Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Sept. 12, 2007 / 29 Elul, 5767

Keeping sports fun for kids

By Betsy Hart


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Kids and sports. Let the angst begin.


"As millions of kids take to fields, courts and rinks this fall, as many as half to two-thirds are destined to quit sports by their teens, largely because they're not having fun, studies show. A trend toward specialization — pressure for kids to play just one competitive sport year-round — is one reason, researchers say."


That's according to a recent article by Sue Shellenbarger in The Wall Street Journal.


She notes that even for many children as young as 8 or 9, forget local, fun leagues of, say, soccer in the fall, baseball in the spring and maybe a little swim team in the summer. More and more kids, even in the third and fourth grades, are quitting the once-typical variety of sports to specialize, intensely, in one key sport. Sports psychologists even report seeing more and more very young clients.


And whether moms and dads are orchestrating or just enabling the intensity, we parents play a big part in how we push our kids today.


For starters, typically these children are on "travel teams." Which, as the name suggests, means the team "travels" — sometimes hours or even by plane — to meet and play another team of its caliber. (It seems the other local, recreational teams aren't good enough.) I increasingly know parents who literally have no weekend life outside of shuttling their kids to travel tournaments.


Are these kids any more proficient athletically, or more likely to be professional athletes, than the jocks I knew when I was a kid? No. But this sports culture on steroids (so to speak) was unknown when I was young.


I have a good friend, a mom of five, who has several kids who love sports but one in particular who is outstanding. She says that when the local soccer coach comes to talk to her about "travel soccer" for her young son, she runs and hides. She refuses to totally disrupt her family life for the travel-team schedule, and notes that her child is not going to be a professional soccer player and that there are plenty of local recreational teams where he can have a lot of fun and do well in a sport he enjoys — long before he can even think about being on a high-school team.


Lest anyone think this woman is a sports neophyte, she is a former champion high-school swimmer who excelled in her sport long before Title IX was all the rage, and who is adamant about the value of fitness for her kids.


It's just that, unlike a lot of parents, she has things in perspective. Her hope is that her kids will make a lifetime out of fitness and fun and all the great benefits of being good at a sport they enjoy. The evidence suggests that she's the one on the right track.


Shellenbarger writes that "a recent focus-group study of 67 school officials, coaches, parents and teens" found that the stress of specializing in a sport is "linked to higher injury risk, reduced motivation and burnout."


What's the point of that?


I'm all for sports involvement. My kids are not intense about sports, but they are active and they enjoy them. I don't have any sports prodigies in my family, and I'm not sure what I would do if I did. (News flash: Folks, most parents don't have sports prodigies in their families.) I also think it's really important to be somewhat "good" at a sport, but only because some level of proficiency brings enjoyment, and, hopefully, a lifelong commitment to fitness.


Myself, I'm a decent alpine skier, and that makes it a lot of fun. It also makes me want to stay in shape so I can continue to enjoy my favorite sport. When I hit 40, I took up serious weightlifting, largely so I could continue to perform well in the sport I love. Of course, the weightlifting had benefits far beyond skiing.


That's what I want for my kids. A love for fitness and doing well because it brings personal satisfaction and health. The evidence suggests that specializing in year-round swimming at age 9 — Shellenbarger's opening example — does just the opposite. It leads to frustration and burnout for our kids.


Parents will say that intense sports, even at very young ages, keep kids out of trouble, or teach them skills they might not otherwise learn. Look, I'm sure there are some benefits. I'm just also convinced we really let down our kids when we take the "play" out of "play ball!"

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2007, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles