Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 27, 2009 / 3 Adar 5769

Obama: The master of the South Side samba

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | President Obama's contradictory speech to congress has introduced the country to a dance that's been popular in Illinois politics for over 100 years: the South Side Samba. Obama sashayed into the realm of liberal doublespeak, hyperbole and hypocrisy to applause and standing ovations.

The fawning, hypnotized media pose a grave danger to this country in particular and Western Civilization in general.

"Everyone in politics lies, but the (Clintons) do it with such ease, it's troubling." Hollywood Mogul, David Geffen

Move over Bill and Hillary. There's a new sheriff in town, one Barack Hussein Obama, and he makes the Clintons look like Mother Teresa.

As I'm prone to do, I watched Barack's speech. Then, without the fawning, fake admiration, I examined the speech.

Here are the highlights ...not only "just words" but just lies, just hypocrisy:


  • "(My) agenda ...begins with jobs."-The "stimulus" bill has created a huge demand for pork farmers.

  • "A surplus became an excuse to transfer wealth to the wealthy instead of an opportunity to invest in our future."-What's a Dem speech without condemning the very people who PAY most of the taxes and PROVIDE almost all the jobs?

  • "Regulations were gutted for the sake of a quick profit."-When Republicans, including President Bush tried to Regulate the Dems who caused the sub-prime disaster you refer to, you voted to filibuster against them.

  • "Because of this plan, 95% of the working households in America will receive a tax cut."-Is it a tax cut if you're not working?

  • " ...everyone is suffering in part from their (the banks) bad decisions."-The banks were carrying out Democratic sub-prime housing policies at the threat of physical and/or business harm by ACORN thugs mentored by YOU!

  • "History reminds us that at every moment of economic upheaval ... this country has responded with bold actions and ideas." -True. Cutting taxes worked under John Kennedy, Ronald Reagan, and George Bush. What didn't work were tax raises, government takeovers or market meddling of the private sector by Roosevelt, Carter, and Nixon.

  • "But to ...transform our economy, protect our security and save our planet from the ravages of climate change, we need to ...make clean, renewable energy."-Why aren't you using our OWN oil resources as well as the new and yet unproven wind and solar power. Where is nuclear energy in your plan?

  • "Our ...plan will invest in electronic health records ..."-Anyone else just a little queasy about this? Will Barney Frank direct my doctor's treatment? Now I'm really nauseous.

  • "I'm proud ...we passed the recovery plan free of earmarks ..." ROFLMAO!!! And that goes for the 9,000 earmarks in your budget bill, too, Mr. President!
And finally, the coup de gras:


  • "To overcome extremism ...there is no force in the world more powerful than the example of America. That is why I have ordered the closing of ...Gitmo, and that's why I can say ...that America does not torture!" I can see the latter as a blurb on Arab/Muslim TV and on billboards touting al-Qaeda recruitment. "Wow, Achmed, we can blow up America without worrying about water-boarding or being jailed in Cuba! Praise Allah! Praise Obama!"

Carrying the above to the logical conclusion, I envision a nuclear attack on mid-town Manhattan. The bombs are obtained by terrorists from Iran during our unending negotiations with Ah'mmad.

After the radiation goes down, President Obama, ensconced in a powder blue radiation suit borrowed from John Kerry, replicates Bush's heroic speech on the hallowed grounds of the World Trade Center.

Loudspeaker in hand, arm around the shoulders of a New Jersey fireman. (All the firefighters in Manhattan have been killed by the bombs.) President Obama exclaims, "Yes there may have been 100,000 Americans killed, and over 200,000 maimed, but the world loves America because I closed Gitmo and stopped water boarding!"

You can take it to the bank ...if you can still find one.

Samba that, Mr. President.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles