Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 7, 2008 / 1 Adar I 5768

The Front-Page Story That Was Not

By Bob Tyrrell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In all the hullabaloo surrounding Super Tuesday's primaries and caucuses, perhaps the most important news story of the day slipped from sight or was reported only in fragments. I have in mind our intelligence community's annual appearance before the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence. There our spy chiefs appeared to report how the war against terror is going.


How I wish I had a seat on that committee just for the day. I would have a few questions of my own. One would be, "Have any of you fellows detected the whereabouts of Boy Clinton?" Since the South Carolina primary when Bill fanned the smoldering embers of his party's white racism, America's most recent redneck president has slipped from sight.


As I reported in my book on Bill's restless life in retirement, "The Clinton Crack-Up," his record of campaigning for others is dismal. In 2004, of the 14 candidates he campaigned for, 12 lost. Doubtless Hillary's strategists are even now pondering where to hide the big lovable oaf lest he do her campaign any more injury. They might consider hiding Hillary, too. She is proving to be an implausible candidate.


But back to our spy chiefs' appearance on Capitol Hill; a more serious question that I would like to have asked would be about that National Intelligence Estimate of late 2007. Why were its claims about Iran's nuclear plans so out of sync with those that the Bush administration had been making? Contrary to the administration, the NIE report claimed Iran had halted its nuclear arms program. What is more, this report conflicted with intelligence from France, the U.K. and Israel. In fact, Israel's spy agency, Mossad, reported this very week that Iran will have nuclear weapons in three years. Gratefully, National Intelligence Director Michael McConnell explained the discrepancy. The NIE report was faulty.


As reported in The New York Sun, "The director of national intelligence is backing away from his agency's assessment." McConnell explained, "If I had till now to think about it, I probably would change a few things." One would be "the way we describe the Iranian nuclear program." The Iranians have halted work on nuclear warheads, said McConnell, but they proceed with the more dangerous business of attempting the enrichment of uranium and procuring the capacity to hit North Africa and Europe with nuclear arms. So I am putting my money on Mossad's reports.


McConnell also gave a grave warning to senators about the survival of Pakistan, telling them, "In the last year, the number of terrorist attacks and deaths were greater than the past six years combined." The terrorists include members of al-Qaida and the Taliban, all of whom threaten Pakistan's "very survival." Another news story coming from McConnell at these momentous hearings is that al-Qaida is planning more attacks against the United States and had a plan in the works for attacking the White House as recently as 2006. Homegrown al-Qaida cells here have been primitive, but McConnell registered his concern that new, more sophisticated cells might threaten us domestically in the years ahead.


All these news stories are pretty gloomy. Whether the Democratic presidential candidates admit it or not, we are in a war with Islamofascists that will go on for years. Rolling up our forces abroad and bringing them home will neither end nor ameliorate the threat.


But there was one spy chief on the Hill this week with good news. CIA Director Michael Hayden confirmed that the CIA has used waterboarding and it works prodigiously. The agency only used this technique of simulated drowning three times since Sept. 11, saving it for terror leaders who have posed the utmost threat to our security: Abd al-Rahim al-Nashiri, mastermind of the attack on the USS Cole; Abu Zubaydah, the brains behind the thwarted millennium attacks; and Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, who directed Sept. 11 — as deserving a trio of barbarians as any waterboardist can imagine. From these brutes — and in the wink of an eye — Hayden reports the CIA got a quarter of all the human intelligence it obtained from 2002 to 2006. Now we also know that this impressive interrogation technique was undertaken not only with the knowledge of the Bush administration but also the knowledge of then-House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi and then-ranking Senate Intelligence Committee member Jay Rockefeller.


So the news from our chief intelligence practitioners is not all bad. It is sobering, however, because it should have been on the front pages of newspapers throughout the country.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Bob Tyrrell is editor in chief of The American Spectator. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles