Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 11, 2009 / 17 Iyar 5769

A hail of two cities

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Two out of the last three weeks have found me in different parts of the country: Las Vegas and DC. I attended meetings there related to my business affiliations of 38 years. Below are my observations on these popular destinations in the worst economy since the Depression.


To most visitors, taxi drivers are a city's first measure. Growing up in Chicago, I was reminded how inept and rude the cabbies were in the 70's and early 80's. Then out of the south came a miracle in the form of 6'6" of coiled dynamite. Everyone wanted to be just like Mike as he led the Chicago Bulls to six NBA Championships.


Taxi drivers were converted from curmudgeons to PR mavens. They were happy to see you and thrilled you visited THEIR town.


The river Jordan keeps on giving well after his retirement.


Hear about the casino for retirees? It's called Seizure's Palace


Since President Obama put the kibosh on Vegas, there have been lots of cancellations there. I suspected trouble in the town Bugsy Siegel visualized and the Mafia built to the brilliant visions of Steve Wynn and the various moguls who wanted their legacy carved into the Strip.


The twenty minute ride from the McCarran Airport was revealing.


Our cabbie knew what Kerkorian, Wynn, Trump and Adelson were up to. It was as if he was in their meetings. He knew which casinos were hurting, what condos weren't selling and where the bargains were.


A spectator of mogul horse racing, he knew which billionaire had stamina and which may have to be put down into bankruptcy protection.


All the cabbies were like him, the waiters, bell staff and dealers too.


These service people had skin in the game and were positive they would come back. They knew that the way to return to fruitfulness was to make sure customers were impressed. The cabbies even took short cuts to save us time and cash.


There was a refreshing rebellious spirit amongst the Vegas brethren despite its mistreatment by the president.


I ran ten miles yesterday…my coat got caught in a taxi door


Forget the fact that most DC sports venues suck, with the exception of the Caps, the toughest contact sport in Washington has always been politics. DC's economy has been in boom mode since the New Deal.



Obama's victory is delivering another growth spurt in an already over-burgeoning industry, the federal government.


Maybe someone ought to communicate this to the smug cabbies, dispatchers, and wait staffs. The 'tude seems not to exude pride as much as a sense of entitlement. Whether you enjoy your stay or not is irrelevant to them.


Let's start with the hotel. The personnel was friendly enough, but when they got our coffee room service wrong for the third straight day, gave me bad advice on cab instructions and reneged on their promise to provide free bottled water, I began to look askance.


My first DC cabbie was in heated discussion on his cell phone when I entered the cab. About a block away from the hotel he put the phone aside and demanded to know where I was going. I said, "Fox News International, not local. Do you know where that is?" "Of course!" Then he went back to his cell.


After passing by foreign flags on embassy row, I asked if he knew where he was going. He said, "Of course!" very agitated that I would interrupt his conversation with my meddling question.


As the meter passed the $20 threshold, my driver pulled up to a strange looking building on Wisconsin Ave. with the sign "Fox News 5" I said "You took me to the wrong place. This is the local affiliate, not international Fox News."


He dropped his phone call and smugly called his dispatcher. She backed HIM up!


I called my bro-in law, Dave Renken, who was working at Fox News. I demanded the Cabbie take me to the address Dave gave me.


As he pulled in and saw the Fox News sign on the building his jaw dropped to his chest. He said, "I'm a poor Christian from a very small village in Ethiopia." Cheesh! I gave him the $7 it should have cost me. We parted on good terms, after he apologized.


At least the gal that took us on the shuttle from the BWI (Baltimore Airport) to our DC hotel was the epitome of what a service person should be.


Also the guy that took us back to BWI was terrific.


I guess if you're coming or going, Washington is the place to visit.


For my money, my bet is on Vegas…probably just like Mike.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles