Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 30, 2010 / 16 Iyar 5770

Sorry Charlie, lovable losers are still losers

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Last week, Pulitzer Prize Award winner, celebrated disease-discovering psychiatrist, influential political columnist, commentator and fellow JWR pundit (couldn't help but squeeze that in,) Charles Krauthammer ironically wrote on the "Joys of Losing." Krauthammer's model? His dysfunctional love for the Washington Nationals. The current Capitol pro baseball posers called the Nationals, like Charles, were schooled in Montreal and were known as the Expos.


Maybe an early indication of Krauthammer's lust for losers was his stint working for Jimmy Carter and Walter Mondale in the early 80's.


While every man is free to love losers, I feel compelled to take issue with Charles.


Full disclosure: Due to my brother-in-law's affiliation with Fox News in DC, I've talked with Charles on several occasions. Last year Charles graciously invited my wife, sons and me to a National's game. The only thing preventing this amazing (yawn) experience was a dinner date I had arranged with my daughter Amy, a DC resident.


I wanted to go to the game just to pick Charles' huge cranium. Then maybe I could enlighten him out on what goes on outside the beltway, where most of us tax-paying suckers and Tea Partiers reside.


Another time—-


Anyone can have a bad millennium


I admit to being defensive about the lovable loser issue.


My own experience was my boyhood addiction for the Chicago Cubs. My heroes were Ernie "Let's Play Two" Banks, Billy Williams, Ron Santo, Fergie Jenkins, Moe Drabowsky and scores of others. Heck, I vaguely remember the Rifle Man, Chuck Connors, who had a brief stint at first base for the bear babes.


This compulsion is taken to the grave by most Cub fans in Chicago or wherever they wander. They delude themselves into believing that loyalty is a one-way street.


One of the highlights of my youth was when I was waiting to cross East Prairie Street which separated Skokie and Evanston . A car rumbled by with a big jolly man waving at me like he was my favorite uncle. Jack Brickhouse, legendary Cub announcer, chief fan and enabler of the sorry Cubbies became the highlight of my life.


Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me forever — TOTAL shame on me


I'm not buying it.


In my opinion, under the Wrigleys the no-lights Cubs were too cheap to win. Then with the dwindling assets of the Trib, they were too stupid to put together a champ.


When they get close to winning a pennant something always happens. The owner of the Billy Goat Tavern was thrown out of a 1945 Cubs World Series game (65 years ago) because his horned pet was stinking up the joint. Witnesses claim he cursed the Cubs by proclaiming they would never win the series again. So far—



Letter from JWR publisher

The most recent curse came in the 2003 National League Championship series. The Cubs, ahead of the Marlins three to zip in the series, were winning the fourth game 3-2. It looked like a lock. Then Steve Bartman, lifelong Cub fan, deflected a foul ball that could have been easily caught by Cub left fielder, Moises Alou. The Cubs should have been a shoe-in for the World Series. Instead, they blew the game and the series. Bartman may STILL be in hiding. He's rumored to be on the lam with author and Muslim critic Salman Rushdie.


Ex-Cub, two time all star, and four times World Series winner (Yankees and Oakland ,) Ken Holtzman had an interesting, sensitive take on the plight of the Cubbies. Opining as to the reason the cubs lost the 2003 series, Kenny summed it up with two words. "THEY SUCK !!"


While it's important to win, it's imperative to compete


Since I've lived in the St. Louis area, I've been to countless Redbird playoff games and five World Series, two of them bringing home the championship. In contrast to the Cubs, I find an effective ownership, good farm teams and the excellent field coaching of managers like Red Schoendienst, Whitey Herzog and Tony LaRussa.


This year is no exception. Their line-up is killer, defense good, and pitching more than adequate.


I couldn't take it if they suddenly decided to stop improving their product and foist it amongst their customers as the Cubbies and Nats have. As it is, the Cards draw more per capita of possible fans than anyone.


Back to Charles and his Lovable Loser Syndrome:


What's next; hugging Hugo? Adoring Ahmadinejad? Fidelity with Fidel? Dare I say it? Busting out for Barry?


One thing I have to ask Charles if I ever see him again. "You grew up in Montreal . Didn't you identify with the hockey Canadians, the NY Yankees of the NHL?"


If I ever interact with Charles again, he'll probably diagnose me as a hockey puck and send me on my way.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2009, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles