Clicking on banner ads enables JWR to constantly improve
Jewish World Review August 31, 2000 / 30 Menachem-Av, 5760

Anne B. Adams and Nancy Nash-Cummings

Question Mark
JWR's Pundits
World Editorial
Cartoon Showcase

Mallard Fillmore

Michael Barone
Mona Charen
Linda Chavez
Ann Coulter
Greg Crosby
Larry Elder
Don Feder
Suzanne Fields
Paul Greenberg
Bob Greene
Betsy Hart
Nat Hentoff
David Horowitz
Marianne Jennings
Michael Kelly
Mort Kondracke
Ch. Krauthammer
Lawrence Kudlow
Dr. Laura
John Leo
David Limbaugh
Michelle Malkin
Jackie Mason
Chris Matthews
Michael Medved
MUGGER
Kathleen Parker
Wes Pruden
Debbie Schlussel
Sam Schulman
Roger Simon
Tony Snow
Thomas Sowell
Cal Thomas
Jonathan S. Tobin
Ben Wattenberg
George Will
Bruce Williams
Walter Williams
Cathy Young
Mort Zuckerman

Consumer Reports


Love those pot handles


http://www.jewishworldreview.com -- DEAR ANNE AND NAN: In 1960 or 1961, I purchased a set of stainless steel pots and pans. The name on the side of the pans is Kitchen Craft. I need to replace the handles on these pans. Could you find out where I can contact the company? I've looked on the Internet but have not been successful in finding any information. -- DONNA NARBER, Grand Island, Neb.

DEAR DONNA: Your Kitchen Craft pots and pans were made by the West Bend Co. To obtain replacement handles, you have two options: Either bundle up the old handles and send them to Customer Service, West Bend Co., 400 Washington St., West Bend, WI 53095, or call customer service at (262) 334-6949 to request ordering information. By the way, West Bend also has replacement handles and knobs for Lifetime Stainless Steel, LusterCraft, Kitchen Queen, Inkor, Aristocraft, Lavernware, Miracle Maid, Royal Queen and WonderWare. Whew!

DEAR ANNE AND NAN: Years ago, as a gift, I was given a sheepskin that was dyed red. I use it as a chair throw. At the time, I was told it could be washed, but I've forgotten the directions. Could you please tell me how to wash and dry it? -- ALICE VILLERS, Windsor, Mo.

DEAR ALICE: The following method is absolutely foolproof -- we promise. Wash your sheepskin in the washing machine with cold water and Woolite, using the gentle cycle. During the rinse cycle (also cold), add 1/4 cup hair conditioner or creme rinse. This serves to condition the skin and leave it soft and pliable. Spin only until all excess moisture has been removed. Dry the sheepskin in your dryer, set on the low heat/permanent press cycle. Be very careful not to overdry. Remove immediately and brush.

P.S. to Harvey Glander of Mount Prospect, Ill.: We suggest you use the above laundering method on your itchy wool sweaters. At the end of the spin cycle, remove the sweaters and lay them out flat to dry. We can't promise it will completely eradicate the itch factor, but it's worth a try.

STUMPED: Susan Benjamin of Baton Rouge, La., asks: "Do you know what the answer to this is? When we drop a piece of silverware, we say, 'Company is coming!' I used to know but have now forgotten what a fork, spoon or knife represents. A man? A woman? A child? Can you help solve this for me? And what's the history?"

We haven't a clue! Readers?

HINT OF THE WEEK: To remove mildew odor from leather, Beth Branthover of Black Lick, Pa., suggests: "Use half white vinegar and half water in a spray bottle. Spray the entire surface and let dry. If the mildew odor persist, spray again. This solution also takes salt stains off leather shoes and boots."


Write to "Ask Anne & Nan" at P.O. Box 240, Hartland, VT 05048.


08/28/00: Bluing stains vintage quilt
08/21/00: Old Faithful runs out of steam
08/17/00: Find it in Vermont
08/14/00: Keys to worm-composting
08/10/00: Need sun protection?
08/09/00: Earth shoe improves posture
08/07/00: Fend off freezer burn
08/03/00: Patterns go high-tech
07/31/00: How to remove a heat stain from a dark dining room table
07/24/00: New strings renew glove
07/17/00: Returning Vietnam POW bracelet
07/10/00: Rockwell plates, and more
07/07/00: Hot water powers dishwasher
07/05/00: When bath towels become unraveled
06/28/00: Revive your flat carpet; hand-made ice cream
06/23/00: Dishwasher rust stains dishes
06/14/00: Making a tea-bag potpourri
06/13/00: It's "Where can I find?" time again!
06/12/00: Aging mars heirloom table
06/07/00: Tips for cleaning glassware
06/06/00: Dirty windows are a pane
06/05/00: Reader tears up the down
06/02/00: Get gook off washer
06/01/00: Potty-train with style
05/31/00: Outboard motors are a big hit
05/30/00: Getting crayon off the TV
05/24/00: Keeping kitty off of car
05/11/00: Searching for missing dad
05/10/00: Take care with old chairs
05/08/00: Toy stove heats up in value
05/06/00: Finding organic fertilizer
05/04/00: Sniffing out Tattle Tales
05/03/00: Replacing typewriter ribbon
05/01/00: Rare-book preservation
04/28/00: Donating to war memorial
04/25/00: Where-to-find roundup
04/24/00: Explosion loosens tiles
04/19/00: Is `Little Irene' worth a little more?
04/18/00: Old-fashioned jingle bells
04/14/00: Finding lost poetry in leaves
04/13/00: Inexpensive wedding gifts
04/12/00: Finding floral hankies
04/10/00: Find almost everthing here
04/07/00: Lots of reader feedback
04/06/00: Maggot munchies
04/04/00: Definitions of sounds in a car
04/03/00: Cleaning burn stains
03/31/00: Reprinting a favorite
03/30/00: Finding extra-long sheets
03/29/00: Help for a devoted fan
03/28/00: Cleaning an old silk lampshade
03/27/00: Keeping gardens cat-free
03/23/00: Collectible outboard motors
03/22/00: Removing crayon stains
03/21/00: Appraising antique miniature table
03/20/00: Removing hair dye from skin
03/17/00: Traditional anniversary gift list
03/16/00: Write to the stars
03/14/00: Cleaning stains on Formica
03/13/00: Homemade drain cleaner
03/09/00: Where to find laundry soap
03/07/00: Where to find box-springs covers
03/07/00: Turn old T-shirts into a quilt
03/06/00: Removing driveway stains
03/03/00: Caring for ivory
03/02/00: Getting pet stains out of carpet
02/28/00: Getting rid of hard-water deposits
02/25/00: Houseplants may help sinuses
02/24/00: A safer way to make soap
02/23/00: Cleaning and storing crochet work
02/22/00: Summer Macs vs. winter Macs
02/18/00: Removing rust stains in bathroom
02/17/00: Finding the perfect steam mold
02/15/00: Caring for down comforters
02/14/00: How virtual publishing works
02/11/00: Silver-plating table ornaments
02/09/00: Caring for poinsettias year-round
02/08/00: 'Where Can I Find?' responses
02/04/00: Homemade tarnish remover
02/03/00: Our readers to the rescue
02/02/00: Cutting down on catalog mail
02/01/00: Flattening a latch-hook rug
01/28/00: Old appliance? Join the club!
01/27/00: Where can I find... ?
01/26/00: Getting crayon stains off Formica
01/20/00: Handy-dandy pie-crust bag
01/20/00: Must we keep all those receipts for taxes?
01/19/00: Vermont Country Store to the Rescue!
01/18/00: Fireplace guards for curious babies
01/14/00: Olympian stamp not worth much
01/13/00: Recycling old furs
01/12/00: Getting mustiness out of cupboards
01/11/00: Odd-sized ironing board covers
01/06/00: Getting ink out of dolls
01/05/00: Getting rust out of Grandpa's kettle
01/04/00: Caution for Aruba tourists
01/03/00: "Don't Stand at My Grave and Weep"
12/29/99: Antiquing kit no longer available
12/28/99: Wooden needles and kitty jerky
12/27/99: No safe way to fix canning crocks
12/23/99: Stove-top egg poachers
12/22/99: Getting smoky grime off cabinets
12/20/99: The ABCs of P's and Q's
12/17/99: Feedback, stumped and a needle in a haystack!
12/16/99: Searching for Spike Jones
12/15/99: Are aluminum pots and pans dangerous?
12/13/99: Repairing heirloom brushes

© 2000, NEA