Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 31, 2008 / 28 Tamuz 5768

Summer reading

By Bob Tyrrell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It is vacation time, and this summer millions of Americans are going to take breaks from their daily toils. Many will seek out quiet spots to relax with family members. They will head to the beach or to campsites, and some will defy gas prices and head for the open road. The summer vacation is a perfect time to read a book, possibly two books. There are all kinds of books available: personal improvement books, how-to books, bad books, very bad books. For some reason, the books I have been reading this summer have been mostly history books. It is an election year, and possibly the approach of a historic decision explains my absorption with history. Then again, it might just be that the most interesting books available this summer are books about the past.



BUY THE BOOKS

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

Click HERE to purchase it at a discount. (Sales help fund JWR.).

At the top of my summer reading list is "The Age of Reagan: A History, 1974-2008," by the Princeton historian Sean Wilentz. There was a day when leading academic historians wrote about large issues: wars, the rise of great leaders, the fall of failed leaders and failed movements. Today most historians write about little and obscure things: homosexuality among 18th-century merchant mariners, gun ownership in early America. Possibly, scholarly work is being done on the condition of barnyard animals in the Old Northwest. Wilentz writes about the dramatic things that have affected the life of the nation. That is why he is one of the few remaining scholars of national stature.


In his previous book "The Rise of American Democracy: Jefferson to Lincoln," Wilentz chronicled the political evolution that led to the Civil War. In his most recent book, he chronicles the rise of modern American conservatism, the presidency of Ronald Reagan, and how both influenced recent history. In so doing, he makes the case that Ronald Reagan stands with the Roosevelts as a 20th-century president who left a lasting mark. He gives Reagan full credit for the good he did, though Wilentz makes it clear that he does not share Reagan's politics and never has. If memory serves, Wilentz was a key figure in defending our recent Boy President during impeachment. Be that as it may, Wilentz's objective treatment of the past 3 1/2 decades of our history should renew our faith in a fine historian's intellectual discipline and fairness. "The Age of Reagan" is informative not only about the Reagan administration but also about the presidencies of Gerald Ford and his successors. This book covers a lot of ground. Next on my summer list is a very peculiar history book, "The Pact," by Steven M. Gillon. I say it is peculiar because despite errors of fact, it is an informative history. As I coyly suggested earlier in the month, everything Gillon says about me in his book is wrong. For instance, I — one of Bill Clinton's most exuberant critics — did not, as Gillon claims, go to Georgetown University with Clinton. But the book is not about me. It is about the intriguing relationship between former House Speaker Newt Gingrich and Clinton. The portrait Gillon paints of Gingrich is particularly vivid and, to my mind, accurate. What he and the president were up to in their meetings — some of which was secret — was the transformation of American politics and, most significantly, Social Security. Their failure was a failure in character — both men's characters.


Two more books that make my list are Martin Gilbert's "Churchill and the Jews: A Lifelong Friendship" and Claire Tomalin's "Samuel Pepys: The Unequaled Self." Gilbert is the author of the definitive eight-volume biography of Churchill, as well as many other superb works of history. In this book, he demonstrates how the great British leader, at the beginning of his long life, developed an admiration for the Jews that lasted through many trials, crowned, of course, by his support for a Jewish state. As often with Churchill, his heart deeply engaged, but it was ruled by his intellect. He believed the ancient Jews were responsible for the ethical foundations of Western morality. As Churchill conceived it, the Jews "grasped and proclaimed an idea of which all the genius of Greece and all the power of Rome were incapable."


Turning to Claire Tomalin's biography of Pepys, let me say that I never would have picked it up if Don Graham, the bookish chairman of The Washington Post, had not sent it to me. Don has high regard for the book, and now I do, too. Pepys is perhaps the greatest diarist in the English language, and he wrote his diary entries in the middle of 17th-century London, when great events were taking place that in time would shape the founding of our own country. Pepys gives us a feel for his time from a powerful office in government and a crow's nest over emerging British society. Tomalin is a superb biographer, and Pepys is an enthralling subject, part bureaucrat, part Puritan, part rogue.


Maybe this book can be your how-to book for summer reading, namely, how to serve in a high government position in Washington in the early 21st century. Some things never change.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles