Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review January 11, 2008 / 4 Shevat 5768

Run like a man, emote like a woman

By Dave Weinbaum


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I'm just as sensitive as the next guy, maybe a little more. I've been known to cry at "chick flicks." Even my wife has rolled her eyes at my tears. That being said, I'm not on the stump trying to pose as the leader of the free world.


When a man, candidate Senator Ed Muskie, got watery eyed in New Hampshire 36 years ago while defending his wife from accusations that she drank and swore, (Wow! Was that 1972 or 1872?) Ed was summarily drummed out of the race.


Not so Mrs. Clinton.


Double digit down in the polls, Hillary pulled victory from the crocodile jaws of defeat and whooped unsuspecting whippersnapper, Obama.


How'd she do it?


She welled up just enough to show her feminine sensitivity, but not enough to disqualify her from becoming commander in chief. Yet Hillary didn't sob in defense of anyone. She wasn't shedding tears for one of our brave fallen soldiers. She wasn't even defending her man from scurrilous right wingers, accusing Bill of shenanigans with yet another bimbo.


She was clearly upset that she lost Iowa, and was about to get clobbered in New England.


What's wrong with this?


Absolutely nothing.


You see, Mrs. Clinton was sad for the country not herself. Why if she weren't elected there would be no one that could prevent the country from "going backwards." When I heard that, I choked back too, but it wasn't tears.


That being said, women are expected to react more emotionally than men. Hillary went back to her natural roots and stopped, for once, trying to imitate the way men react to frustration.


Weren't Golda Meir and Margaret Thatcher, both noted leaders, capable of tears from personal angst? I'm sure they were. They just never shared that with the public.


The biological message sent by Hillary's pout and swollen eyes radiated to women throughout the villages and forests of New Hampshire. They ran in justifiable shared indignation of their sister to the nearest voting booth. They jerked the levers to register their torment with a male dominated world, just like Hillary. Even Betty Friedan would approve.


The race card is a two edged sword(Bold


Hillary's flirtation with breakdown is understandable. She abruptly discovered her anticipated coronation is being seriously challenged by an ungrateful undeserving upstart, Barrack Obama.


In case you're from Branson, Barrack Obama happens to be black.


I know what she's thinking.


Why the temerity of Obama running for president, pretending at charisma, showing off his youth, his pretty and smart wife and daughters at his side. This man/boy doesn't have the right to talk about change, when change is all I've done for the last 35 years. My two term ex-presidential partner and I deserve the vote of blacks. And YOU, Barrack, should be sitting in our campaign bus supporting us, and not piloting your own RV, at least not until we've completed our next two terms.


As one who knows her like no other, Dick Morris, ex-Clinton pollster and once chief Clinton advisor, opines Hillary will call Barrack unelectable, never once referring to race, at least not so anyone could tie her to it.


It'll be a tightrope walked better than any circus act we've ever seen.


And if that doesn't work, bucket listers James Carville and Paul Begala are ready for one last Clinton campaign before they die.


In my opinion, Hillary wants to go back to the White House to change the drapes and check on the china.


Wait, I forgot. She already took the china.


Hillary supporter, Mayor Ed Koch said he prays for Mrs. Clinton.


If she gets elected, we should all pray for the country.


Democratic presidential candidate U.S. Senator Hillary Clinton (D-NY) listens to a question from an undecided voter during a campaign stop at Cafe Espresso in Portsmouth, New Hampshire January 7, 2008.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Dave Weinbaum, originally from Chicago, is a businessman, writer and part-time stand-up comic. He resides in a Midwest red state. Comment by clicking here.



Archives


© 2005, Dave Weinbaum

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles