Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review May 28, 2014 / 28 Iyar, 5774

The distinctive core of Sen. Rand Paul

By Nat Hentoff




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I was shocked to learn that Democratic Sen. Ron Wyden of Oregon, a persistent critic of the Obama administration's far overreach of the Constitution's separation of powers, had turned around last fall and supported the CIA's drone plane killing of American citizen Anwar al-Awlaki in 2011. Al-Awlaki was on a "kill list" signed by Obama, wholly outside of constitutional due process ("Senators defend killing of Anwar al-Awlaki as legal," Adam Serwer, msnbc.com, Nov. 26, 2013).

I had often praised Wyden.

Yes, al-Awlaki was an effective propagandist for terrorism, but he was not murdered in the course of battle. Last week, Rand Paul spoke about this drone assassination when he filibustered the nomination of David Barron to a seat on the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in Boston. It was Barron, in the Justice Department's Office of Legal Counsel, who wrote two memos legally justifying the killing of al-Awlaki.

Said the libertarian Republican senator and presidential aspirant from Kentucky: "There is no legal precedent for killing American citizens not directly involved in combat ... any nominee who rubber stamps and grants such power to a president is not worthy of being placed one step away from the Supreme Court" ("The Senate Foolishly Rushes In," The New York Times, May 22).

Yet in supporting Paul for president -- if he is nominated -- I am aware of other positions he has taken that have troubled me and many others.

For instance, he has been accused of objecting to the Civil Rights Act of 1964 because it prohibited private owners of restaurants and other such places from refusing to serve black customers.

Actually, Paul has repeatedly claimed that he would not have voted against the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as a whole. In 2010, he told The Louisville Courier-Journal: "I do believe in private ownership. But I think there should be absolutely no discrimination in anything that gets any public funding, and that's most of what the Civil Rights Act was about, to my mind."

That same year, Paul told NPR's "All Things Considered": "What I've always said is that I'm opposed to institutional racism, and I would've, had I been alive at the time, I think, had the courage to march with Martin Luther King to overturn institutional racism, and I see no place in our society for institutional racism."

Another charge is that the senator, like his father, Ron Paul, is an isolationist, and were he president, he would not get us involved in any foreign nations' violations of human rights.

However, in Time magazine, Paul wrote:

"Vladimir Putin's invasion of Ukraine is a gross violation of that nation's sovereignty and an affront to the international community ...

"Putin must be punished for violating the Budapest Memorandum, and Russia must learn that the U.S. will isolate it if it insists on acting like a rogue nation.

"This does not and should not require military action ... Economic sanctions and visa bans should be imposed and enforced without delay. I would urge our European allies to leverage their considerable weight with Russia and take the lead on imposing these penalties ... I would reinstitute the missile-defense shields President Obama abandoned in 2009 in Poland and the Czech Republic" ("Sen. Rand Paul: U.S. Must Take Strong Action Against Putin's Aggression," time.com, March 9).

That is not quite "isolation."

Furthermore, at this year's Conservative Political Action Conference in Washington, D.C., Paul beat other prospective Republican presidential candidates in CPAC's straw poll.



Al Seltzinger, one of the conference attendees, incisively summarized the case for a Rand Paul vote that day and on Election Day: "I think the way the nation is going today with the government and the president going against the Constitution that we need someone who holds strict to the Constitution and whose voting record is pretty solid when it comes to the Constitution" ("CPAC 2014: Straw poll signals Paul-Cruz showdown for conservative voters," Seth McLaughlin, The Washington Times, March 9).

As of now, from what I know of all the candidates for the presidency across the political spectrum, that advice for regenerating the Constitution defines Rand Paul.

I grew up during the "Great" Depression in a low-income household in Boston that prized a statue of Franklin Delano Roosevelt at the wheel of the New Deal. We, like the great majority of that neighborhood, always voted on the Democratic line.

But when Wendell Willkie ran against FDR in 1940, I greatly angered members of my family and others in the neighborhood by saying if I were old enough, I'd vote for him. I was 15 and had done some of my own reading on the Constitution and the diverse history of its vulnerability from both political parties. And Roosevelt had too often been an imperial president.

Since then, I do not vote for any office by the party of the contestant.

Next week, I'll explore what Rand Paul's nomination might mean in light of the opening sentence to a recent Gallup report, "Voter Enthusiasm Down Sharply From 2010":

"A majority of U.S. registered voters, 53 percent, say they are less enthusiastic about voting than in previous elections, while 35 percent are more enthusiastic. This 18-percentage-point enthusiasm deficit is larger than what Gallup has measured in prior midterm election years, particularly in 2010, when there was record midterm enthusiasm" (Jeffrey M. Jones, gallup.com, May 12).

And look what we got then. But Rand Paul would run with the insistence of James Madison to clearly bring back the Constitution.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Nat Hentoff is a nationally renowned authority on the First Amendment and the Bill of Rights and author of several books, including his current work, "The War on the Bill of Rights and the Gathering Resistance". Comment by clicking here.

Nat Hentoff Archives

© 2013, NEA

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast