Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 16, 2007 / 2 Elul, 5767

Uncool in a minivan and loving it

By Betsy Hart


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | So, 15 years of working to convince me that my minivan and I are cool, and now the car industry has turned on its heels and we minivan owners are supposed to suddenly decide that we are all washed up.


There it was in "The Minivan is Dead. Long Live the Minivan?" by Matt Vella in The Wall Street Journal this week. Vella writes: "Long stigmatized as terminally unhip suburban kid transporters, minivans have been facing a reckoning of sorts of the past year, with some manufacturers giving up on the segment altogether." Apparently, Ford is finished with them. General Motors will soon follow. Why? Because minivan sales are plummeting. "Crossovers," sort of large truck/car combos, are now all the rage.


One minute the car industry is courting me, now it is dissing me. What is that?


To add insult to injury, Wes Brown, head of the L.A. automotive marketing firm Iceology, told the Journal that, ultimately, the minivan "is a symbol of being stuck in the rut of having a family."


Uh, yeah. That's me. The "rut woman."


Now listen up, my automotive friends. Don't mess with me. Back in the mid-1990s, when I had only a couple of very young kids, I wrote that I'd rather endure a root canal than drive a minivan. Then shortly after baby No. 3 came along, everything changed. You helped it to change. I took a test drive in a minivan "for grins" — and I was hooked.


And in 2003, when it was time to change cars again and baby No. 4 was 2 years old, there was no going back. I wrote then about how I salivated over the arrival of my new Toyota Sienna minivan. I still have it and, together, the van, the four kids and I have been through a lot — and we are going strong.


Do you know what sold me, the rut woman, on the minivan? It was the sliding passenger doors. Yes, the sliding doors, which apparently define the minivan and the rut woman and make me so unhip. Brown told the Journal: "Frankly, sliding doors are what give minivans open access, but that's what makes them uncool."


Back up, pal. Here's the definition of "cool":


Running out the door, consistently 18 minutes late to everything, and yelling to the children, "Kids, get into the car!," and hitting the button so that the doors open by remote. There are no worries that my kids are going to slam the car next to them as they get in and out, no concerns that I'm going to be standing there, resting grocery bags on their heads while I try to open the doors.


You know what's cool? Dropping off a child somewhere, and easily popping the door closed behind him or her by the touch of a button. No slammed doors, just a gentle hum as it slides back into place. One less thing to worry about.


But apparently loving that feature is what makes me a rut woman. At least that's what Vella says. You know what? I'd like to get my uncool sliding car doors around Vella's presumably very hip neck and tell him what I think about his trying to redefine my entire life.


Look. It took me a while to get to a place of peace in my unhip life. But I'm here now. I get that I'm the opposite of so-hip writer Carrie Bradshaw in "Sex and the City." This writer and single mom of four is "No Sex and the Suburbs," and I'm OK with that! I'm over hip. Hip got me nowhere.


I'm sensible shoes, and sales at Target, and sliding doors on my minivan — and now Brown and his oh-so-hip pals, who helped to sell me on the whole deal to begin with, want to take it away and pronounce me so yesterday.


Well, Brown and friends, here's the thing: I'm not going anywhere. I'm finally at an age and stage in life when I am A-OK with uncool. It's manageable, definable, achievable and so very comfortable. It's even kinda fun. It works, it fits, and you'll have to pry the minivan you worked so hard to get me to buy in the first place out of my cold, dead grip. Get over it.


You know what? That felt really cool.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

BUY BETSY'S BOOK
"It Takes a Parent : How the Culture of Pushover Parenting is Hurting Our Kids — and What to Do About It"  

"Hart urges parents to focus...on instilling industry, frugality, sincerity and humility. She encourages parents to reclaim the word "no." Contrary to advice you may have received, you needn't give your child choices, or offer alternatives, or explain to little Suzie why she can't eat eight cookies right before bed-you're the parent, and sometimes you can just say no."

  —   Kirkus Reports

Sales help fund JWR.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2007, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles