Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Nov 9, 2011 / 12 Mar-Cheshvan, 5772

Women who admire their mothers-in-law

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I don't know of any father-in-law jokes. Nor, for that matter, do I remember ever hearing someone complain about his or her father-in-law.

Ahh, but mothers-in-law. They are the stuff of legend. And of situation comedies. Who can ever forget Endora on "Bewitched" or countless other such stock characters? Letters to advice columnists are filled with plaintive cries, primarily from wives, asking what to do about the "difficult" mother of their spouse. The stereotype of the overbearing, meddling mother-in-law translates across cultures and apparently eons. An ancient Roman author even said that one cannot be happy while one's mother-in-law is still alive.

This backdrop is why I was so surprised to be in a gathering of women recently, and when asked, "Whom do you most admire in this world?," hear not one, not two, but three sharp, young, professional women answer: their mothers-in-law.

Three wives proclaiming that in this world they most admired their husband's mother? Really? I had to find out more. Maybe not least of all because I hope to be a mother-in-law to four spouses someday.

We hear all the time about what meddling mothers-in-law are doing wrong. What are the mothers-in-law of these young wives doing right?

So, I asked each to tell me more. One spoke of how her husband's mother, who lives only a few houses down the street, is incredibly loving and encouraging. She doesn't pry, but does appropriately open up about how she is handling struggles she is facing in her own life. And when my young friend asks for her mom-in-law's input, then and only then it is offered in a way that is constructive. Even though this mom lives close by -- maybe especially because she lives close by -- she never drops by unannounced or even on short notice. But, she will occasionally do "acts of service" that she has reason to know will be welcome. Cleaning a bathroom or delivering flowers before a party as a surprise to her daughter-in-law, for instance. But even there, only when she has cleared it with her son ahead of time.

Another young wife told me how she has watched her mother-in-law live faithfully and have integrity over time, not just in her marriage, but in all her relationships. This young wife has, she shared, watched her husband's mother face real adversity. But she does it so well and so humbly that she is an example of a wise woman my young friend wants to emulate. And, she said, she and her mother-in-law are able to be very intimate and have open conversations without my young friend ever feeling judged. She said her mother-in-law has a way of focusing in relationships on what is lasting and significant, not what is shallow. She also happily takes the view that her son belongs to his wife, not his mom!

Still another of these women shared that her mother-in-law is encouraging in every way. as well. My friend feels loved and accepted and also able to have an intimate relationship with her husband's mom. Her mother-in-law is nonintrusive, but makes herself available to listen. When asked to, she will speak truth, my friend said, much of it from her own experience. But she does it in a way that isn't critical, yet with compassion and gentleness calls a person to examine her own actions and motivations first.

And every one of these young wives volunteered to me that they were so blessed their mothers-in-law intentionally pray for them, their marriages, their family lives -- and they let their daughters-in-law know it.

I have a feeling these moms think their daughters-in-law do a lot of the right things, too.

Note to (future) self: such relationships may not be the stuff of sitcoms, but they sure are a beautiful result of grace.

(If you have a story about a special daughter-in-law, feel free to share it for a future column at the mailbox below.)

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus…on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2007, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles