Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 13, 2007 / 25 Shevat, 5767

The sucker bet, but a big payoff

By Wesley Pruden


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | SACRAMENTO, Calif. — Rudy Giuliani may be taking a sucker bet, but the man who cleaned up New York when they said it couldn't be done is putting down all his chips.


The hero of September 11 came to California over the weekend to address the Republican state convention and drew boisterous applause, even from some of the social conservatives, with a stomp-down defense of George W. Bush and a demand for new resolve in the war against the terrorists, in Iraq and anywhere else they are.


"I think in a time of war, you don't talk about pulling out," he said. Presidents don't do nonbinding resolutions, because they can't. "Presidents have to make decisions and move the country forward, and that's the kind of president I will want to be."


Mr. Giuliani was careful not to say he was absolutely, positively in the race for the Republican nomination, not quite yet, but when reporters badgered him later to ask when he would "formally" announce he badgered back. "If you go back to my speech, I think I may have. I'm not sure."


He arrived in Sacramento to speculation that he would get a tepid reception because a lot of California Republicans don't like some of the things he says about the issues dear to conservative hearts — abortion (he's not necessarily against it), guns (he's against 'em), same-sex "marriage" (he's definitely not against that) and marriage without the quotation marks (he has twice demonstrated that he's for that).


"I don't think his values are lining up too well with our values as Republicans," Jim Palmer, a delegate from Orange County, told the Sacramento Bee. He likes Mitt Romney (who became a Mormon a century too late to demonstrate how pro-marriage a man could be). "I think Rudy, with his lifestyle, brings a lot of baggage that will need to be addressed."


The baggage, unchecked and unaddressed, was left at the door. Duf Sundheim, the outgoing state chairman, introduced him as the man who lifted the nation's spirits in the wake of the Islamist attacks of September 11. "One of the lasting images of that terrible, terrible day," he said, "is the strength, the leadership and the compassion embodied in one man."


Mr. Sundheim said in an interview later that many Republicans who are put off by the Giuliani views on abortion, gays and guns nevertheless see him as the strong leader. "People have repeatedly said to me, 'Look, if it comes down to whether I'm going to get blown up or whether I get my way on a social issue, I want to be around. I need a strong leader who's going to protect me."


This is clearly the Giuliani strategy for dealing with the skepticism of the party's most conservative faithful. He returned several times to his experience in the aftermath of September 11. "Any time I felt down that day," he said, "all I had to do was look at my firefighters and police officers and rescue workers. I saw in their eyes their strength, their determination. They were the children and grandchildren of the men who fought and died to protect us in the Second World War, in Korea and in so many other places. This is our American spirit. We're going to prevail over terrorism because people who live in freedom know not only what they have to die for, but what they have to live for."


Strong stuff, and His Honor reached even farther into history for an invocation of resolve under siege. "Abraham Lincoln was able to say, 'I know my people are frustrated, and I know my people are angry at me.' But Lincoln had that ability that a leader has — a leader like George Bush, a leader like Ronald Reagan — to look into the future."


Risky stuff. The Democratic wannabes want to inspire by crying to everyone willing to listen that they want to stop the world to get off. Mr. Giuliani risks tying himself to a president not only unpopular, but reviled by large segments of a fickle public which venerates celebrity over all, eager to choose a president as if he were a candidate for "American Idol."


But he's a gambling man. An earlier date that lives in infamy fired Americans with what the Japanese commander at Pearl Harbor called "a terrible resolve." Rudy Guiliani thinks he can inspire the grandchildren of those men and women with a similar terrible resolve.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor in chief of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2007 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles