Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 9, 2007 / 21 Shevat, 5767

Now is the time for wishy-washy

By Wesley Pruden


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Mark Twain would have loved these guys. The old riverboat captain once remarked that anyone unhappy with the weather on the Mississippi should just wait a few minutes.
    If you don't like what John Edwards is saying about what to do about the jihadists in the Middle East, wait a few minutes. Hillary is resolute about Iraq, as she is about everything else. She was resolutely for the war once and she's resolutely against it now. Come back in a few minutes.
    John Edwards flinches, but only under fire, as in this exchange with Tim Russert of NBC's "Meet the Press." Would "President Edwards" allow Iran to develop a nuclear weapon?
    "I, I — there's no answer to that question at the moment. I think that it's a — it's a — it's a very bad thing for Iran to get a nuclear weapon."
    Yes, replied Tim, "but they may get one."
    "Yeah. I think — I think — I think the — we don't know, and you have to make a judgment as you go along, and that's what I would do as president."
    If you don't want wishy-washy, you could look up his answer to a similar question at last month's Herzliya Conference in Israel, where some of the world's deep thinkers, some deeper than others, met to give deep answers to deep questions.
    "Let me be clear," Mr. Edwards replied then. "Under no circumstances can Iran be allowed to have nuclear weapons. ... Once Iran goes nuclear, other countries in the Middle East will go nuclear, making Israel's neighborhood much more volatile."
    But wait. A few days later, Mr. Edwards was eager to clear up the muddle with a little muddy water. A correspondent for American Prospect magazine asked whether the United States and the rest of the world could live with a nuclear Iran.
    "I'm not ready to cross that bridge yet," replied the man who had earlier sounded like he had crossed the bridge and was ready to blow it up and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad with it. "I think we have lots of opportunities that we've [not exploited]. We're not negotiating with them directly, what I just proposed has not been done." And so forth and so on.
    Hillary, on the other hand, wants to keep the bridge intact. She likes bridges. She goes back and forth on them, sometimes this way, sometimes that way. "Let me add one other thing," she said in a speech the other day. "I want to be very clear about this. If I had been president in October of 2002, I would not have started this war."
    When a pol prefaces an answer to a question with the emphatic assertion that he or she "wants to be very clear about this," you can put it down that you've wandered into a suburb of Obfuscation City. "I would not — and if in Congress, if we in Congress, working as hard as we can to get the 60 votes you need to do anything in the Senate — believe me, I understand the frustration and outrage, you have to have 60 votes to cap troops, to limit funding, to do anything. If we in Congress don't end this war before January 2009, as president, I will."
    She expects to be very busy in the White House in January 2009, "because once and for all, we are going to provide quality, affordable, universal health care coverage to every single American." (Haven't we seen this movie before?) Not only that, she will have another four years to find out how those lost records wound up in her living quarters. Bill will have a lot of time on his hands, and he can help.
    These are the golden days for John Edwards, Hillary, Barack Obama — and let's not forget Joe Biden, always looking for a speech or a position paper to nip — who are free to say anything that pops into their heads, and nobody is the worse for it. The substance of what they're saying is not important. Substance, like the weather, is always changing. But how they say it, with one part wishy, another part washy, tells us a lot about how decisive we can expect them to be when the sound of the guns drowns out what they say.
    Nobody likes the war in Iraq, George W. Bush probably least of all. But it's worth remembering, as we watch John Edwards, Hillary and the gang stumbling, stammering and blundering through "answers" to the most straightforward questions, that they were among the 77 members of the U.S. Senate who voted to go to war, and basked in the praise of the 70 percent of the American people who shared their resolve. It's easy to bask when everyone is shocked and awed.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Wesley Pruden is editor in chief of The Washington Times. Comment by clicking here.

Wesley Pruden Archives

© 2007 Wesley Pruden

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles