Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review August 10, 2012/ 22 Menachem-Av, 5772

Though not a 'fitness mom,' she's on the move

By Betsy Hart



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I marvel at the "fitness moms" in my neighborhood. I know several of them, and they are an inspiration. Some of these moms work out more than once a day, often getting in the first round early in the morning, perhaps tucking in yoga or Pilates around their children's lunchtime, maybe training for marathons, sometimes even becoming personal trainers themselves

Such moms were the subject of a recent Wall Street Journal piece, "Don't Hate Her for Being Fit." Reporter Elizabeth Holmes looked at the growing cadre of moms with young children who make fitness a foundational part of their identities and lifestyles with their family. Yes, typically -- but not always -- these moms don't work full time outside the home and have really supportive husbands. Many responses to the piece lamented the time struggle moms already face -- and the article's added pressure to exercise.

I think such folks might be a tad bit too defensive.

I like to think I'm doing my own part for the cause of fitness. Not long ago, I was in the produce department of my local grocery when one of the fellows working there said to me, "You know, I see you in here all the time. And you are always running."

Um, single working mom and four kids 24-7. Do you think?

Long before I had children, I moved fast. Some 25 years ago, I worked on the Reagan White House staff. I wish I could say I was in the little-known junior high White House intern program, but no, I was already a full-fledged adult. Anyway, I worked in the huge, neighboring Executive Office Building, with its miles of corridors. The guard who regularly sat near our office laughingly commented all the time, "I never see you but you are running."

I actually think the speed at which I walk is more about personality than commitment to exercise. My best friend, who might even be a little more intense than I am about most things, particularly working out, couldn't walk at a moderate pace if she were paid. I was once driving through downtown Chicago and marveled at the speed at which a woman was charging through crowded streets. Yep, as I pulled closer I realized it was my friend Lynne.

She and I might be in luck in that recent studies suggest the speed of one's natural gait may indicate things about brain function -- including, as we get older, whether we are on the path to Alzheimer's -- and it might even be a predictor of longevity overall.

In the main, faster is better.

On the other hand, my own mom was a fitness fanatic, ate lightly and thoughtfully, and moved quickly. Still, she died at 62 of a blood cancer. And wow, does 62 seem younger now than when she passed away 17 years ago.

In other words, we can't control as much as we think we can.

So when I think about overall fitness, sure, I want to do everything I can to stay active well beyond the golden years (the pale golden years?). But mainly I want the ability to live life to the fullest right now. For me, exercising a few times a week at my gym and, yes, taking lots of fast walks feels like I'm doing my part.

The point is, we don't have to feel defensive or intimidated if we don't want to or can't be "fitness moms." But almost any of us can do something to stay more fit right now. I'm just trying to do what I can to be able to keep moving quickly through the produce department and more. And that makes this mom feel pretty good.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



BUY THE E-BOOK FOR $0.99

Click HERE to purchase it. (Sales help fund JWR.).

JWR contributor Betsy Hart, a frequent commentator on CNN and the Fox News Channel, can be reached by clicking here.

Betsy Hart Archives

© 2012, Scripps Howard News Servic

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles