Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 23, 2009 / 27 Teves 5769

One Jew's response to anti-Semitism

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | My first realization of anti-Semitism came as a ten year old. I don't remember the exact moment of comprehension that someone hated me because of something I was vs. something I did , but it hurt and fascinated me at the same time.

What was the justification? Was there something evil in me that only others could detect? Were Hitler and his genocide against Jews an aberration or was this part of a pattern throughout history?

Should I fight back or acquiesce?

So I studied the history of Jews, as much as a pubescent boy, with little intellect as far as my teachers and parents perceived, could. I went to Hebrew School and was especially attentive and inquisitive about Jewish History.

I studied my ancestor's 400 year slavery in Egypt. I learned about G-d's intervention via His choice, Moses, to lead the Jews out of bondage and into His law. Then He had Moses guide the Hebrews to the land that was to be theirs, Israel.

THE VERDICT

My jury of one ruled Jews in general and me in particular to be innocent. Thus the charges of blood libels, disloyalty, and conspiracy to control the world are hereby dismissed. (Did I mention I was the judge, too?)

I discovered that Jews had so many opinions amongst themselves that you couldn't pin anything on them, except some shared religious beliefs. Even those tenets were in discrepancy from one Jewish group to another. DNA wasn't useful, because as a religion, not a race, people came into and left Judaism freely.

After I rendered my verdict, I decided to fight against anti-Semitism in my own small way.

Opportunities are often hidden in the shadows of our fears.

At 14 I caddied at the Evanston Country Club, (no Jews or Black members allowed.) Between rounds we bag mules hung around the caddy shack. One late summer afternoon, the biggest greaser amongst the caddies yelled at me, "Hey Jew, go get me a Coke!" I complied. Without hesitation, I dumped the soda into his face. Then I exploded through the door for the two mile sprint home.

He yelled, "You're just a chicken-s&% Kike!" Stupidly, I stopped and went back. As his fellow oilers circled around, he bared a broken soda bottle, grabbed me by the shirt and held the bottle against of my jugular.

He said, "Jew, I won't slice you if you apologize." I said "I'm sorry." He dropped the bottle. As he and his friends laughed and began to disperse, I tapped him on the shoulder. As he turned, I timed a perfect right cross to his eye, shocking the living Hell out of him…and me. Then I set the world record for the two mile run home.

The next day, after working the phones, I marched back with about 15 of my friends and challenged the greaser to a fight. He agreed.

So he and his duck tailed Elvis wannabes and me and my buddies went to a park. I beat him like a Ringo Starr solo. He offered his hand in defeat. Neither he nor his friends uttered another cross word to me again.

Don't forget to pack your courage for your journey to survival

How many Jews could have been saved if Israel existed before WW2? How tough would those Nazis have been if they knew a Jewish entity could wreak havoc upon them for their evil?

I don't know what it'll take to get Arabs/Muslims to want peace. It's hard to deter those that believe G-d wants you dead. However, I've concluded that a timid response to even one suicide bomber or one rocket shot into Israel has exactly the opposite effect.

Jews must respond forcefully to anti-Semitism wherever it's from. It may not go away, but I guarantee it'll think twice before taking another beating.

Whether the world likes it or not is irrelevant to Jewish survival.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles