Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review March 5, 2010 / 19 Adar 5770

Dr. Doolittle talks to us animals

By Dave Weinbaum



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Once again Dr. Doolittle, AKA Dear Leader, has descended from the heavens to lecture us animals and in a language we can understand, blessed be the "won." And blessed be we the miserable and unwashed for the Savior to tell us what we need to do.


I don't know about you, but I was convinced by the mere sight of six white coat-clad "doctors." And unlike animal Eric Cantor who brought the actual bill to the summit, the medical six couldn't be considered a prop could they?


Don't forget the table scraps thrown at the canines, you know, the bone to "study" Republican suggestions, and then call the upcoming bill "Bipartisan."


If Obama can still find six unidentified morons to stand behind him in lab garb, that in and of itself is amazing. Having the audacity to demand Congress soil itself by going against the American people is a little out there, even for a Progressive. Did the Messiah misplace his memoirs? Let me be of assistance to the exalted Won.


On 7/12/06 Obama said, "If we want to transform the country that requires a sizeable majority." On 10/9/2007 DL lectured, "You' gotta break out of what I call the 50 plus one pattern in presidential politics. Maybe you can squeeze out a victory but then you can't govern…We are not going to pass universal healthcare with a fifty plus one strategy."


I grew up on a crocodile farm. I was an only child-eventually


When I was a little boy, I remember being in my room and playing with little toy soldiers and metal animals. I anointed myself leader of the beasts. It was easier to elect myself leader of the wild because I could make up our bilingual communication when creating logistics in beating the favored military combatants. My less developed hordes of herds always won.



Letter from JWR publisher


I think Obama had a similar experience growing up, only his boyhood games still obsess him. Dear Leader doesn't share the language of the common man. Maybe this well known ditty will help him break down the barrier.


To the tune of Talk to the Animals:


Dr. B. Hussein Doolittle


If I could talk to Republicans, just imagine it

Chatting to Palin in Eskimo

Imagine talking to McCain, chatting Scotty Brown

What a neat achievement high and low.


If I could talk to the animals, learn their languages

earn a conservative degree.

I'd study Cronyn and Cantor, Ryan and Newt Gingrich,

Scolia, Mitch McConnell, Hannity


I would converse in DeMint

I could curse in Rubio.

If people asked me, can you speak in Limbaughroo,

I'd say, "Of coursio, can't you?"


If I could talk to the animals, learn their languages

Think of all the things we could discuss

If I could walk with the mammals, talk with beasties,

Grunt and squeak and squawk at Tea Parties,


Then they could squeak and squawk and speak Marxist to me.


Never fool with a buffalo or be buffaloed by a fool


Not only do the majority of the 300 million American creatures hate Obamacare more each time Barack speaks, the ignorance has oozed to the left side of the aisle.


Bart Stupak (D-Michigan), in response to Dear Leader's 35th HC speech said, "If it's the proposal that the Senate passed and nothing's changed in it …(the President is) presenting in reconciliation to the House of Representatives, I'll bet you it won't even come close to passing. It'll be defeated soundly (in the House). The members not only do not like the bill, the process has been tainted and we're not going to attach our names to it."


Robert Byrd, inventor of the reconciliation process has said its use for Obamacare would be a violation of the spirit and intent of the law.


Are there a few brave Democratic Senators and Representatives with enough patriotism to stand up to this tyranny? Even participating in this fiasco is against the Constitution.


The American people are asking you to take your oath to the Constitution and your constituents in mind when you vote. Later, good or bad, we will hold you responsible for your actions.


They're coming to take you away Ha Ha!


The next time we see the President surrounded by white coats, maybe one of 'em will slip a straight-jacket over Dear Leader along with Pelosi and Reid.


If the terrorists are moved into this country won't there be a vacancy somewhere down in the Caribbean?


Now there's some hope and change us beasts would sing to.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum hosts DaveWeinbaum.com. He is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic and resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2009, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles