Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 4, 2007 / 16 Iyar, 5767

Better licking through chemistry?

By Jonah Goldberg


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Goldberg household is less cheerful than normal these days. Cosmo the Wonderdog recently had ACL (anterior cruciate ligament) surgery on one of his back knees. Last summer he had the same surgery on his other hind leg. When he was a 1-year-old he had surgery on a front leg because of an unrelated joint problem. Plus, there have been the usual accidents and mishaps normally associated with active canines.


Dog-owning readers with even remotely similar experience might be doing some quick mental calculations. And right about now they're concluding that I've spent enough money on Cosmo to buy a pretty good car.


But we don't complain about the money, at least not much, because we love our dog. A lot. Which is why his generally gloomy state has cast a pall over the entire house. Dog owners know what I mean. When your dog's not home, the house feels empty. And when he spends all day on his bed seemingly plotting revenge on his human overlords or mentally composing letters to Amnesty International about his mistreatment, it's impossible to escape the contagion of his funk — particularly when he has to wear that cone-shaped collar (which prevents him from nipping at his stitches). He looks up at me from the center of that plastic flower, saying with his eyes "this thing demeans us both."


I bring all of this up for several reasons, chief among them I want to be clear that I understand the desire to make our dogs — and, yes, I suppose cats too — happy.


But not all forms of happiness are the same. We spend this money on Cosmo so he can once again personify pure doggie goodness in the many good years he has left. Some people, on the other hand, want to spend money on their dogs to keep them from being doggy.


You may have heard that Eli Lilly, the maker of Prozac, has just launched Reconcile, a chewable, beef-flavored antidepressant. It's designed to lessen separation anxiety for dogs left alone for long periods of time. "A lot of people who have this problem with their pets will come home to a trashed house," a Lilly spokesman told the Associated Press.


I'm sympathetic to better living through chemistry, but isn't there something shameful to this?


Dogs are pack animals. The romance of lone wolves notwithstanding, most canines don't want to be alone. Cosmo is spoiled in this regard. My wife and I work from home, and he's rarely left alone for extended periods of time. (And when he is, he tends to surf the Web using my credit cards. Need an extra metric ton of tennis balls, only slightly chewed?)


As a general rule, if you find that your normal dog needs to be put on antidepressants just to get through the day, maybe you shouldn't have a dog. Or, perhaps you shouldn't have a breed that can't tolerate long periods of inactive isolation.


For example, when I see city residents walking border collies — the Nietzschean ubermenschen of the canine world — on leashes, it drives me crazy. These dogs were designed through eugenic engineering to work their minds and bodies every day at enormously high levels, not get a few minutes' walk to Starbucks.


At first, I couldn't stand the cable TV show "The Dog Whisperer" because the host, Cesar Millan, uses New Agey mumbo jumbo about "energy" and "color" to explain himself. But after watching a few shows, you realize that Millan knows what he's doing, and to the extent he uses some silly buzz phrases, it's because he needs to explain to often clueless dog owners that — surprise! — dogs need to exercise. In almost every episode, at least one of the dogs is a mess because he's left alone all day and doesn't get out much.


Some breeders are finally catching up with reality and breeding dogs that make sense for modern urban living. Portuguese water dogs are great, but most condo owners don't need a dog to deliver messages between fishing boats. Of course, traditionalists object to the new crops of labradoodles (Labrador/poodles) and puggles (pug/beagles), but this is absurd. Most dog breeds were created to do jobs like rat-catching, herding and the like. There aren't enough openings for those jobs today. But there is still a lot of demand for the love of a good dog, so if we're going to have dog breeding at all (I'm very pro pound dog), why not breed to fit today's needs?


It sure beats the Brave New World of medicating dogs to keep them from being dogs.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


To comment on JWR contributor Jonah Goldberg's column click here.

Jonah Goldberg Archives

© 2006 TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles