Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 7, 2009 / 17 Menachem-Av 5769

Kim Jong-il plays ‘Let's make a deal’

By Wesley Pruden




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Bubba always lands on his feet. This time his size 12s landed on Page One, which he regards as his permanent natural home. He put Hillary in his shade as well, a genuine twofer.


We can all cheer the release of the two young women, Laura Ling, 32, and Euna Lee, 36, who were arrested nearly five months ago on North Korea's border with China. They were investigating human trafficking across the border where women are routinely bought and sold.


But we don't know yet what Bubba, carefully instructed by President Obama, paid for the two women, who were researching a project of Al Gore's television venture, Current TV. (Cooling the earth is apparently not a full-time day job.)


The White House insists that Bill Clinton flew to Pyongyang as "a private citizen," took no message from Barack Obama to Kim Jong-il, "the Dear Leader," and was authorized only to negotiate the release of the two women. But given President Obama's obsession with finding things in America's past to apologize for, you have to wonder. Bubba, a good old boy at heart, doesn't do apologies particularly well, but he understands diplomatic instructions.


Nobody could credibly accuse either George W. Bush or Barack Obama of getting tough with Kim Jong-il, and the Japanese and the South Koreans, who live in intimate proximity to the crazies in Pyongyang, have a legitimate worry that the Obama administration will descend from medium-soft to industrial-strength squishy. "South Korea and Japan remain exceedingly nervous that Obama will eventually abandon the U.S. policy of denuclearizing North Korea and accept a lower standard of merely preventing future nuclear proliferation," says Bruce Klingner, an analyst at the Heritage Foundation and a longtime observer of North Korean adventuring.


Over the past two decades, the North Koreans have played a successful shell game with the West, getting groceries to feed their starving millions and sending nothing but taunts and mockery in return. Kim flaunts his missiles, exports them to the Middle East and insists on talking only with someone really, really big from Washington, like a president. A former president might do for starters. Bubba's presence at the table — he's big enough — is an acceptable opening act.


Kim and his men know how to roll the weak, the willing and the unwary. Twenty years ago, Kim Il-sung, the original Great Leader and the father of the dear one, invited me and four colleagues from The Washington Times to Pyongyang, with promises that we would interview the top officials of the government. There were strong hints that we would meet the Great Leader himself. For two days, we were guided only to the cultural sights, with not a foreign minister, economic secretary or army chief of staff in sight. We were warned by Korean friends to expect delay, evasion and broken promises as the Korean negotiating tactic, and armed with suggestions for dealing with it. The managing editor and I threw a carefully practiced fit. "I didn't come here to see the Great Leader's birthplace, as inspiring as it is," I told our guides, "and we're going home." More promises followed, and later that day the interviews were scheduled. Nine days later, we had talked to every senior official of the Great Leader's government.


A dinner was scheduled on our final night, with stronger hints that Kim Il-sung would join us. All we got was a tough steak and a 40-minute "toast" by a high foreign office official. He viciously berated the United States, a succession of American presidents and "criminal American soldiers." I offered the ritual return toast to our hosts, reduced to this: "Here's to the president of the United States." Then I sat down.


The next day, from Hong Kong, I filed a dispatch about our visit to North Korea, writing only about the coincidence of meeting Billy Graham in Pyongyang and listening to him preach the Gospel to a small congregation in the very belly of the beast. A high official at the North Korean mission to the United Nations called to say he had read the Graham dispatch and to ask when the interviews would run. "They won't," I replied. "You promised Kim Il-sung. Billy Graham in Pyongyang is all we'll write about." He called back an hour later to ask whether I would return to Pyongyang for a meeting with the Great Leader. "No," I said, "but the managing editor will." And so she did, and we finally got everything promised — together with an insight, small but revealing, into how to deal with certain clever despots.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor emeritus of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2007 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles