Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 11, 2014 / 13 Sivan, 5774

Expanding the reach and lifelong impact of teachers

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | For years I have been reporting on and learning from ASCD, previously the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. Its characteristic challenge to teachers in "The Myth of Student Engagement" (inservice.ascd.org, April. 15) begins:

"Each day that you enter your classroom, are you educating students? Or are you teaching at them?

"Do your lessons only improve their academic knowledge? Or do they foster their personal growth?"

And then: "You could shift your perspective to stop teaching at students and begin learning about them."

In a few places around the nation, it's not only ASCD asking and doing something about these questions. Before examining where this is happening, I cannot resist starting with a single teacher who is answering those questions by herself -- without the exceptionally knowledgeable and creative ASCD staff.

New York Daily News reporter Megan Monk shows how "a Queens second-grade teacher is cultivating lifelong learners through hands-on activities in her school garden" ("Queens teacher takes learning from the classroom to the garden," Megan Monk, New York Daily News, June 6).

At Public School 146 in Howard Beach, Jodi Tucci got approval from her school to plant "a garden on the property where the children could learn about plants, bugs, ecosystems and clouds in a real-world environment."

She tells the Daily News: "This is the best way for them to get excited and motivated about what they're learning."

That isn't all her kids are learning about. Monk writes: "To supplement what they study in school, Tucci's class takes trips to museums, aquariums and historical sites in Manhattan." Remember: These are second-grade students. Tucci discusses her methods with the Daily News: "When they look at the exhibits we visit, the students remember everything I taught them. I link these trips to what we learn in the classroom to make it a real-life experience."

Getting back to the garden, she also uses it "as a space for her pupils to read outdoors."

And dig this: "She allows them to choose their own books based on what they are interested in learning about."

Wow! That's how I got so much of my education, from elementary school on.



For instance, at the public library near my home, the librarian, seeing what I was reading, broke the rule that limited the number of books borrowed per visit at certain ages and gave me whatever volumes I chose.

"Inspired by teachers who taught her to value knowledge," Monk writes, "(Tucci) studied education and anthropology and set out to become a teacher who would influence others to explore the world around them."

And I treasure this credo from Jodi Tucci herself:

"I always wanted learning to make sense and to be motivating and fun. I want children to love learning."

If I still had children of a very young age, I'd strongly consider moving near Public School 146 in Howard Beach, Queens, so they'd get to know and be known individually by Jodi Tucci.

In addition to Tucci and Public School 146, the expansion of children's diverse learning experiences is underway in certain school districts around the country, as we'll see as this series continues.

A leading facilitator of this expansion is the National Center on Time and Learning in Boston (also with a Washington, D.C., office). Its president, Jennifer Davis, explains to Charlie Boss of The Columbus Dispatch:

"There is a need and feeling from teachers that they need more time to build (students') skills and collaborate with their peers" ("Students can get help in person after hours," Charlie Boss, The Columbus Dispatch, Sept. 22, 2013).

"Schools and school districts and families don't want the curriculum to be narrowed. They want to have a broader educational experience."

This is covered further in the summary of an NCTL report ("The Case for Improving and Expanding Time in School") found on the organization's website: "Schools that have broken from the bounds of the conventional calendar and schedule offer promising alternatives to the status quo" ("Why Time Matters," timeandlearning.org).

And according to the executive summary of a different NCTL report ("Time Well Spent"): "Many of the high-performing, expanded-time schools in this report place a premium on providing a broad array of learning opportunities in such areas as the arts, foreign languages, hands-on science, business, community service and leadership" (timeandlearning.org).

Meanwhile, the Center for American Progress references another NCTL report in a recent article on expanded school days. The report cited, among others, Roger Williams Middle School in Providence, Rhode Island. (Williams, an independent religious leader during our early, pre-Revolution years and one of the first anti-slavery abolitionists here, is one of my primary American heroes.)

At this school, "where the majority of students are poor, with many coming from non-English-speaking homes and nearly one-quarter receiving special-education services," there is collaboration "with three community partners to provide students with a robust arts program, which is integrated throughout the school's curriculum, along with a variety of after-school offerings" ("All Hands on Deck: How Expanded Learning Time and Community Partners Can Benefit Students," Tiffany D. Miller, americanprogress.org, May 19).

Were Roger Williams still here, I think he would audit some of those programs.

I became belatedly interested in these liberations of the joyful surprises of learning from Charlie Boss' report in The Columbus Dispatch:

"Hilliard (Ohio) students now have a place where teachers help with homework assignments, college counselors hold office hours, and computers are available -- long after the school day ends."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast