Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review July 3, 2008 / 30 Sivan 5768

Clinton and I at Georgetown

By Bob Tyrrell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | LONDON — I am in London preparing a couple of talks on politics that I am to give this week, and I have made a very unhappy discovery. A new book, written by a promising young American historian, reveals a secret about Bill Clinton and me that we have kept from the public for four decades. In "The Pact," a book that follows the strikingly similar careers of Bill Clinton and Newt Gingrich, Steven M. Gillon reveals that Bill and I attended Georgetown University together as undergraduates. Drat, our secret is out!


This is how the historian puts it: "Emmett Tyrell (sic), a contemporary at Georgetown and later conservative pundit, referred to Clinton as 'a student government goody-goody.'" Well, who doubts that he was? I remember Bill well, tooling around campus in a late-model convertible (a Buick, if I recall), always ready with a smile and a hearty ho-ho — especially for the girls. Incidentally, it is completely untrue that Bill's youth was impoverished, and in his autobiography, he admits as much, adding that the born-in-a-log-cabin myth is always a sure vote-getter.


Back at Georgetown, Bill had a quick mind but rarely got assignments done on time and probably used crib sheets or Cliffs Notes to finish his course work. He spread himself pretty thin on campus in those days. Even then, Bill was an inveterate Casanova, which is in part the reason for our covenant of silence. Whenever he tried to seduce one of my girlfriends, the girls and I had a good laugh. They called him Tubby; even then, he had weight problems. Also, he could not stop talking. Most college girls in those days inclined toward the tall, silent type. Bill was tall, taller than I am, but he was a gasbag. The girls and I used to joke about Bill's loquacity. Did he ever shut down even while attempting love? The girls doubted it and kept their distance.


My only regret through the years is that Georgetown never has acknowledged my presence on campus and the amicable relations I had with Bill. After all, I founded The American Spectator during my student days. Years later, in 1993, the Spectator published the first Troopergate story that set in motion the long and painful process leading to Bill's impeachment, and of course, the magazine published many other stories on Bill: his troubled real estate dealings, his chaotic and corrupt White House, his cheating on the golf course, and more. One would think someone would take notice of the irony that back at old Georgetown, we were fellow students and friendly rivals, though I never took a class with him and never saw him in the gym.


Actually, Gillon's book is not the first time that our shared experience at the university has been reported. The story originated in the historian Nigel Hamilton's biography "Bill Clinton: An American Journey." It was a rather good book but marred by so many errors that very few intellectuals took it seriously. Unfortunately, Gillon does. In his footnotes, he cites Hamilton's opuscule as the source for his claim that I attended Georgetown with Bill. Hamilton has a second volume out now, "Bill Clinton: Mastering the Presidency." It is even more error-ridden. In that book, Hamilton claims that I told David Brock, the Troopergate writer, that I would pay his sources, the Arkansas state troopers, "anything they asked." There is no truth to that claim. Hamilton offers no evidence to support it. And serious historians among my friends here in London think I should sue Hamilton.


A problem that historians are having in chronicling the lives of both Clintons is that for 40 years or more, the Clintons sedulously have deposited thousands of discrepancies on the public record. In a word, they have lied. Many of the lies have endured for so long unchallenged — or challenged only by an audacious few whose reputations were blackened immediately — that the lies have become commonplace facts of the Clinton saga. Thus, we forever hear about Bill's impoverished youth, though his family owned automobile dealerships in Arkansas and he now admits to exaggerating his early poverty. Or we still hear of what a political genius he is, though all he ever has managed is re-election for himself, while his party's power faded. In power, he never has gotten much done, and when he campaigns for others, they lose. In 2004, he campaigned for 14 Democratic office seekers. Twelve lost. In 2008, he campaigned for a famous front-runner whose nomination was deemed "inevitable." She lost.


Now poor Gillon is fouling up the record, spreading Clinton myths that will make the work of future historians nearly impossible. On Page 112, he writes, "The American Spectator published a series of articles, mostly untrue, about the president's promiscuous sex life and shady business practices." None of the allegedly untrue articles is mentioned because there has been none. In fact, I doubt Gillon has any familiarity with the magazine. He simply stumbled across this defamation of the magazine's reportage somewhere and incuriously accepted it. I am glad he never read Terry McAuliffe's mendacious autobiography. McAuliffe maintains that the Spectator published articles claiming Clinton ordered the murder of opponents. He never has been able to cite those articles to me because they do not exist.


In researching the lives of the Clintons, let the researcher beware. I wonder how that is translated into Latin.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2008, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles