Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 8, 2008 / 2 Adar I 5768

Obama nears the Promised Land

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Barack Hussein Obama has taken one giant step to becoming the first REAL (sorry Bill) Black leader of the free world. In what must seem like a slow and painful death to Hillary's "It's MY turn!" campaign, Hillary, now running on negative cash, will plow on. She'll shed an occasional tear or direct her attack dog when she thinks she can get away with it. But as it appears today, Barack has a distinct edge over the Clintons in the remaining primaries.


Then it'll be on to McCain and into the office of stain and cigars, where Obama won't have a clue as to what to do next.


But that's another story, and only if the Republican Party abandons John McCain. Last time I looked, McCain, a long time Republican Senator, is running as a Republican. I don't believe anyone has asked him to leave the party, even though he toyed with free agency for a while. He's not my first choice…or second choice, but he will be voted in as our team leader.


An end should be like a convenience store: open 24/7
As any quarterback worth his protection will attest, you don't throw to the guy that's covered, you pass to the man that's open, even if it wasn't the play your principles say should have worked.


I understand occasionally inane Ann Coulter, Hillary and Bill's newest cheerleader not getting this, but Rush? In case you're from Branson, Rush spends a good deal of his otherwise excellent radio program, demonizing McCain. I thought Limbaugh understood "strategery" better than most, since he invented the word. Isn't the idea to keep the enemy at bay while securing a win, not intentionally throwing "principled" interceptions until you lose the contest?


Further, one doesn't have to beat their opponent 40-zip every game. Sometimes a 17-14 victory will suffice. If you don't believe me, ask Eli and the Giants. So you might have to fake to the left then throw to the right. Who cares? It's within the rules and we win!


If everyone thought their vote unimportant, we could rid ourselves of elections
I'm celebrating Barack's victory(s), especially here in Missouri. I appeared for my vote, sans TV and media. I, being well known and controversial in my small town as a conservative, was led to 3 stacks of ballots. Automatically offered the Republican pile by the voting police, I asked if I had to vote Republican. After a stunned, "No…are you kidding?" response, I openly weighed the options. I decided that a vote for Obama would fit my goal for the primary: NO MORE CLINTONS, IN OR NEAR THE WHITE HOUSE!


Last night before taking in a St. Louis Blues game, I heard Hillary declared winner of Missouri's primary, only to wake up to the sweet music of a Barack "Show-Me State" comeback win. And he won by one vote, MY vote…..plus another 10,000 or so. So my strategy worked.


If he wins, we'll have an honest, articulate socialist, who at least knows we have to hit terrorists in Pakistan, Iran, or Afghanistan, just inexplicitly not Iraq, vs. a candidate that's so dishonest she'll use her husband to race-bait for her while she claims deniability. They're both beatable, but if he does win the presidency, maybe Obama will listen to reason. One does not reason with a Clinton unless you have a hot poll in your hand. It's all about them, not the USA.


I'm not smart enough to dumb things down
The worst thing you can do is capitulate to those that would shut you down, Rush. You did happen to know that Hillary is in favor of the fairness doctrine, or as it's known in the Midwest, "The Limbaugh 401K enactment plan." If you want to fight for your right to opine on a mike, you may want to do more to defeat this woman.


My idea of victory is to hear legendary Werner Wolff say in early November, "If you took Obama to win the presidency and the Democrats to maintain their control of congress, YOU LOSE!"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles