Yahoo with Facebook, I post questions and interesting news items from the Net or my website, www.daveweinbaum.com

The reasons I do this?


  • To test my ideas and make sure the facts they're based on are solid.

  • To improve my debate and research skills.

  • To test the waters for what may be of interest to my audience.

  • To see what the argument of the "other" side is.

  • To prepare for my talk radio show.

  • To find and deliver the truth as best I can.

Below is a question I posed on Facebook after hearing it on the Limbaugh show.

If Obama and the NAACP are so concerned about ridding themselves of racists, why aren't they demanding the resignation of Eric Holder?

When I posted this question, I immediately got responses from Larry.

The argument goes back and forth. I cite links for my arguments. Larry argues emotionally about equal treatment under the law, something I agree with. Larry, when pushed to produce evidence, tends to think that I'm responsible for his research as well. Everyone opines for or against.

It's a gas!

"I don't agree with anything you say but I love this. What are we going to argue about next week, Dave?" — Liberal Female Blogger on my newspaper columns

In fact, Larry and the gang are all babbling away on my "wall" as I write this. Time to get in their face (book) and retort back, in their face! Well, maybe after golf—gotta keep my priorities straight.

G-d I love to argue.

Does it show?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2009, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles