Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review April 2, 2007 / 14 Nissan, 5767

Baseball been Berry Berry good to me

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | March Madness is about to surrender to April gladness. Like a rush of spring cooled, flowered air, baseball is upon us. One of my best and most loyal friends has returned to perk me up after an unusually late and long icy frost.


The 2007 Major League Baseball season is mere hours away.


My lifelong relationship with baseball started for me as a kid in Skokie, a northern burb of Chicago. Growing up in the 50's and 60's, we learned our motor skills outside, in all elements, from dawn until our squinting eyes couldn't see anymore.


We lived sports…


…Especially baseball.


The summer game represented our release from stogy, drab schools, reeking of mold and disinfectant.


The gray, icy slush seeped into dirt and flushed down sewers in mid April.


Sublime fragrance wafted up nostrils then through our lobes from fresh cut grass, just blossomed daffodils and tulips. The sky grew a mesmerizing blue and the leaves and lawns a stunning rich green.


Hypnotized by our biological clocks, we globally positioned to gather our mitts, balls, bats, and caps. Then we lugged them on strong young shoulders, swaying from the weight on our trusty bikes, scrunching our tires side to side, straining up gravel roads.


On to virgin fields of diamonds in the rough! On to battle! On to destiny!


We could never get enough.


We breakfasted on strawberries (abrasions), the kind that splotched red and pink on our outer thighs and knees from sliding on hard dirt and rock, only to crust and be scratched off…to make way for new ones. Barely stopping for lunch, we sucked down sodas and candy.


Our lumber had Nellie Fox, Minnie Minoso, or Ernie Banks burnt in autographs. Louie Aparicio, Kenny Hubbs or Warren Spahn signed our oil soaked mitts.


It was "PLAY BALL" all day long, picking new teams as each game ended, changing the rosters to accommodate new arrivals, replace retirees and to balance out the competition.


Boy did we give the early quitters a hard time.


When it was dark enough that even the bugs seemed tired of sucking our blood, we went home to the only decent meal of the day.


After treating our wounds, we succumbed to hot showers and the cold sheeted beds.


We dreamt about that home run that turned into a long fly out, and the double play that we fielded, pivoted on and launched, only to be dropped by the first baseman. In our imaginations we nailed our four baggers and double plays, just like the big leaguers.


Then we'd start all over the next day.


Those that play like piñatas; shouldn't be surprised by the sticks.


Some days were shortened by our parents taking us to Major League games, one of the accepted excuses to miss our own battles. Most games I attended were at Wrigley Field, then and STILL the home of the Chicago Cubs.


I watched those Cubbies and rooted for them with all my might. Ernie Let's Play 2 Banks, Billy Williams, Moe Drabowski, Lou Trade Me at Your Own Peril Brock, Kenny Hubbs, Ron Santo, Kenny Holtzman, even the Rifleman, Chuck "shoot from the hip" Connors, plus colorful managers like Leo Durocher.


I still remember Jack Brickhouse, legendary Cub TV Announcer, driving by on his way to Wrigley, slowing down just long enough to beam the friendliest smile I'd seen in a long time and to wave his good and gracious cheer. Wow! How did he know I was a Cub fan?


That scene is etched in my mind like it was yesterday, yet happened near 50 years ago.


The Cubs were my team, but sadly, couldn't get it done.


Their last World Championship was 99 years ago. Their last World Series appearance? 1945.


I do wish they could win…just for all the kids I played ball with those early years that remain in Chicago and loyal to the Cubs.


While it's important to win, it's imperative to compete. I must confess. Geography changed my life.


I've lived in and around the St. Louis area for the last 35 years. OKAY! You don't have to beat it out of me. I'M A CARDINAL FAN…23 year season ticket holder. I've been to Five, (count 'em!) world series and too many playoff games to count right now, just since 1982.


The Redbirds have won ten World Championships, second only to the Yankees. And we all know, the Yanks are the best team money can buy.


The Cardinals almost always manage to put winning teams on the field.


I'll be at Busch Stadium opening night.


I'll be easy to spot.


I'll be the one with the red hat on.


PLAY BALL!!

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles