Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Dec. 21, 2007 / 12 Teves 5768

That's their story, and that's that

By Wesley Pruden


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Nothing sets tongues wagging like tales of illicit sex, unless you're a candidate for president of the United States. That's when inquiries tie your tongue. This may be Bubba's only enduring legacy.

When a network cutie poses the questions to the Republican candidates, who collect wives like Elizabeth Taylor collects diamonds and husbands, the squirming is interesting to watch.

With little more than two weeks to go before the Iowa caucuses on Jan. 3, we're getting down to the really serious stuff. With no clear front-runner in either party, we've dispensed with the trivia of Iraq, immigration and health care, and moved on to the really important issues. Hillary's brother-in-law is behind in his alimony and child-support payments, Barack Obama felt insulted when Bob Kerrey, who likes Hillary, observed that "Barack Hussein Obama" would be particularly suited to reach out to the billions of Muslims in the world. Mitt Romney is still smarting over questions about his Mormon underwear. Mike Huckabee offended atheists and other Scrooges with his observation that Christmas is about the birth of Christ, and John McCain is pleading with the editors of the New York Times to spike an unflattering story about the senator and a lobbyist.

We all need a little something to relieve stress, so why not a little something about sex? Katie Couric of CBS News, in her quest to learn "what makes them tick," cited Harry S. Truman's stern judgment as justification for her question about marital fidelity: "A man not honorable in his marital relations is usually not honorable in any other."

The proposition is arguable now, at least by a lot of married men, Democrat as well as Republican, but in Mr. Truman's day no man, preacher or politician, dared flaunt his mistresses. Preachers can take a measure of comfort that the question still has the power to make a politician blush. Mzz Couric attached her question to a lazy softball and floated it to the plate: "Some voters say they don't feel comfortable supporting someone who has not remained faithful to his or her spouse. Can you understand or appreciate their point of view?"

Hillary Clinton was first up to plate, as she certainly deserved to be. "It's a deeply personal matter that I take personally," she said. (Take that, Bubba.) But she can think of people who have "represented our country, led our country ... who might have some, ah, challenges in their personal life."

Rudy Giuliani, the fragile front-runner who's had more than his share of wives and woman trouble, took a moment to settle down in the batter's box. "Sure I can [understand voter concerns]. Absolutely. You know, they look at every single part of us. And the only, only thing, I can say to people is that I'm not perfect, you know? And I've made mistakes in my life. And — and that — not — not just in that area ... Sometimes I just repeat them and you — you try again. I mean you, you, ah, so, I have maybe a more generous view of human beings and a more generous view of life. I mean it comes from growing up as a Catholic. I mean, we're all sinners. We're all struggling. We're all trying hard. We ask for forgiveness, and then we try to improve ourselves again. And I've — relate to other people that way. Relate to the world that way."

John Edwards, the smooth-talking trial lawyer, could have been speaking for the roster (and probably for most American voters) with his observation that marital fidelity is an appropriate gauge of character, but not the only one. "I think the most important qualities in a president in today's world are trustworthiness — sincerity, honesty, strength of leadership. And certainly [marital fidelity] goes to a part of that. It's not the whole thing. But it goes to a part of it."

Posing the question makes most people, guilty or not, squirm. But it's a fact of life, so to speak, that voters are entitled to judge a candidate — for governor, president or state land commissioner — by any criteria they choose. In Harry Truman's day the question would never have been asked. Adultery was no doubt as popular then as now, but the culture long ago discarded tact, taste and discretion, both public and private, to "let it all hang out." Now we're stuck with "all."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor in chief of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2007 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles