Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 18, 2008 / 13 Nissan 5768

Water skipping with Masters Arnold Gary and Jack

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Have you seen the movie Antz? Woody Allen plays the unlikely hero as a neurotic worker ant. His adventure saves the colony and princess against the evil ant general. Z, (ant Woody) escapes with her highness to a place called "Insect Utopia." Actually it's a garbage dump, ripe with all things luscious and beautiful to little fliers and crawlers. They buzz and slither around in a hypnotic state.


Last week I had such an experience. Good friends, Dr. Henry "Painless" and Laura Antolak, went on line early last year and snagged tickets to Wednesday's festivities at Augusta.


That's right. My wife and I were on a collision course with "Golfer's Utopia."


We were going to pay homage to the most beautiful golf course in the world, Augusta National, home of the Master's Tournament.


Golf is chess with sand, water, wind, and trees
The tube doesn't do Augusta National justice. The beauty and ambiance were so overwhelming people were walking trancelike around the course….and those were the pros.


The rest of us sauntered around dazed as we walked amongst legends. We inhaled the azaleas and took in the shimmering pristine ponds in Amen Corner, traversed by the Hogan, Nelson, and Sarazen bridges. Towering pines lurked, with wind vane tops to instruct the players on club selection. The sand traps are so alluring you want to jump in them just to experience what pros see as they opt to blast out. Augusta greens are hallowed and feared for their slick hidden undulations and fringes that cast miss-hits into disaster.


As we hiked up the 14th fairway, Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player ambled closer in an ancient hunt for their balls, laughing and joking after 50 years of competing with each other. My shy wife, Joni, shouted, "We love you Gary!" He stopped, blew her a kiss, removed his hat and bowed to her. I reciprocated by giving Gary a bald bend, surely blinding him as he flubbed his next shot.


I knew a golfer that was so unlucky that when they went to bury him he lipped out
Then we funneled to the stands on the 16th, a peninsula par three with lake from tee to green. That's where we found out about "skipping at the Masters." In practice rounds fans demand that the golfers hit a second tee shot from the base of the lake. The idea is to skip the ball off water then onto the green.


After several groups played through and skipped to the amusement of the throngs, up came Nicklaus, Player, and the European Amateur Champion. After hitting their drives, the "SKIP, SKIP, SKIP…" chant built to high pitch in the crowd. Up first, Player chose the multi-skip and his ball sank just before the green. The amateur skipped it once and the dimpled orb hydroplaned onto the green four feet from the hole. Amazing!


Then it was Jacks turn.


Nicklaus dropped his ball, addressed it, and then broke his rhythm to face the crowd: "Anyone got an old ball?" he asked. I responded, "I have two!" We all had a nice laugh and I got to play standup to Jack Nicklaus's straight man.


Golf: It's the hole thing
Later, we witnessed the par three tournament played on an adjacent nine hole course. What a blast! Those out of contention were letting their caddies play and small children in the crowd were encouraged to putt.


One of the last threesomes to compete was those same legends as above, joined by the patriarch of them all, Arnold Palmer.


On the last hole of the day, these kids, Jack (68), Gary (72) and Arnie (79) each thumped tee shots to within 12 feet of the hole. Jack just missed a hole in one on what was his and Gary's last of 27 holes played that day.


This extraordinary scene may never happen again.


But in my mind and the millions that witnessed it, it'll be replayed forever.


Wonder who Tiger will be playing with in 35 years, that is, if he isn't done traumatizing the golf world with his total dominance.


Whoever it is, it'll have to go a long way to out-drive the Big Three.


Meanwhile, I'll enjoy my "golf utopia" with every shot I take. I may even stop taking mulligans and gimmes.


Well, that's going a little far, but you catch my drift.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles