Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 12, 2006 / 19 Elul, 5766

Mr. Blair's warning to the sleepyheads

By Wesley Pruden


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Sometimes the most well-meaning politician can tell the truth with the bark on only as he makes his way out the back door. There's usually something in that farewell toast. In vino veritas.


Tony Blair, beginning the long goodbye to the British voters who once thought he was the greatest thing since sliced cheddar, tells an interviewer that the leaders of the West know very well that the struggle is against an Islam growing more radical and more powerful, but are afraid to say so.


"I think amongst the leaders in Europe it is clear," he tells the Jerusalem newspaper Ha'aretz. "Amongst the people in Europe and Western opinion there is a big battle to be won ... I think there is a desire not to face the fact that we are fighting a global struggle. There are all sorts of issues, and whether people want to be associated with America. There is sometimes a naivete about organizations like Hezbollah and activities of Iran ... There is a battle, and it is important that we take our case out and win that battle."


He doesn't flinch from comparing radical Islam armed with nuclear weapons to Hitler and the 1930s. "I think the warning signs are pretty clear."


George W. Bush seems to have reached this conclusion, too. After five years of avoiding saying what we've known to be true, the president decided it's no more Mr. Nice Guy. We haven't heard a treacly tribute to "the religion of peace" in months. Stereotypes are harsh and often unfair, and hundreds of millions of Muslims are no more a threat to the peace and security of the civilized world than a chapel full of Mennonites or Mormons. But millions are, and it's up to the hundreds of millions to dissolve the stereotype. Until that happy day arrives, the West has no choice but to dispense with an excess of good manners and confront whatever profiles in armed cowardice we meet.


Mr. Blair thinks the winds of war that blew through Lebanon blew away the clouds of empty cant and diplomatic fog in the Western chancelleries. Now that obsequies for the dead have concluded we can get on with concern for the still living. "While the conflict was going on, it was very difficult for people to think in terms of anything other than stopping the conflict. But I think there emerged a clearer notion of how this came about and how Iran and to an extent Syria are pulling the strings and ensuring that there is such conflict -- so I think there has been that greater clarity."


Part of clarity is coming to terms with the harsh reality of just who these Islamic jihadists are, and what they are after. The prime minister thinks there has been "a major change" in the strategic thinking among not only the leaders of the West, but among the people who put them in places of leadership. "People everywhere now see this global movement of extremism, they see Iran putting itself at the head of it, and there is a huge strategic interest that includes America, Europe, Israel and any Arab and Muslim countries that want a modern future."


A late education is better than no education at all, and Tony Blair moves toward the exits with an understanding of patty-cake liberalism that he did not have when he pushed John Major aside a decade ago. "Part of the problem you have in Western opinion is that [the West] always wants to believe that it's our fault and these people want to have a ... grievance culture that they visit upon us and say it's our fault. And so we have a young British-born man of Pakistani origin sitting in front of a television screen saying, 'I will go and kill innocent people because of the oppression of Muslims,' when he has been brought up in a country that has given him complete religious freedom and full democratic rights and actually a very good job and standard of living. That warped mind has grown out of a global movement based on a perversion of Islam which we have to confront, and we have to confront it globally."


First things first, and the first way to win a battle is to realize you're in a battle. "That's part of the trouble: We don't really understand this is a global movement and it requires a global strategy to beat it." Now Mr. Blair's likely successor, Gordon Brown, arrives with neither early nor late education, so far as anyone can tell. Late as it may be, his education likely will be expensive. We must pray (and not to Allah) that enough of his Western colleagues learn before it's too late.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor in chief of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2006 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles