Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review June 4, 2014 / 6 Sivan, 5774

In 2016, will enough of us vote for the Constitution?

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | In response to my previous column supporting Rand Paul, whom I regard as the Constitution's candidate for the presidency, I heard from constitutional lawyer Harvey Silverglate. He's the co-founder of the Foundation for Individual Rights in Education, or FIRE, the most actively efficient teacher of the First Amendment in our history on college campuses -- and now beginning to include high schools.

He told me: "You have given both liberals and conservatives a real choice."

I would add that Paul is a choice for those Americans who care about the accelerating disintegration of our Constitutional individual liberties under George W. Bush, Dick Cheney and Barack Obama -- liberties that are meant to distinguish us from all other nations.

The results of this 2016 election can cut so deeply into political allegiances. It will bring us again to the brink of losing who we are. Like in 1798, when President John Adams and Congress pushed through the Alien and Sedition Acts, imprisoning critics of Congress and the presidency only seven years after the Bill of Rights was ratified. Saving us, Thomas Jefferson defeated Adams' lunge for a second term.

With Bush, Cheney and Obama having mutilated our Fifth, Sixth, Ninth, 10th and 14th Amendments that guarantee individual rights, We The Diminished People should acknowledge a survival warning I once heard from Justice William Brennan, whom I had gotten to know well:

"Look, pal, we've always known -- the Framers knew -- that liberty is a fragile thing. You can't give up."

Alas, many of us have yet to learn that.

Among those we can assume are running for president, Rand Paul has most insistently not given up. For example, his anger at what he calls "the shredding of the Constitution" is not oratorical, but comes from inside -- as when he spoke at the influential Conservative Political Action Conference in Washington, D.C., in March:

"If you have a cellphone, you are under surveillance; I believe what you do on your cellphone is none of their damn business."

And in his book, "Government Bullies: How Everyday Americans Are Being Harassed, Abused, And Imprisoned By The Feds" (Center Street, 2012), he referred to what is happening to us at airports, thanks to the Transportation Security Administration:

"The TSA is a grand testament to Islamic terrorists' success -- the scene in any airport pre-9/11 versus post-9/11 is now perceived as a major victory by our enemies. We have given up so many of our liberties, all in the name of preventing another tragedy like 9/11 -- and that's a tragedy in itself."

And dig this: At the CPAC event in Washington, Paul said, "The Fourth Amendment's equally as important as the Second Amendment, and conservatives cannot forget this."

The Constitution prizes personal privacy as much as it does your right to have a gun for self-defense!

Paul told those at CPAC to "imagine a time when the White House is once again occupied by a friend of liberty ... I'm talking about electing lovers of liberty."



Ben Jacobs at The Daily Beast wrote: "Paul's speech came as a sharp change from other speakers, who were more focused on the Republican Party and insuring the role of conservatives within the GOP. Rick Santorum thought the GOP needed to appeal to blue collar voters, Ted Cruz thought it needed to nominate more conservatives and Mike Huckabee thought it needed to appeal to people of faith. But the Kentucky senator wasn't concerned with what the Republican Party needed to do.

"He was concerned about the Constitution" ("Rand Paul Mixes Pink Floyd and the Constitution at CPAC," Ben Jacobs, The Daily Beast, March 7).

And at Paul's now-fabled 13-hour filibuster speech last year, he showed his freedom from dutifully loyal Republican dictates. The website bookwormroom.com listed such tweets celebrating Paul's stand as John Maniscalco's: "Thank you, SenRandPaul for literally standing up for liberty!" ("Rand Paul Defends Constitution -- Mounts Filibuster Against Drone Use," bookwormroom.com, March 7, 2013.)

Meanwhile, conservative blog The Mental Recession, citing a story on Business Insider's website, reported: "The entire conservative blogosphere was energized by Rand Paul's defense of the Constitution, Due Process and the American people ... and (John) McCain ridicules them as 'impressionable libertarian kids.'

"Lindsey Graham also chimed in, saying he was 'disappointed' with those (senators) who joined Paul's filibuster" ("Video: Here Is What Is Wrong With Your GOP Today -- McCain Tells Rand Paul to 'Calm Down,'" Rusty Weiss, menrec.com, March 7, 2013).

But do McCain and Graham represent the Republican Party that can win the presidency in 2016 and control Congress after November's elections?

More and more of the nation's electorate are changing past allegiances as they search to define themselves more clearly as individual Americans.

In a future column, we'll explore these changes and the reasons for them. Here's one intriguing illustration, in a May 11, 2014, letter to the New York Post from a reader in Metuchen, New Jersey:

"As an American black woman ... I voted for our president the first time. The second time, I did not. The Obamas have made the White House vulgar -- Michelle with the trips with her mother and friends, and the president golfing when the country is in distress.

"I do not see color when I vote. Just because he is black does not mean I'm color-blind. I have had people look at me strangely because I will not OK all of his mistakes. I also had a lot to say about George W. Bush, too" (Letters, New York Post, May 11).

I'm not predicting she'll vote for Rand Paul. But who will she vote for? More of us are looking into the nation's future -- and ours -- seriously as voters.

That's what self-government is supposed to be, isn't it?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast