Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 10, 2007 / 22 Iyar, 5767

The Rev. Zawahiri and the Dems

By Bob Tyrrell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Did you see that over the weekend Al Qaeda's second-in-command, the Rev. Ayman Zawahiri, appeared in an online 67-minute video and declared that the Democrats' bill calling for a troop withdrawal from Iraq is proof that the United States has already lost the war in Iraq? I wonder how the Democratic leadership took the news. Did the Hon. Nancy Pelosi send him an e-mail congratulating him on his astuteness? Or was she a bit embarrassed? Yet, can anything embarrass Pelosi and the rest of the Democratic leadership? Frankly, I doubt it. They are all neatly shut off from the world in their fantasy of moral and intellectual superiority.


Of course, the Rev. Zawahiri is shut off in his own fantasy world. Does he actually think the United States has been defeated in Iraq? Anywhere our army goes it destroys our enemies. All they can do is blow themselves up. Zawahiri apparently deems it a victory if one of his lunkheads blows himself up close enough to an American unit to take an American casualty. Oh, I suppose he imagines other glorious victories, for instance, a lunkhead blowing up a market and killing scores of Iraqis, or a hospital or a mosque. These calamities are not what are usually described as victories.


Apparently Al Qaeda franchises its name to terrorists in other countries. Thus there is "Al Qaeda in Iraq." Now it is time for the Democrats to franchise their name abroad. As neatly as Zawahiri's statement comports with the views of such Democrats as Sen. Harry Reid, who said last month that the war in Iraq is "lost," perhaps the Democrats will soon franchise their name to like-minded groups abroad. Perhaps they will make the Rev. Zawahiri the head of "Democrats in the Caves of Wajiristan." Maybe the Democrats and Al Qaeda can exchange greetings, with Reid in an online video repeating to the cave dwellers in Wajiristan his message of last month, "this war is lost," and the Rev. Zawahiri repeating his message of this month that our war is "lost."


But there are differences in the two groups' views on the Iraq war. The Democrats want us to get out, the sooner the better. Zawahiri is not so brash. In his message over the weekend he declared, "We ask Allah that they (the American and other coalition forces) get out after losing 200,000 to 300,000 killed." That means he wants our forces to remain in Iraq until 2207 and possibly 2307. Even President George W. Bush would not go that far. And Zawahiri believes that the casualties he envisages would constitute a dreadful "lesson," giving "the blood spillers in Washington and Europe an unforgettable lesson." That is how he put it over the weekend. What does he have against "blood spillers"? His dirty-necked galoots are wanton blood spillers. Frankly, I find the Rev. Zawahiri even more incoherent than Reid.


Pronouncing the American endeavor "lost" in Iraq is probably a good idea for those who hate America, but I do not think it is a very good idea for the Democrats. They did the very same thing toward the end of our military engagement in Vietnam, and that led to a decade of setbacks for American interests around the globe. It also led to some dreadful setbacks for the Democrats. In fact, with the exception of Bill Clinton's two elections and the recent mid-term elections, it has mostly been downhill for the Democrats since they bugged out on Vietnam and solemnized that war a "loss."


The war itself was not a military loss, though we certainly suffered a diplomatic defeat in Vietnam. Our military won every large engagement and most small ones. Our losses were in the range of 50,000, but the communist Vietnamese lost two and a half million, some 900,000 in combat. For two years after we evacuated the country, the South Vietnamese army held its own. What led to its defeat was a massive communist assault that went unopposed by American airpower when the Democrats in Congress pulled a Harry Reid and refused to support the use of airpower or even to re-supply the South Vietnamese.


Now we see the Democrats reenacting their Vietnam bug-out in Iraq. They cannot give us a military defeat there. Our army is too powerful. Yet they can give us another diplomatic defeat. If they do, my prediction is years of electoral defeats for the Democrats. As to a decade of setbacks for American interests abroad, that is a matter too terrible to contemplate.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles